We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveler rating
1,160
136
48
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,160
136
48
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack's brasserie sky terrace train station rooftop bar rain shower schnitzel mini bar turn down service perfect service excellent hotel five star hotel nespresso machine swiss hospitality highly recommend this hotel an upgrade old town up to date
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is located perfectly in old town, steps form central train station.
Ask for room on a the opposite side of train station- much quieter and better view . We had an amazing room , like a studio apartment with bathroom far from the bedroom so one person could take a shower when the other sleeping. Shower is amazing - newly renovated with beautiful rain shower. Room is equipped with nice coffee machine and small fridge. We had breakfast included and it was great.
Keep in mind few things: if you are driving parking is 40 CHF a day and restaurant for dinner wasn’t the best. Otherwise you would love to staying here.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AbbyAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your visit and for your feedback.
It is nice to hear you were enjoying your stay in Bern.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
With my best regards,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is conveniently located near the Central Rail Station and also near the many sights of the city. Our room was comfortable. Breakfast this year was much improved over that offered last year. Now there is a buffet as well as hot dishes made to order.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and for your feedback.
It is great to hear that you were positively surprised by our new breakfast concept.
With our best regards,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was excellent and the hotel was great. We loved the spa. The concierge and the hotel staff were all superb. The location for buses is perfect. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet.
The only thing that we would have liked is for th air conditioning to be better. The rooms were very warm and the AC only went down to 20. The windows are restricted in how much they open and it is noisy outside at night so we could not keep them open for sleeping. This is a small thing, we loved the place.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eversosaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and for your feedback.
It is lovely to hear that you were enjoying your stay in Bern.
Concerning your comment about the room temperature, we kindly inform you that we do not have an air conditioning, only a ventilation system with temperature control in a limited temperature range and heat recovery for the rooms. The house is cooled in the summer by the conversion of the underfloor heating to refrigeration and then temperature adjustments can only be very slow and affect the whole house.
We hope to welcome you back soon and wish you all the best in the meantime,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my wife visited Switzerland for the first time and stayed in this hotel for two nights (Friday 6th - Saturday 7th September 2019). We were given a double upgrade to our room which was a great start to our holiday. The service provided by the hotel staff has been exceptional and has added to our memorable stay, especially Jacob who took his time and effort to ensure we made the most of our time in Switzerland by showing us the best places to visit. We were always greeted by eye contact and warm smiles during our stay at the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shakibers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor.
We hope to welcome you soon back!
All the best,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about our stay was perfect. The hotel is literally across the street from the Bern train station. We arrived early and the front desk was able to accommodate us. The interiors looked recently updated and the hotel was spotless. Our room definitely had a "wow' factor when first walking in. Bathrooms were spotless and bath products were high-end. Staying here, you get the sense that no detail was overlooked, even down to a "pillow menu" consisting of 6 additional pillow choices in case the standard ones just aren't cutting it. Breakfast was included in our room rate and it was well done. In addition to the buffet of cereals, yogurts, cheeses, charcuterie, breads, pastries and fresh squeezed juices, you can also order larger entrees such as eggs and waffles, which were included with the breakfast. It's served in the high-end Jack's Brasserie but was also offered to be delivered to the room for a small fee (which we didn't end up doing). Since weather was poor one of the days we were there, we ended up going down to the Spa to use the facilities. Spa staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the facilities were top notch. Bottom line - would definitely come back and highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajz53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for this great feedback of yours. We are glad to hear that we have been able to surprise you with our outstanding services and our helpful employees. We will forward your kind words to our colleagues at the hotel!
Best regards from Bern,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews