We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to stay”
Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alpenblick
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Alpenblick is located away from Bern town centre. However, we chose this hotel because it was near the motorcycle hire shop. It made sense for us stay there for the night in order to be able to get there in the morning to start our motorbike tour. But don’t let the location put you off. It is not hard to get into town when you can walk for 5 minutes to get to the bus stop, and it takes less than 15 minutes to get to the centre of Bern. Being in a residential area, there isn’t much outside noise which is good for us as we’re light sleepers. The room itself is fine for a night’s stay. Although a bit on the small side, it is modern, clean and comfortable. The Wifi is free and the signal is strong enough to be used in the room. The staff are very friendly and helpful whenever we approach them. As for breakfast, it has the usual cold meats, breads and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. It is a shame we did not get to try the restaurant in the hotel as we’ve read good reviews about it. All in all, there was nothing bad about this hotel and we would not hesitate to stay here again if we should ever come back to Bern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank San072526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We appreciate your detailed feedback and are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel! We will make sure to forward your compliments to the team and hope to welcome you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    217
    35
    7
    1
See reviews for
116
177
31
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Alpenblick, Bern from 24th to 28th July. The hotel is very well located and only a few stops by tram to the city centre and railway station. The hotel is at walking distance to the rose garden and bear park. The hotel has very helpful staff and serves a good continental breakfast.

It was hot on the day we reached Bern so we were given a fan which made the stay quite comfortable. Overall, it was a nice experience with nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram_2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will forward your compliments to the team. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed at the Hotel Alpenblick twice now and I will have no hesitations in staying here again when I next visit Bern.

I had a single room, which looked over the imposing Army building in the park across the street. The room itself had a comfortable bed and was a decent size. The bathroom was a fair size, with a pretty powerful shower. I especially liked the historical pictures of Bern and the local area, which were throughout the hotel and in the room.

I also liked the nice touches - the fruit basket and canister of homemade Iced Tea in the reception area and the tea and coffee making facilities in the central lobbies on each floor.

The Breakfast is typically Swiss and plentiful, with a range of breads, croissants, juices, yoghurts, jams, cereals, meats and cheeses.

The hotel is not too far from the centre of Bern - the tram stop 5 minutes walk away. Trams are frequent and fast and you can be at the Zytglogge in about 10 minutes. Alternatively walking into the centre of town only takes around 25 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your lovely comment! We appreciate your detailed feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is very quaint and clean. The staff was very sweet, and ready to help, as stated. The room was small, but clean and comfortable. The decor was quite straightline with a very Swiss element. Sort of like Ikea meets a Swiss Alpine climber. I really enjoyed my stay here, as I could see many Swiss nationals, and soldiers at the hotel. This told me that even the local people enjoy coming here. The location could not be beat. Breakfast was a grand array of choices and while enjoying breakfast, you could see the carraige horses in training. This felt like the real Bern, as there are shops and groceries very near by. This was a short walk to the Breitenrain (#9) tram, which ran most efficiently. I had originally planned to stay just a few hours, and leave early in the morning, but Bern was like a Russian Doll (Matryoshka nesting dolls). Each time you thought oh this is nice, there was another beautiful thing to see. I will plan some additional days for Bern on the next trip, I did see the Bears, the small rose garden and many wonderful things in old town, which was a very easy commute from the hotel. However due to time, I missed the Paul Klee museum. Again staff and stay were most very good. I will stay here on my next trip. Underground parking was a little dicey for those who don't do it often. Thank you staff for helping with this.

Room Tip: I had a single room. The bed may be a little small for a taller person, also the showers was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara_travels_wow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We arr happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor and the hotel itself. Bern is a nice destination and we would be happy to welcome you again as our guest during your next trip to the capital city of Switzerland.
Kind regards an see you soon,
Your Swiss Alpenblick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Alpenblick is not a five star, but it's quite good quality , especiallly for its 3 star.
The rooms are clean and light, the water is provided, the breakfast is very good and is included in the room price. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help.
Plus location is good, close to the famouse Rosengarten and is basically 15-20 minutes walk to the downtown.
Good place to stay in Bern for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback We are proud of our hospitality and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
See you soon again, kind regards,
Your Alpenblick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#12 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#6 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Property: Hotel Alpenblick
Address: Kasernenstrasse 29, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This centrally located family-run hotel offers comfortable accommodations with free Internet access in Bern's quiet residential area, minutes from the center of town.The tram station is a short walk from the Alpenblick and has direct access to Bern's Train Station.You can relax in the hotel's indoor garden or on the charming terrace and enjoy culinary delights in the restaurant. The hotel also has a banquet hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing