We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel by the River”
Review of Bern Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bern Youth Hostel
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The location is great. Short drive to the town. Located next to the river with scenic view. The staff are friendly and helpful. View and few minutes walk to the Swiss Parliament. Free Wi-Fi is available at public area.

We got a room for us 4 in a 5-bunk beds dorm with shared bathrooms. Room is big, neat and clean. Get your bed sheet & etc. from the reception. Tabletop football on the 1st floor @ public area. A microwave, kettle, piano, jukebox @ public area.

Good range of breakfast buffet is served in the morning. Order your dinner (if you wanna stay-in) before 6pm @ the reception.

Parking @ CHF7/day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenagesab_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed at this hostel because there was a convention in town and all the other hotels were full. The room was simple but clean. A very small bed and a little uncomfortable. It is located in the lower town, near the river, but fairly close to downtown. I had never stayed in hostel before, but from what I've heard from others who have stayed at other hostels around the world this seemed a little poor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hostel was relatively well-located, easy to navigate from the central train station (hauptbahnof). Room was rather cramped (5 in the family in a room) but still acceptable, but the cold shower was just bad. Apart from having to keep pushing a button to keep the water flowing, the water was barely warm and turned freezing cold very quickly, which is not what you want especially in winter. We were also staying next to a family with babies, so there was some disturbance but nothing much you can do about that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_travels143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hostel was pretty good but it was the most expensive hostel I stayed at in 2 weeks in Switzerland. The breakfast was good and they have nice expresso and tea! The room I stayed in had 3 bunk beds and the bathroom was down the hall. The blow dryer was great but it was so annoying to have to push the shower water button about every 10 seconds. They should really change that system.
Two strange things happened - one was that a girl arrived to the room with all of her bags around 7 in the morning and talked when she came in the room, waking the five other girls up. They shouldn't let people check into a room at 7 in the morning. Second was that one girl was climbing into her upper bunk right at the door, naked, when I came back to the hostel around 9 one night.
There were many families with young children at this hostel. They have a large common area which was great and the wifi worked well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprueitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hostel was in a great location right by the river Aare, it was clean and the breakfast had a great choice of different types of food. But the reception staff were not very helpful, when a fellow traveller asked where he could eat he was told to walk back into town. He wasn't told about the restaurant that was two minutes walk away that I had eaten at and which was very nice. They didn't give us a map or suggest any sights to see.
The showers had no where to put your clothes so I had to put them on the floor and they only had a shower curtain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willothewisplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good location close to the main area. Buffet breakfast was included and there was a good selection. Lockers in the room and baggage storage available if you need it. Free wifi.
There was no kitchen, just a microwave and kettle and a large sitting area. The showers were really annoying as they operated by pushing a button that kept turning off every few seconds, making the water go cold again every time you turn it back on! There is also nowhere to put your stuff while you have a shower unless you just leave it in the main changing and sink area. Very expensive for a shared dorm and what you get but that just seems to be what Switzerland is like. There were also a lot of very young people there screaming and shouting constantly, even late at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Strawberry3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at the Bern Youth Hostel. While it certainly was a no-frills visit, it had everything we needed. It was close to the center/tourist sites, the staff was friendly and helpful, there was a good WiFi connection in the common areas, it was not too expensive, and it was reasonably clean. My friend and I had our own room and felt very safe. An added perk was that there is a small cafeteria bar where you can grab dinner or free breakfast if you are too tired from your day to venture back out into the city. 
I would definitely recommend this to any traveller who is looking for a low-cost place to stay for a few nights. 

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice3403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.3 mi away
ibis budget Bern Expo
1.3 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#21 of 30 in Bern
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jardin
Hotel Jardin
#13 of 30 in Bern
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bern Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bern Youth Hostel

Address: Weihergasse 4 | 3005 Bern, Bern 3005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Price Range: $47 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bern Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bern youth hostel is becoming worthy of a capital city: for 60 years we have been welcoming guests and friends of Bern to the youth hostel. The listed building has been completely renovated so that we can also offer you a pleasant stay in our wonderful capital in future. We look forward to the exciting time during the conversion period and even more to being able to welcome you again at the start of 2018 to Bern youth hostel, which will then be resplendent with its new finish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bern Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Bern Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing