We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far but accessible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis budget Bern Expo
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was not located in the city centre but it was not difficult to access. With the tram, it took only 7 minutes to the city centre. The service was very friendly and the rooms were very decent.

Room Tip: If you are scared of heights, and prefer lower floor, try to book the normal Ibis hotel instead sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visylia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time after your stay to send this comment to us.
We will let know our staff about it as well. We all are working every day to let our guests feel comfortable during their stay.

best regards from Bern

your hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 649 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a REAL budget hotel, the room is very small, but included everything, except the hair drier. You have go to receptionist to rent a hair drier, and after you check out, they will give you money back. The breakfast are fresh, nice mike and bread. The location also good, the tram station just opposite the hotel. The only weakness is the "shower" room quite small and "transparent", but if you don't mind then it won't be a big deal. and you MUST to know "DON'T try to open the window if you feel hot, even the room is completely Closed, no AC, but still don't open window, otherwise you will see SO MANY unbelievable flies in your room!!"
真的是"預算"飯店,房間很小,但是五臟俱全,該有的都有,除了吹風機要去跟櫃台付押金租用(退房時可以把押金拿回來),早餐很不錯,新鮮可口,牛奶香甜。交通也很方便,一班車可以直接到市區,當然也可以用走的。免費無線網路,期限24小時,過了可以再免費索取。唯一缺點就是浴室太小,且有點透明,洗澡時會讓人有點戰戰兢兢。其他大致上還不錯。最後值得注意的是:千萬不要打開窗戶,即使您覺得很熱,因為房間內沒有空調讓您轉換新鮮空氣,仍不要打開窗戶,當您一旦打開窗戶、您會看到"難以計數的飛蚊"飛進您的房間中!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaustw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to write above comment after your stay in our hotel.
All information helps us to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcome you again soon.

best regards
Hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The room was fine, the usual Ibis Budget setup; the location OK if you don't want to go for a wander (there isn't much around), no problems overall.

We weren't aware, however, that there was a (relatively high) charge for parking in the underground car park. We might have missed this when we booked, it's possible. Disappointingly, however, the Ibis Budget receptionist led us to believe it was free, and the Ibis receptionists we were sent to to 'just get our updated ticket' were rather rude in putting us in our places. They pointed out that the charge notification is visible on the machine when you come in and press a button to get your ticket. We went back to the entry machine and saw that indeed it was - if you took the trouble to get out of the car and walk around to the side of the machine that is invisible to you when you drive in.

Mainly due to the rude service received, would not go here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment about your experiences during your stay in our hotel.

Of course, the information about the parking fee should be very clear pronounced to our clients.
We do apologize for the less of information.

Nevertheless we hope to see you again here in the hotel ibis budget Bern during your next visit to Bern.

best regards
the team of the hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013


This hotel is located at the Bern-Expo, 10 minutes from downtown by tram. It is a very good option for Bern, where it is not always easy to find a hotel, especially during exhibitions. It is not fancy, but offers all you need for a few nights: free WIFI, covered paying parking, bar, etc. The rooms are small but functional. There is no restaurant, but one can either eat at the Novotel next door or use room service. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Igelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to send the comment about your experiences during your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased you enjoyed it.

Looking forward to welcoming you again the next time you will visit Bern.

best regards
the team of the hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a good hotel if you are going to a concert, it's walking distance, not very expensive and clean. I wouldn't stay here long term but for one night it was good. We had a good nights sleep, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank CatherineLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment after your stay in our hotel.

best regards from the team of the hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We travelled to Bern on business, so since we only spent time to sleep in this hotel, it met our needs completely. First on coming to Bern's railway station we did not know that the street from which the tram No.9 was supposed to take us to the Guisenplatz, where the hotel is located, is closed due to some works. So, we had difficulty to find transportation to the hotel. Not many people actually spoke English. You can actually walk to the Zytgloge, it is only 10 minutes walk and take any tram there to the hotel. The best option is to buy a short trip ticket, which is valid for 30 minutes and is the cheapest.
Coming to the hotel, you need to know that there are three hotels located in one building. Ibis hotels are entered on the left (behind the building) and Novotel is located on the right. When you enter the Ibis hotel, the reception on the ground floor is that of the IBis premium hotel. For the Ibis budget reception you can take the lift to the first floor and there you can check/in. The rooms of Ibis budget are located on the 10th and 11th floors. The staff is quite friendly and will support you for all issues you might have. The breakfast is also served in the same place on the first floor. The food is quite plain, you can select only from several kinds of cheese, marmelade, some musli. Coffee, tea, milk and orange juice, so do not expect a great variety. For the price of 11 cHF for breakfast, this is really not much.
The room itself is very basic, but clean and well organised. Note that it does not have any hair dryer, so bring it with you. Also, no shower gel, just several soaps. There is no wardrobe in the room, just couple of hangers. Overall, it was a good experience, since we really did not spend much time in the room. The beds are comfy and the pillows OK. It is only 15 minutes walk away from the city centre, so even the location is good. I can recommend it fully, especially since for the Swiss standards it is cheap (we paid 109 CHF plus 11 CHF for the breakfast).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaniakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear customer,

thank you very much for your comment with all this information.
At our breakfast buffet we serve a variety of teas and coffee, fresh fruits, fruit salad, hot chocolate, ovomaltine, swiss cheese several sorts of bread and toast and many things more.
The consturction works in the city center will end mid of september, after then you can take the tram no. 9 directly from the station to our hotel.

We are pleased you had a nice stay and we hope to welcoming you again.
your team hotel ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have not stayed at an ibis budget hotel before, so wanted to give it a try. The room setting was a bit overly simplified, not enough spaces and hangers for clothes. However, the location was great as it is right in front of the Guisanplatz stop of Tramway No. 9. The hotel will be suitable for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Cecichow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

dear customer,

thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment after your stay with us.

And we look forward to welcoming you again.

best regards
the team ibis budget Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0 mi away
Ibis Bern Expo
Ibis Bern Expo
#12 of 30 in Bern
750 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#28 of 30 in Bern
269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 2 - 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $91 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Bern Expo 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Bern Expo is an economy hotel located opposite the BERNEXPO and is a short distance from the new Stade de Suisse football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.7 km from the hotel and the Bern-Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. The hotel has 102 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free Wi-Fi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Bern for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your ibis budget Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing