We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucerne youth hostel is better”
Review of Bern Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bern Youth Hostel
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Aurangabad, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lucerne youth hostel is better”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

It is youth hostel, so don't expect the luxury. The dorms are clean. Breackfast is nice, even for Vegeterian peoples. There is the 3 Dosha hotel, which is Indian pure veg restaurant, I have not visited it. There is one more restaurant, Tibits. This is mostly Veg hotel, with some exception with use of Egg. The items with Egg are clearly noted. Suitable hotel for Vegeterian peoples, and it is on the station and close to youth hostel.
youth hostel is close to station, it require to travel vertical drop of about 50 feet to reach hostel. This drop can be traveled using small shuttle, which is free for swiss pass holder (Travel tim 2 min).
Hostel is safe for the family, and reception staff is cool. Left luggage arrangement is also good.

Room Tip: The female partner, if staying with you in dorm - then she need to use the toilet on another floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
12
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed only one night in Bern and was lucky that in our four bed dorm there were only two of us.
The room wasn't fancy but clean and I guess it was big enough for four people - maybe not if you're traveling with a lot of luggage. There were a lot of lockers outside the room.

The showers are real communal showers (but male and female separate ;-) ) with no closed shower stalls just curtains.
But there is an installed hairdryer like you sometimes see at public swimming pools - that was a great plus.

What I didn't like so much was the fact that you had to register with your mobile number if you wanted to use the WiFi - or call a number to receive your personal code. And that was additional to a daily WiFi code - that is just too much if you just want to quickly check your e-mails! If you wanted to use their guest computers you had to pay for it. Sorry, but I think that is just not up to date.

Really up to date in contrast was the huge breakfast which is already included. They also serve lunch and dinner but there is no guest kitchen.

At this time of year it was very quiet and I saw maybe five guests altogether - but I suppose it's a lot more crowded in summer.

The location is really nice: close to the city centre but also quiet and close to the Aare river. Just walking back up to the train station with my suitcase wasn't fun - but I could have taken the cable car - I know.... ;-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckysunnystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Spent four nights in the hostel in late September while using Bern as a base to see other parts of Switzerland. Very convenient to the train station although at the bottom of a steep hill. Bonus is that it is just across the road from the Aare river.
As expected, very basic accomodation but much more affordable than pensions or hotels. The provided breakfasts and available if booked ahead dinners were home style and filling and much more affordable than local restaurants. Staff were very helpful, the hostel was clean and small laundromat handy. The only downside to the hostel is that it isn't designed to muffle noise. In spite of having a private room for two in a wing with private rooms for two to four people we were kept up three out of four nights by other hostelers who didn't appreciate the "quiet time" rules. While other guests weren't obnoxious they just didn't understand how to be considerate and keep their noise down when coming in late. The front desk shuts down in the night so it was basically self policing. The communal showers and bathrooms were kept clean but were limited in number. No issues if you were an early riser but otherwise some waiting was involved. Overall rating average as you get (for Switzerland) what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanIsleTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I stayed here for one night in late May 2011. It is a little pricier than other Swiss youth hostels, especially when you need to add the 6 CHF per night Hostelling International membership fee. However, they do provide free breakfast (a good range of cereals, breads, spreads and hot drinks) and nice spacious lockers outside the rooms.

The rooms are tidy and staff are friendly. The large communal area feels a bit like a school camp dining room, although there's a small place to relax upstairs with a TV and table soccer. It's down a steep hill, which can be a bit dark at night, but is otherwise well located. They were happy to arrange accommodation for me the day before.

I'd recommend staying here because it seems to be the best value hostel available in Bern, the free breakfast is good and overall it's not bad at all.

P.S. Free wireless only seems to be available on the ground floor (most rooms are upstairs).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CountryHopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hostel was totally NOT our thing (read: we would not stay here again), but it depends on your needs/interests. The location is pretty good -- near the water, down a steep hill from Parliament -- and they do serve a basic breakfast that is included in the cost of your stay. Service, however, was lacking, as was the quality of the rooms. They messed up on our reservation and then told us there was only a room with bunk beds available. Then they charged us for a one-day membership for staying at the youth hostel... unexpected, but whatever. The rooms look straight out of a freshman dorm -- they're just as noisy, too. We listened to one couple chat their way through the night and another poor guy hack and cough. Walls are paper-thin, so pack ear plugs! Oh, and be prepared to pay for internet. All in all, I'd say it's not worth it to stay here -- at least in the off-season, when there are plenty of good rates/deals at other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamDoubleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Much like the other Swiss HI hostel I stayed in (in Zurich), this would be rated one or two stars if not for the fact that it's in Switzerland and thus has to be considered relative to the overall sky-high lodging prices there.

The hostel is clean and nice-looking, the beds are as comfortable as you'd expect from a hostel. Its location is not ideal, but has its charm. It's at the foot a plateau, with the main old-town city center on top of the plateau. You can walk up, but it's a bit of a hike, especially carrying a heavy backpack. I did it, though, and so I didn't explore other ways of getting to and from the hostel (i.e., I don't know if buses run here or what). However, it is near the river and a nice park.

Important negatives are: They make you pay for the internet, and it's rather expensive. They also don't have a kitchen available for guest use.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrenBarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The hostel is a walk away from the train station but in a nice location. The staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast were very good. However, we were on the top floor which had smaller windows, when it was 35 degrees outside sleeping was near impossible without a fan or air conditioning. Also, the internet access (both wifi and computers) is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bern Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bern Youth Hostel

Property: Bern Youth Hostel
Address: Weihergasse 4 | 3005 Bern, Bern 3005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bern Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bern youth hostel is becoming worthy of a capital city: for 60 years we have been welcoming guests and friends of Bern to the youth hostel. The listed building has been completely renovated so that we can also offer you a pleasant stay in our wonderful capital in future. We look forward to the exciting time during the conversion period and even more to being able to welcome you again at the start of 2018 to Bern youth hostel, which will then be resplendent with its new finish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Bern Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jugendherberge Bern Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing