We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent no-frills hotel, comfortable and cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Bern Expo
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent no-frills hotel, comfortable and cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed in Ibis Bern Expo for 3 nights during our holiday in Switzerland and I must stay it was really a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The hotel had all the basic things we needed, and it was a real value for money.
The rooms have free WiFi, and coming from UK,I found it real fast !
The hotel is located 15 minutes away from the main station, and is easily accessible by Tram and Bus. The Tram stops right across the street from the hotel and takes you right to the station or city center, and not to mention runs on time always.
The room was really cozy and clean. The cable did have a couple of English channels as well.
They were also very prompt and helpful in providing me the travel booking confirmation in advance, as we needed them for our visa. Very good service, before and during the stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supratim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    387
    143
    36
    19
See reviews for
103
251
79
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Colinas - DFW, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I don't have anything extremely positive or negative to say. First, we stayed here b/c it was one of the cheaper options in Bern, and Bern is very expensive. Parking at this hotel late at night can be nearly impossible. There is a bar in the hotel, and has friendly service.

This isn't that close to downtown Bern, and if it rains you wont want to talk to the train.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank uptownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel two nights during a vacation in Switzerland. The hotel is very nicely located a few steps from tram stop. Not only that, but if I remember correctly, it's the last tram stop for that particular line. There's basically no way to get lost or confused after determining the route to the hotel once. The hotel isn't really close to the center of the city or to site, but the location relative to the tram couldn't have been better.

There was no safe (we just put the do not disturb sign on the door). The shower was a little odd because the shower doors did not reach the floor of the shower/ bathroom. There was a small slope of the floor that was suppose to prevent water from leaving the shower and getting all over the bathroom floor, but I don't think it worked very well. This didn't really affect my stay at the hotel, it just seemed like a poor design.

Overall, it was good, especially considering the location and price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights in June 2011. We had directly booked this. Front desk was very cooperative. They provided us umbrella as it was raining. Very clean. No frills. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GyanBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The location is convenient if you are going to the Expo grounds or Stade de Suisse events (football match or concerts). Not if you are visiting the city center.
The rooms are very clean but simple, no minibar or fridge, no amenities. The bathroom (shower only, no bathtub) is a plastic module placed in the corner of the room. The TV is outdated.
Breakfast is good and varied, with fresh fruit salad. The coffee from the machine is surprisingly ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divehigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#10 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bern Expo

Property: Ibis Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#4 Green Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Bern Expo 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently completed Ibis Bern Expo hotel is located opposite the BEA Bern Expo centre and not far from the new Wankdorf football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.5 Km from the hotel and the Bern Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. Book one of our 96 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the amenities on offer, including a 24 hour bar, wireless Internet access and private undercover pay parking. Restaurants can be found nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing