We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean place to sleep at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Bern Expo
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“A clean place to sleep at”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First thing first: compared to Swiss prices, it is considered cheap. Fast elevatros, comfy bed and even a flat TV. A real ETAP with cleanlyness. However, I would really have appreciated a hair dryer!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Budapestgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
dear customer,

thank you very muhc for taking the time to send your comment about your stay with us.
We will be plesed to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards
your team Ibis budget Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    235
    212
    44
    32
See reviews for
127
191
64
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very nice staff, helpful, clean, fresh!
minor negative point access from parking to elevator, 3 doors to go through which is not so easy with a stroller and luggage.
good restaurant next door
maybe parking should be less expensive

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikouHilversum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
Every reponse is important for us and helps us to improve our service day by day.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards

your Team Ibis budget Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praia, Cape Verde
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Interesting location in the same complex as the Accor and Ibis hotel.
The rooms are very clean, sober and simple. All you need and no frills; just as I like it.
Hotels in Switzerland are expensive, so if you are travelling with two, it is a good alternative to the "cheapies" like the yought hostel which on a per head price is about the same for dormetory beds as when sharing a double room in Ibis Budget.
The only downside I could think of is the location. Public transport in Swiss is expensive and taking the tram to the centre puts you 4.60 Swiss Francs back one-way. You can actually walk to the centre in about 30 minutes, but that is not clearly indicated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very muhc for takinf the time after your stay in our hotel to share your experiences.
We are always very thankful to get feedback. So we can improve our service every day.
Hoping to accomodate you again in our hotel.

best regards

your ibis budget team Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amadora, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The receptionist is friendly and helpful!
This Etap hotel shares the same building with an Ibis and Novotel in a t location right next to a tram stop with frequent trams into the city centre. But if you want to walk, in 10/15mn you are in the center and you make a lovely walk across the garden of roses which has a beautiful view of the old town!
It’s a budget hotel, so we didn’t expect luxury rooms. The rooms are adequate for a couple with a young kid (the third bed is a bunk above the main bed). Our room was very clean and the bathroom facilities were basic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Madam, thank you very much for sending your statement about your stay in our hotel. It is always helpful to know about the contentness of our clients. We are glad you had a good time staying with us and visiting Bern. See you next time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This Etap hotel shares the same building with an Ibis in a convenient location right next to a tram stop with frequent trams into the city centre. Our room was clean, but it was very small, the decor was uninspring and the bathroom facilities were basic. As in many Etap hotels, the top bunk was too close to the ceiling with the inevitable result that my son banged his head. None of this is unforgivable; after all, the hotel markets itself as a budget option. But the price was rather on the high side for such basic accommodation. Indeed I had spent a night in the much superior Ibis for almost the same price two nights before, so it is well worth checking what you can get there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viermabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you very much for your message. We want to inform yout that there are sometimes different room rates, it depends on the fact if there are expositions or special events. We will be pleased to let you know our rates in advance, so you can decide which of our hotels in the same building you want to book. Do not hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bern hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent value for money, easy to find, wonderfully clean and comfortable facilities.
This hotel is co-located on a single site with an Ibis and a Novotel hotel adjoining.
One quirky finding on my arrival on a Sunday afternoon was that none of the 3 hotels offered an evening meal. However, the helpful and friendly receptionist directed me to a lovely Italian restaurant just 10 minutes walk away: do take the opportunity to dine at the Grotto Ticino Pizzeria Cafiero if you stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielmortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ETAPBERN, Manager at ibis budget Bern Expo, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Sir, thank you very much for your message.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We offer sandwiches 24 h and at the ibis hotel bar you get paninis and a variety of other hot snacks. So we are looking forward to welcoming you the next time there. Best regards from Berne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Bern Expo
Ibis Bern Expo
#13 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#11 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Landhaus
Hotel Landhaus
#20 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Bern Expo

Property: ibis budget Bern Expo
Address: Guisanplatz 2-4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Bern Expo 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Bern Expo is an economy hotel located opposite the BERNEXPO and is a short distance from the new Stade de Suisse football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.7 km from the hotel and the Bern-Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. The hotel has 102 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free Wi-Fi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Bern for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and HRS so you can book your ibis budget Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing