We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alpenblick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alpenblick
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Three of us stayed here for one night. It's located in a lovely, quiet neighborhood within an easy walk or quick tram ride from the bahnhof (if you have a Swiss half-pass, the tram tickets are discounted). Modern, bright minimal-style rooms. Quality quilts and sheets on the beds. Everything was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent (you can make your own coffee from a machine) and dinner on the outdoor terrace was really nice. There were a number of moderately priced items on the menu - try the Alsatian tarts - the rest was consistent with prices in Switzerland. If we travel to Berne again we will definitely stay at the Alpenblick. Thank you staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marianne123-_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Marianne

Wow, thanks for your lovely words, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again, it would be our pleasure too!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    216
    35
    7
    1
See reviews for
116
174
31
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Totally different from what I got from Paris hotels, after driving half day from Paris to Bern on Sunday afternoon, I got very big smile and fabulous welcome from the hotel receptionist. Beyond expectation I received very unforgettable lodge and super profesisionalism reception who could recommend me where is the best panoramic view to take snap over the old town and river Aere. We as honeymoom couples got treated warmly. We have many questions and need assistances but she has never shown any tensions. This is perfect.

Room is very neat and clean. Good water flow for Thai people who love bathing. I love its decloration plus minalist style.

Recommend to who comes to Berne the hotel is around 20 min walk to the City center and 10 minutes walkmfrom Wandcoff center the department store.

Room Tip: No fitness and swimpool i clicked wrongly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeysaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! We are happy, when our guests are! Awesome, that you could enjoy your stay after such a long journey by car, for you and your partner only the best! If you like to come again for a honey moon revival to Bern, feel warmly welcome to visit us at Alpenblick, it would be our pleasure!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my short business stay in this hotel. It all started when I arrived and the woman at reception shared the chocolate cake she was eating with me. The staff are friendly and helpful (i.e. directions to walk into the city, bus numbers, etc), which for me really makes or breaks a stay. Hotels in Switzerland are not cheap, but this one is not overly expensive and really delivers a lot for the money (including free wifi and buffet breakfast).

The hotel is clean, and rooms nicely and tastefully decorated. The design of the restaurant is inviting (not like the typical stuffy hotel), and appears to try and entice locals as well as guests. The location is good (although not directly in the heart of the city centre), and conveniently serviced by tram and bus. If you have time, I would recommend walking through the rose garden into the city (stopping to see the bears, of course). There's a stunning view which overlooks the city on the way...

This is a great 3 star hotel which does not pretend to be 5 star. I will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment and your rating. We are so happy to hear that liked our place and we could play our part to offer you a personal and warm stay at Hotel Alpenblick. Thanks for all the tipps regarding the area and the hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

10/10 on cleanliness, interior design, warmth and hospitality. With an amazingly modern decor, the cozy rooms are warm and welcoming. On every floor are couches located in the common area, which are perfect for some afternoon coffee/tea with friends. The hotel restaurants serves a nice traditional Swiss breakfast (delicious muesli, cheese etc) and the lunch is nothing less than tasty. Located in a quiet area, one can reach the center after a short 10-mn walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review on T/A! Thanks for the mentioned details about your stay, it is the best "tourist guide" for future guests.
See you soon, your Alpenblick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

we went to other hotels 4 and 5 stars hotels , non of them had the great stay we had or the sweet staff that Alpenblick had, we were 21 guests, all of them were extremely happy about this cozy clean and quiet hotel, food is great and staff are super nice and patient. Great job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lama H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your lovely comment and your excellent rating! We are pleased to hear that you had a good and cozy stay at Alpenblick.
See you soon again, when your travels take you to Bern!
Kind Regards, your Alpenblick Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I was very surprised. A 3-star hotel in the capital of Switzerland. Not a bargain, but not overprized. The room is above swiss-style average and the restaurant has a certain kind of "charme". Food was good - not more. Service was OK - swiss coldness included. :) Do I recommend it? Yes. If you like it uncomplicated and not too glamourous but with style...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcelRuetschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review regarding your last stay with us at Hotel Alpenblick. Thanks for the recommendation, we appreciate it! See you soon again when you drop by in Bern.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. The location of the hotel is not in the city centre, but just short tram ride into the city centre. ( 3 stops - 2.50 Swiss francs).
The Hotel restaurant was OK, but quite expensive as most restaurants in Switzerland seem to be. Close by however are numerous other alternatives, varying in food styles and prices.
They have a good breakfast buffet. No warm food though.
I had a single room which was very small, but clean and modern. The hotel provides a free basic internet service, which is very slow. Useful for email only. For a modest price (6 Francs a day, or 19 Francs for the week) a faster Internet service is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinocchio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcomehotelsCH, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Alpenblick, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest comment and your rating. Thanks for all the hints and tipps about your stay, it's very helpful for future guest.
See you soon, kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#11 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenblick

Property: Hotel Alpenblick
Address: Kasernenstrasse 29, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This centrally located family-run hotel offers comfortable accommodations with free Internet access in Bern's quiet residential area, minutes from the center of town.The tram station is a short walk from the Alpenblick and has direct access to Bern's Train Station.You can relax in the hotel's indoor garden or on the charming terrace and enjoy culinary delights in the restaurant. The hotel also has a banquet hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alpenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing