We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

It's 10-15 min Walk from the center. Clean. They suggest their hotel parking, and when we did check out, they charged us for it. Although they forget telling us about the charge!!!. The breakfast is ok but not more. The family room is small for 2 adults and 2 children.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayzeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    78
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
26
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our visit to our daughter in Switzerland in August 2012 and found the place very nice and hospitable. The staff understands English, is extremely helpful and courteous.

Free fruits at the entry
The hotel maintains a basket of free candies and fresh fruit at the entrance. So if you are late and need something to eat, you can chew an apple or snack on a candy

Awesome breakfast
The hotel provides a sumptuous feast as a complimentary breakfast. You can have a plateful of choices depending on what you love. They served breads of many varieties, all kinds of tea, milks, yogurts, dry fruits, juices. You would be spoilt for choices. The breakfast was an awesome treat for you to start a perfect day

Spic and span hotel rooms and lobby
The hotel was high on cleanliness and room cleanliness. The windows overlooked into the quiet city houses but you could have complete privacy by turning on the automated blinds.
Discreet table lights helped me to do my work at night as my wife caught up with her sleep without getting disturbed.

Small but good washrooms
The bathroom was closeted and tidy without any stink.

Comfortable beds and great linen
The linen provided was great, hygienic, fresh and crisp. No soiled and stained stuff, no smells.

Quiet
The place was silent and quiet without any disturbances inside the hotel or from outside.

Great Connectivity
The place is well connected to buses and trams. It is right in the middle of the city and is not your far off places that need to be travelled on expensive cabs. You could walk in to nearby stores to purchase almost anything you want.

All in all the hotel was very nice and welcoming. It is a nice, quiet place to be in, if you happen to be in Bern.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank syravi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
204 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

It's a very basic hotel without any frills, however, rooms are functional and berakfast is good. Beware because there is no ac in the rooms and it can get loud if people are talking in the corridor.
The hotel is not in the centre of Bern, but is very well connected to the center by tram. If you are here with the car, the hotel is a good choice because you can park here. If you are here with the train, it is 10 minutes from the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms, fast and free Wi-Fi internet in the room, good breakfast. The hotel is situated at a quiet location close the city center (about 10 minutes walk or two bus stops from the main train station).
There weren't coffee and tea facilities in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romanliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is a little out of the centre with not much immediately around it, but it is a fairly easy walk from the station. Friendly staff, and a nice breakfast with decent coffee. Mattress was way too soft for me, but that's personal.

What makes this a poor review is the noise that starts a 8am. The room cleaning starts at 8am and is noisy. And twice at 8.30 I had a cleaner walk straight into my room without knocking while I was getting dressed - I don't expect to need a 'do not disturb' sign at 8.30 in the morning. On Saturday I wanted to sleep in, but was woken by lots of noise from reception at 9am. I have stayed at plenty of hotels in Switzerland - this is not normal.

No idea about value for money as this was booked and paid for by somebody else.

Room Tip: Maybe these are problems for the first floor only?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is recently renovated. Our room was really nice, clean and spacious (one double bed, one single bed and a baby crib). The bathroom is realy modern. Very nice included breakfast and kind staff. Very close to a tram stop that goes to train station and historical Bern centre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissbrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the Pergola for 1 night as we had a meeting close by. La Pergola is in the heart of Bern which is very convenient. The hotel is ver tidy, and the staff very helpful. Unfortunately the room was very small and the bathroom very narrow. I would not stay there again on that ground. Although we asked for the quietest room as possible, we could here the Tram.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#25 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#8 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#22 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Belpstrasse 43, Bern 3007, Switzerland (Formerly La Pergola Swiss Q Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3 Star Hotel La Pergola is an outstanding address for holidaymakers or for business travellers: as oasis of calmness our hotel offers daily living hospitality and regeneration from the day-to-day hectic rush in the pulsating heart of the city. A cup of refreshing Tea in our motley garden? Or a zippy cup of coffee in our modern lobby? With our charming little team we will try our best to fulfil all your personal wishes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing