We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small But Convenient”
Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Bern
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small But Convenient”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We had three rooms for two nights. Two of the rooms had 2 beds, and ours had one. The rooms and bathrooms as mentioned are small. We had two large suitcases for our 8 day trip and it was a challenge to find a place for them. You must also be aware that the beds are rather low off the floor, so if you have any back or mobility problems, this could be a problem.
Breakfast was nice. My wife thoroughly enjoyed the espresso the gentleman from Spain who worked the breakfast period prepared each morning.
The hotel is no more than 2 minutes from a tram stop. The tram ran often and quickly took you to the train station.
Take note that you will find liquid soap in the bathroom.
There is a single elevator, but 3 persons with luggage can fit in it.
The day we checked out, we left our bags early for safekeeping until we returned late from our day trip to the Jungfrau. No problems at all.
Front desk staff was always helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THFinPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    85
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
29
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Even though I'd prefer to give this a 3.7 star rating, I think that I'll use the rounding error to round up and grant them the benefit of the doubt.

There are many good things about this hotel. They include: free internet, free breakfast, very clean lines in the room (and a great use of space to use glass separating doors to create privacy in the bathroom), decent prices, friendly and accommodating staff (i.e. the only gave me one pillow because I had a single - but they gave me several more upon request), and when I came back to get my luggage from storage - they offered me some very refreshing mint iced tea. Overall, I'd probably stay here again, particularly on a business trip (but perhaps not so much if this was a couple's weekend).

The few quibbles I have: do be aware of the no A/C if you are there during a warm period (but things should be fine in winter) as the rooms can get a bit stuffy; the room I had was actually on a fairly busy street so I regularly heard lots of street traffic including the tram; if you are bringing a US/universal adapter and trying to do work at the desk, be prepared to unplug the TV _and_ the desk lamp to make it workable.

One thing to be wary of that is not the fault of the Hotel: the walk from the train station is about 10-12 minutes - and googlemaps had me walking down a street with no sidewalk (carrying a Tumi roller bag while I was in heels no less). There were other side streets I could have taken that had a proper sidewalk, so make sure you think carefully about your routing and/or just take the Tram (#3) from the station.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We arrived at La Pergola early AM after a very long plane ride and short train trip.
Erica had a room ready for us so we could take a quick nap before exploring Bern.
We had an enjoyable one-night stay--clean room.good location, tasty breakfast. It was very warm that day (90+F) -- even a small fan would have helped. The only other problem was with the wireless connection;we never did connect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnY14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed there one night.
The hotel is nice and the staff is very helpful.
The hotel is however only functionnal I will say, it has no 'charm'.
One thing missing for us was really air conditionning.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

hotel at La Pergola was quite a surprise---it is easily reached by bus from the central station and is down a side street. in a very quiet location. it has been modernised throughout, the rooms are very much updated and comfortable . The dining room is pleasant with a good continental breakfast and the staff very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. It is hard to be specific as to why but the ambience is made it a very attractive place to stay. there is a large park/botanical area within 5 min walk and an excellent and very inexpensive cafe therein. A good Italian restaurant is next door

Room Tip: rooms were all identical, very comfortable and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here on a quick in-and-out of Bern trip. It was a great price for what you got. The rooms were smallish (Pod-esque), but clean, comfortable, and very well-organized. I was worried that it was going to be noisy at night because we were in front of the elevator and stairs - but it was not noisy at all until the morning when one of the hotel guests sat outside, in front of the hotel talking (not realizing that anyone with their window open could hear their conversation verbatim). However, in general, the hotel is off the street in a nice green space, with very little to disturb you (during the day or at night). Not only was this location tranquil, but it was a short walk to everything: the train station (5-10 minutes), the old town (5-10 minutes), etc. However, the true highlight was the customer service and the breakfast! The staff were all very helpful and really friendly - looking up trains, giving directions, etc. And, the food - yum - many different varieties of breads, cheese, fruit salad, delicious coffee, pastries, etc.

My only complaint is that our bed had a bit of a dent in the middle, so you rolled towards the center when sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ln2inSegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Hotel is quite centrally located and is a 10 min walk from the main station. Simple but very functional rooms but the staff is incredible. Helpful, warm and attentitve.

The breakfast is amazing and so are the overall tariffs!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumbaiBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#25 of 30 in Bern
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
1.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
811 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Belpstrasse 43, Bern 3007, Switzerland (Formerly La Pergola Swiss Q Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3 Star Hotel La Pergola is an outstanding address for holidaymakers or for business travellers: as oasis of calmness our hotel offers daily living hospitality and regeneration from the day-to-day hectic rush in the pulsating heart of the city. A cup of refreshing Tea in our motley garden? Or a zippy cup of coffee in our modern lobby? With our charming little team we will try our best to fulfil all your personal wishes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing