We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel National AG

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel National AG
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is just a short walk to the main train station and to the rest of Bern! :) There's a tram that pass in front of it (although I'm not saure where it goes). As you can just walk to the center of this old town, you can also do your morning run which is really fantastic!

The size of the room is actually good for the price.. the place is well-kept.. the breakfast is basic.. but the staff is really helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_dive_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Hotel National AG
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 242 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

The value of the hotel is always relative to what it offers such as conveniences, furnishings, breakfast, wifi, service etc. This hotel was within expectations, but when you look at the price tag, it does seem expensive - although Berne is generally an expensive place too, but I believe you can find hotels with better value.

The good:
- The furnishings are very rustic, I like the theme personally. The lift is really old, over a 100 years old (and slow), but its only 1 of 2 left in Switzerland and for a tourist such experiences can be fun but its a personal thing.
- Quadruple room for 4 is spacious, it could actually fit 5 for the beds but its sold as a 4 person room.
- Wifi and warm water was not an issue.

The okay:
- Location is 15 min walk away from the station, considered good by many, but if you consider how you have to walk with your luggage for that entire stretch, avoiding trams and crowds (not to mention the frequent rain!), its really no mean feat. And the tram station right in front of it is too near to the train station to help. A case of so near, yet so far.
- Breakfast was okay, like okay variety. Just adequate for breakfast but definitely not spectacular in any way. Again, if you want a better value breakfast or have the time to walk out to the train station, do so, and have some takeaways at better value and variety.
- No aircon in the room, and I don't remember seeing a fan either. But we were there for the "summer" (though it was really cold with the rain and strong winds), opening the windows provided good ventilation, and the noise on the streets were within tolerable levels.
- Professional, and impersonal service.

The bad:
- The toilet is really lacking in terms of basic furnishings. Lack of tower racks, no area to put your own toiletries, cob webs forming on the ceilings, I did not like the toilets.
- A tad dusty, so I wouldn't say they are clean. But the bed and linens were just fine.

All in all, it provides a decent place to stay. I would recommend it, but the price tag (roughly CHF 380 for 5, a night) does not justify the overall experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Berne. It's very clean and the service efficient. However, the price seems a little bit high if you take into account the fact that the rooms and bathrooms are everything but modern ! My wife told me she had the feeling to be in her grandmother home ! ...without the charm ...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Disclaimer : I have voted Average since the next scale is "Very Good". This hotel is in between. I would call it "Good".

The hotel is very close to the train station (10 minutes walking distance). It seems like they converted an old house/villa into a hotel. It has an O-L-D elevator (that works!) but cannot accommodate more than 2 plus luggage.

The reception staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

Now coming to the rooms: They have two types of rooms:
1. With attached toilet and bathroom
2. Rooms which have a common toilet + bathroom

I stayed in Type 2. The room that I had got was an extremely small / narrow room. I was carrying a big bag and once the bag was in the room it was basically completely occupied. I had very little place to move around. A bed, one small table + chair, a stand to hang your coat and a wash basin - that's all the room had.

If you are the kind who is not comfortable with sharing bathroom and toilets with others make sure you get rooms with attached bath. Not that the common bathrooms are unclean or not well maintained but some do have issues with sharing (They have separate common bathroom for Gents & Ladies). I never ever saw the common bathrooms occupied (maybe the occupancy was low or my timing was right/wrong - whichever way you look at it!)

The breakfast is decent, nothing great to right about and the food in the restaurant is good (maybe a tad expensive!). The tram / bus stop is right at the entrance and the Parliament building is at a 10 minutes walking distance.

From a location perspective : this hotel is excellent. Train station, shopping, parliament, bus stop, tram stop : everything is close by. If you are looking for a cheap option : the hotel is very much recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaphya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I recently stayed at the National for a week on business, and fell fairly head over heels for it, mostly because of the charming atmosphere. The antique lift, the old Victorian typewriter on the stairs, the carpets, the lovely mural on the wall of my room, the courtyard my room backed on to, the restaurant, the bar, the incredibly friendly staff who speak just about every language under the sun. Bern reminds me a great deal of what I'd hoped Paris would be (albeit on a smaller scale) and the National reminded me a great deal of the better budget hotels in the French capital.

For Bern (which is a seriously pricey place to visit) it's inexpensive particularly for my room which had no shower. I should add I never once found the communal shower occupied and they do have en-suite accommodation if you need it. The location is excellent, five minutes walk from the main train station and fifteen minutes from the centre of the delightful old city. I look forward to staying again, and can't recommend it highly enough - particularly beautiful in the snow.

Room Tip: Some of the non en suite rooms are significantly larger than others (it would seem to be the rooms c...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipflopbyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We decided to stay in Bern on a recent trip, started walking from the train station and found this hotel. They had a room available and at 10 am let us check in. Large room, very clean. Beautiful 100 year old elevator that was available. Breakfast was included and was very nice as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trwag260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here in October 2012. The hotel was located very close to the train station, which was really convenient. The location was great, right in the middle of the action. The room was simple, but had a nice large bathroom. Looked at some of the other reviews, saw some complaints about the room. When we travel, we would rather have simple/clean/affordable rooms and spend our money on fun stuff like food and activites, so for us the rooms were just fine. The one downside is that, because of the central location, it was pretty noisy at night so bring earplugs. Breakfast, which you take in the attached restaurants, was included and quite good.

Room Tip: Request to stay in rooms that are away from the main street that the hotel is on if you are concerne...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_S470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#12 of 30 in Bern
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National AG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National AG

Address: Hirschengraben 24, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $126 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel National AG 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel National AG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing