We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Bern
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveler rating
1,171
137
48
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,171
137
48
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack's brasserie sky terrace train station rooftop bar rain shower schnitzel mini bar turn down service perfect service excellent hotel five star hotel nespresso machine swiss hospitality highly recommend this hotel an upgrade old town up to date
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I visited the Hotel Schweizerhof the last weekend of September 2019. As frequent travelers throughout the USA, France and Switzerland, we found this hotel to be beautiful, charming, historic and maybe most importantly, friendly. Every employee we encountered were well trained professionals who are also real people who care and are happy to help. We had a problem with our rental car and couldn't get to the hotel to check in so we called and Julia sent 2 valets to the parking garage, where we were stranded, to carry our large luggage to the hotel. These young men couldn't have been more pleasant and polite. After the nice front desk people checked us in, we had champagne on the rooftop terrace which had a perfect view of the Jungfrau mountain and parliament towers. Our room had a rainfall shower which was great for tall Americans. We had breakfast at the hotel's Jack's Brasserie, which is a classic french style brasserie with high quality fresh food, pastries and Swiss cheese. David's multiple cappuccino trips to our table revived jet lagged travelers who appreciated his service and the beauty of this brasserie. Ready to go out now, we walked the old city from the hotel and can't wait for our next visit!!!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank visitelasuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear frequent traveler, I would like to start off by thanking you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor - your feedback is invaluable to us.
We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your breakfast at our Jack’s Brasserie and that you found the view from our rooftop terrace perfect. Also, we are very glad that our staff were able to assist and ensure you were well taken care of in your time of need. We will pass your compliments to them, so they know their efforts did not go unnoticed.
It delights us to know that you had a great time at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & Spa, and we are excited to welcome you back upon your next stay in Switzerland.
With warm regards,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location next to the train station. Entire hotel staff was friendly and hospitable.
Requested a quiet room, and was accommodated. The room was very spacious. The bathroom had been updated, was clean and quite large. I would stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FairfaxStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2019

I stayed for business but I would happily stay for pleasure. I was so impressed with how stunning this hotel is from the lobby to the rooms. The Spa is magnificent and we ate at the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner, both excellent. The staff is the friendliest and most helpful I have ever encountered. A big plus is it's only a few steps from the train station and lot of shopping and restaurants. Truly a diamond with no rough!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dellalubke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback!
We hope to welcome you soon back.
All the best,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019

The Schweizerhof is located across the street from Bern train station, a short walk. Near the tram lines, too. The building is historic both in real life as well as in the movies as it was featured in the James Bond film, 'On His Majesty's Secret Service." Part of the action took place on the balcony of Room 412, which was next door to the room we were assigned, 411.

Sybille at the front desk gave a master class in customer service. She greeted us for our one night stay as if we were as if we were returning favorite regulars. She checked us in, looked up information about a hard-to-find Swiss cookie, and oriented us to Bern, coming from behind the desk to do so. She made us feel welcome in such a gracious and friendly manner that we immediately felt the warm cocoon of Schweizerhof's 5-star hospitality. Thank you, Sybille!!

Our room was spacious, spotless, well-appointed, and looked out over the square. Nespresso coffee maker (much preferred over other types) and complimentary bottled water. Ample closet space. The bed was perfect. With the roll shutters down, we heard no street noise at night.The bath was spacious with a separate WC and rain shower. As another reviewer noted, we did find the room on the warm side. Then, we read the staff's explanation about how the building converts the underfloor heating to refrigeration for cooling; sounds very green. We also found the light switch controls a little perplexing. We never figured them out completely.

Because of our short stay, we were sadly unable to try the Spa or the restaurant giving us the perfect excuse to return to Bern and the Schweizerhof. Highly recommended!

Room tip: Room 412 is the "James Bond" room.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor.
We were very happy to read your motivating words - especially Sybille was proud to hear your compliments!
We hope that we are able to welcoming you back soon and that you will then be able to enjoy our beautiful Spa.
With our best regards,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is located perfectly in old town, steps form central train station.
Ask for room on a the opposite side of train station- much quieter and better view . We had an amazing room , like a studio apartment with bathroom far from the bedroom so one person could take a shower when the other sleeping. Shower is amazing - newly renovated with beautiful rain shower. Room is equipped with nice coffee machine and small fridge. We had breakfast included and it was great.
Keep in mind few things: if you are driving parking is 40 CHF a day and restaurant for dinner wasn’t the best. Otherwise you would love to staying here.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AbbyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2019

Thank you very much for your visit and for your feedback.
It is nice to hear you were enjoying your stay in Bern.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
With my best regards,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews