We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Okra

Okra
Ranked #33 of 515 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The service was great and friendly.
Those curry tasted really good, but we're not satisfied with naam, it's like a normal bread that we used to buy in the supermarket in Spain.
I love naam so much, but NOT in this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Besten Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Es freut uns, dass Sie mit unserem Service zufrieden waren und Ihnen unsere Currys geschmeckt haben. Hingegen bedauern wir, dass unser Naan, welches sich normalerweise sehr grosser Beliebtheit erfreut, nicht zu Ihrer Zufriedenheit war. Wir würden uns freuen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    39
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I will never go again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went there on a Saturday evening for dinner.
The service was at first very friendly and further on also pushy with selling.
Service should not ask children if they wish another drink. Sure children will always want more.
It is enough if I am being asked once if all is OK, I don't need 3 different waiters to ask me.
Food and drinks:
Chai: very poor, my son likes chai tea, but this was his worst.
My sister did not finished the chai.
Rice was cold and served without a spoon to serve.
Butter chicken was like coloured with artificial orange colour, not as usual from tomato, onion and butter in a thick sauce. The quality of the chicken meat was good.
My vegetable plate was very boring with cold rice, commercial pickles and the worst Daal we ever had.
When I go to an Indian restaurant I expect more than carrots and a few beans in a vegetable dish, for example Okra.
Finally I met the cook in the toilet and he did not wash his hands there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shopping_marc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Google Translation
Danke für Ihre Bewertung. Wir bedauern, dass Ihnen unsere Kellner zu aufmerksam waren und das Essen nicht restlos nach Ihrem Geschmack war. Selbstverständlich führen wir auf unserer Menukarte auch Okra, sowohl in vegetarischer Variante wie auch in Kombination mit Fleisch. Betreffend Hygiene haben wir strenge Vorschriften, welche auch von all unseren Mitarbeitern jederzeit befolgt werden. Wir wünschen Ihnen eine gute Zeit und vielleicht können wir Sie ja trotzdem wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good service, OK food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The waiters were great, and we had an enjoyable evening, but the food was bland in comparison to Indian restaurants in England. I can't recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Wir danken Ihnen für Ihre Bewertung und würden uns freuen, Sie wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sri Lankan taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I was last weak in okra with my friend . when we order our food the taste like tamil restaurant but food was tasty and spicy. but we like to try next time Indian food . we order two curry Chef Special OKRA Curry and Lamb curry but taste was same.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Google Translation
Besten Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir bedauern, dass Sie nicht zufrieden waren. Wir verstehen natürlich, dass der Geschmack der Okraschoten (im Chef Special Okra Curry) nicht Jedermann's Sache ist. Gerne begrüssen wir Sie ein nächstes Mal bei uns im OKRA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best Indian restaurants in Bern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The menu isn't overwhelmingly large, but the ingredients fresh and the taste is excellent, the atmosphere very comfortable. Reminded me a bit of the old colonial Indian style seen in Georgetown, Malaysia. Also, the staff is very attentive without being intrusive. Pricing is average for Bern.

Helpful?
Thank Alpascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj_Restaurant_OKRA, Inhaber at Okra, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Google Translation
Besten Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung. Über einen Besuch in unserem Restaurant freuen wir uns jederzeit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okra also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Koeniz, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Okra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing