We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for family in Bern”
Review of Novotel Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bern Expo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We used Bern Expo Novotel in mid April and found it to be a good value, clean place and decent location. Any one looking for a family hotel that accommodates 2 kids with parents in a room are almost not there or Swiss costly. We found this hotel provides a large guest room that is a family room (oddly shaped, but does the work). Location wide it is 10 min from historic city by trams that seems to be flowing every 10 min, almost door to door. For us we used Bern as base for Luzerne, Grindelwald and Basel day trips. Novotel works out well for this with their hearty breakfast.
Clearly, this is a business hotel, but really a good value and nicely located for a base in northern west exploration. People are nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Family rooms are good sized and provide a nice view if on top floors.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhramanti-Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guests,

What a nice comment, it's just an advertising for us. Thank you so much for your appreciation regarding your stay. We work hard every day and your comments is a reward for the staff.
We hope we will see you again in Bern.

Kind regards,

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Bern Expo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 836 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

I visited Bern on a business trip and booked at the Novotel. I am glad I did so, as it was exactly what I needed : a clean and modern hotel with a spacious room. I got a good night's sleep and was very relaxed the next day for my work. Good value for money too !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 307MariaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your positive comments regarding your last stay at the Novotel Bern.
I hope we will have the pleasure to see you again with us.
Kind regards,

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights.The staff at the reception were very friendly.Large and spacious room. The room and the bathroom were clean. The only problem was the air con. Even though it was snowing outside it was hot inside and could not set it to the required temperature. So we kept the windows open. Away from the city and no shops or restaurants around. Tram stops right opposite to the hotel.15 mins from the Bern central train staiton by tram 9. Bern was our base and travelled to Lucern,Interlaken and Zermatt but we had to start early daily so that we caught the trains on time which was difficult. So if you plan to travel far this is not the place to stay as its away from the station.

Room Tip: Far from the city.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsHash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear guests,

It's always a pleasure to read good comments regarding the quality of our service and our hotel. I hope you have enjoy the view from your room with the Alps mountains full of snow.
It's true that we are not located downtown, but 7 minutes with the tram (safe and clear) passing in the old city is just charming, isn't it !
it would be a pleasure to welcome you again in Bern.

Warm regards.

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was very lucky when we've booked this hotel for our new year's getaway. As we all know a good hotel is very expensive in Switzerland. This hotel is worth the money. Good location in the center and a nice bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Febi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is really nice - very contemporary and "designer-ish". There can be big differences between the Novotel hotels - however this one is (according to my experiences) top of the line.

Big room with a funny details. Toilet and bath is separated - toilet is in a small room by itself - and so is bath. What I really like is that I had both bath and shower - I really hate having to shower in a bath-tub which is very common.

Loads of channels on the TV - a wide selection of PPV TV as well.

I had room service which arrived within 20 min. (excellent!!) - was really warm and very delicious (club sandwich).

Breakfast is however (like most things in Switzerland) unreasonable expensive (CHF 29 = USD 30 or EUR 24). However they offer an alternative which is a croissant, coffee and a juice at CHF 7,00. This was fine for me...

Parking was CHF 20 for the one night - I guess that's alright.

WLAN worked perfectly and was included in the room rate (thumbs up!!) - I was even offered multiple access voucher which I really appreciate (as I go online with both PC (work) and iPhone (VoIP calls, games, etc.)

Since everything in Switzerland is so expensive I think this hotel is well worth the money - and a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your favorable comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to receive your compliments about our helpful staff have been kindly forwarded.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Kind regards from Bern
Yvan Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apbfej
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As all Accor hotels, excellent value for money, especially if you watch for special deals that are regularly offered by Accor. We could not believe that not only was the chap who checked us in not only efficient, as are all Swiss, but he was super friendly! Could not have been more helpful, offering us a free map of the city and also a little book on things to do in Bern. He then took the time to explain the public transport and wrote the tram and train numbers on our map. Our children were then offered a card game and wooden puzzle to amuse them, which they of course loved. As a young family who are used to walking we found it no problem at all to walk into Bern which took us about 20mins. I can highly recommend doing this as the views and photo opportunities are spectacular. You enter the city near the Bear pit so it is also great to stop to check out the magnificent new bear enclosure. Even tho it was cold there was one bear wandering around at this time. Just behind the old Bear pit is a tourist office and also a wonderful restaurant called the Tramdepot. As the name suggest this was an old tram depot that has been made into not only a restaurant serving delicious local fare but also a brewery! Those who are so inclined can sit and watch the beer brew! We had a wonderful meal here, and it was not terribly expensive! Mind you you have to keep in mind that this is Switzerland! Back to the hotel. Rooms are new so really clean and cleverly designed. it was nice to have a toilet separate to the bathroom, as those with children can well understand. The bathroom is small but serviceable, beds were smaller than those we had at the Novotel in Zurich but were more comfortable. A lovely surprise at check out was that as we had booked an executive room, our car parking was free! Wow! Would definitely recommend this hotel even tho it is not in the city center.

Room Tip: I would think that all rooms would have great views!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HallsGapCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear guests,

A very warm thank you for all your lovely comments which I will share with the staff.
AT the Novotel Bern, human resources is not only a department, it's also an attitude.
We hope we will see you again in Bern.

Warm regards from Bern.

Yvan Bailbled
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
1.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
527 reviews
1.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Bern
#5 Family Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#6 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $149 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bern Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the BEA Bern Expo exhibition centre, the ice hockey stadium, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Stade de Suisse and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo
Bern Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing