We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The rooms are fair sized and are very clean.The bed was comfortable and warm.The shared toilets and shower were also clean.The common kitchen was spacious and had a good range of utensils.The common lounge area was also spacious and comfortable.Beer and wine was available from reception at good prices.The location was right in the middle of Bern.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    122
    41
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
71
73
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roermond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Yes, it is expensive, but so is everything in Bern. Comparing it to other hotels, prices at the hostel are quite normal for this city. We stayed in this hostel for 3 night and really enjoyed it. We had a double room with bathroom, which was spacious and clean, with comfortable beds. The common room is cosy and clean, the kitchen has all you need and lots of it, and lots of information on what to do in Bern is provided. It's also in a great location in the old centre of Bern. Tram and bus stop on the other side of the street, and train station is a 10 minute walk. One bad experience was that our food was stolen from the kitchen twice. We have spent around 6 months in hostels before, and never had any problems. Here, food was stolen from us twice in three days. That's not the hostel's fault, but maybe it could be made more clear somehow that people should not take food from others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

To begin with, I know Bern is an expensive place, and finding budget-friendly lodging is not the easiest task, so for that need this hostel will suffice. We arrived early in the afternoon and had to wait over 30 minutes before anyone arrived at reception. The room was very small, but comfortable enough. It is in an excellent location, however, in the heart of the historic old city centre of Bern, and I suppose that's where the price premium kicks in. Overall I would feel better about this place if I didn't have to pay so much for it, but it's a viable option for anyone who wants to check out Bern on a budget. Shop around for a better rate if you can though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms are very basic but it is by far the cheapest place around for such a good location (just a short walk from the centre and right by the river).
The staff were great and the hostel was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing to fault in this wonderful little hotel located just steps from everything in the heart of historic Bern. Not all rooms have private bath but I requested one and it was a wonderful, quiet room on the top floor under the eaves with a window where I could look out over the city rooftops and watch the gently falling snow.

This hotel gets high marks for comfortable beds, cleanliness & VALUE as well. On a budget? This is as good as it gets in Bern! I'd make this place my home base for day trips throughout the area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lraff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

You will need to climb one flight of stairs up to this hostel. Bottom floor is a fancy bar. Great staff at reception, however they are not opened between 12-2pm (or 12-3pm) so be sure that your check-in time coincides with when reception is opened. You get a large common lounge and kitchen for use (Free wifi in the common areas along with tea; coffee is just a bit extra). The rooms and bathrooms are kept clean. Breakfast is not included in the room rate but bakeries and cafes are easily within walking distance outside. Just a 10-minute walk from the main train station, remember to head towards the main clock tower. You will also see a Mcdonalds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hostel is right in the old town, the main reason most people visit Berne. Sorry walking distance from the main railway station. Kitchen is a bit small, but like the rooms, and other common areas is clean. Free locker and does nice and warm. Reception is not 24 hours and WiFi is only available in the common areas. Staff is friendly. Bathrooms are fine. My only complaint is the room keys. For some reason, at about 6 am my key stopped working and because I had an early train to catch before reception even opened, i had to wake up the other people in the room by knocking to get in. Felt so bad. But would still recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke

Property: Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke
Address: Rathausgasse 75, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is unbeatable! Bern Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in Bern. Big common room with a great communal kitchen, laundry, internet, TV, free tea, free WI-Fi, fussball table etc - all available 24hrsClose to restaurants, bars, clubs museums and theatres. Our hostel is clean, safe, comfortable and well equipped which ensures your stay is a pleasant and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing