We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality city break”
Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alpenblick
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality city break”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was our second stay here, and we'll be coming back. We find no fault with this place: service is excellent, the staff is really friendly and helpful. The food for breakfast and dinner is well-presented and tasty, and caters generously for vegetarians. Easy access to the city centre, but in a quieter area, so it's nice to return to a peaceful room at night.

Room Tip: We preferred our room in the newer part of the hotel to that in the older, because the bathroom was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz4712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Liz4712014

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions.
Thank you again for choose the alpenblick for your stay in bern. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Alpenblick. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I am pleased to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us again for another stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    225
    37
    8
    1
See reviews for
120
190
33
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Good quality hotel. Nicely furnished, modern and clean. Friendly staff. Restaurant provided good breakfast and dinner options. Close to town. Can walk or use tram at end of street. All up a good choice for any length of stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mgo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear mgo70, First of all we would like to thank you very much for choosing the hotel alpenblick and the time you have taken writing down your impressions. We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Bern. Kind regards Annika Kobielak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Alpenblick was a great stay for Bern. It is located close to majority of the important landmarks in Bern. It is very close to the Rosegarten which has a great view over the city! The beds were comfortable. The restaurant is good. The hotel is clean and nice, located close to bus line 10 and tram 9 which will both take you to the main station! There is free wifi which is pretty good and the staff is very friendly and willing to accommodate. It's a great place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank katbrinegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear katbrinegar

Thank you for choose the hotel alpenblick for your stay an the time which you have taken to write such a nice comment.
We are open for any kind of feedback; but prefer, of course the positive comments we are getting from our guests.
I am pleased to share your positive feedback with all our team members and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

Annika Kobielak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I find 'international style' hotels bland and uninviting. For my short stay in Bern I wanted something small, friendly and with character. And the Alpenblick gave me this. I could quibble about a few points (small bathroom, somewhat limited breakfast selection), but that would be churlish. My one regret is not having had the opportunity to eat dinner at the restaurant -- it looked welcoming! I doubt I'll pass through Bern again, but if I do I'll arrange to stay at the Alpenblick.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear John,
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and your excellent rating. It's lovely to hear you've really liked your stay especially the fact you were looking for a small, friendly hotel with character and you've found it in the Hotel Alpenblick Bern. We'd love to welcoming you again!
Kind regards,
Your Alpenblick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Hotel Commonwealth is such a lovely hotel located in such a convenient part. The staff, and especially Evan at the front desk, were so welcoming and helpful, it was like coming home every time I came back to the hotel. And what a comfortable bed!! I wish I could have stayed longer!
8. My wife and I ventured to for the 2014 U.S. Figure Skating Championships. It was her idea, however neither of us had been to either, so it was worth a week’s vacation time to watch some figure skating and take in some of our country’s colonial and revolutionary war history.

Room Tip: amazing rooms view like very like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ovi2villegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Vjy32

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions.

We are not sure if you mean our hotel. But if: We are very happy our team was able to make your stay an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Annika Kobielak and the Alpenblick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel was a great find for us. Small, super friendly staff, very comfortable. 20 minute walk to the old part of Berne, but it is via a rose park that overlooks the whole city. Also, the trams are very easy to use and the number 9 tram goes right into the old town. Nice continental breakfast with cheeses, yoghurts, breads, meats, fruit, and eggs you can boil for yourself. Room was really clean and comfortable. I liked this hotel very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostontraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions.

We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in Bern.

Kind regards

Annika Kobielak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Alpenblick during our 3 day stay in Bern and were quite happy. The rooms were clean and in a quiet residential area. We were able to walk in about 20 minutes to old town but you can also take the tram in if needed. We had a rental car so we utilized the underground parking. It is a bit odd of a set up so be sure to speak with the desk clerk when checking in. Parking is 14 euros a day. Each morning I looked forward to the breakfast that we had downstairs. While it is the usual European continental breakfast it is filling and something that I miss now that I am no longer there. The room was comfortable with a nice tv and a desk. It is not terribly large when you add a couple of suit cases. There is also no refrigerator but it does include a room safe. I would stay here again the next time I am in Bern.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced onto the patio area of the restaurant. While it was not terribly noisy it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stroudcrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in Bern. Kind regards from the whole team, Annika Kobielak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.9 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
823 reviews
0.9 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Property: Hotel Alpenblick
Address: Kasernenstrasse 29, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This centrally located family-run hotel offers comfortable accommodations with free Internet access in Bern's quiet residential area, minutes from the center of town.The tram station is a short walk from the Alpenblick and has direct access to Bern's Train Station.You can relax in the hotel's indoor garden or on the charming terrace and enjoy culinary delights in the restaurant. The hotel also has a banquet hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing