We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveler rating
984
114
40
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
114
40
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jack's brasserie sky terrace train station bulgari toiletries rooftop bar soft drinks and beer light switches steam room rain shower mini bar schnitzel turn down service large bathtub excellent hotel perfect service five star hotel deluxe room
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Warm wellcome, very accommodating treatment. Surprising gift upon arrival for our youngest family member. As expected, fabulous service from the whole Schweizerhof Bern staff! Definitely to recommend and to come back.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank balmer2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear balmer2017, thank you very much for your visit and for your feedback. We are glad to hear that we were able to surprise your youngest family member with the teddy bear gift.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
All the best,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly, professional and very helpful. Our room was very quiet - great for sleeping. The bathroom was very spacious and well designed! We enjoyed the large bathtub, the separate shower, double sinks and private toilet room. The bed was very comfortable. We ordered room service for breakfast - delicious!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 144beverlyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checking in at the reception desk was very pleasant.
We immediately got little refreshment towels and a fruit juice; very nice when it’s over 30 degrees outside. The receptionist took plenty of time not only to point out the “show places in the city, but also the time you would need to walk to them or which public traffic line you had to take (with the names of terminals, so you would know if you were travelling in the right direction; TOP.
Striking is to see that some former jobs in the Schweizerhof are performed by woman. When we stayed there, there was a very friendly and cheerful “door- woman””, she made us smile every time we entered or left the hotel and made us feel very welcome.
The job of luggage carrier is also performed by women. We’ve never seen both jobs performed by women. Great; it’s the new generation.
The hotel gave us a free “Bernkarte” for public transport and reduction in museums; a very welcome gesture.
The hotel gave us an upgrade; unfortunately it turned out that room was just 5 m2 larger, but didn’t have the booked French balcony. The windows in this room could just be opened a little bit and since we do not like to have the air conditioning on and prefer windows to be wide opened.
The room was nice, but with little day light because of the small windows.
Housekeeping needs serious attention:
Just arrived in our room we found a knife (of previous guests?? ) in the sofa. The next day at 4 p.nm. the room wasn’t cleaned yet. We stayed 3 nights and every evening there was the same little book on our beds; we piled the books, but every night again the same new book. Guest utensils are not supplemented every day. Also Housekeeping uses the little washcloth to punt under your toiletries (easier cleaning the bathroom) but it leaves you without washcloth.
The Schweizerhof makes a statement of fighting against waste. Well I’ve a suggestion, which can reduce the waste of the Schweizerhof very easily. At breakfast there is a little buffet with bread and juices. For the rest you have to order from the breakfast menu. And you only can order a plate of Cheese, fish, ham and cheese and sliced meats. You get a 3 level etagere, which means, that if you both like the same things you have to order an extra one and all you don’t like is due to be put in the garbage bin. Since everything is piled up there taste transfer too.
Service in breakfast room is average; one of the waitresses was chewing some bread when serving.
The breakfast room is changed to Bistro for lunch or dinner, but doesn’t have the atmosphere.
The hotel has a little lobby; so when the weather is not that nice; were to sit??
The hotel has a wonderful terrace on top of the hotel; overlooking the city of Bern and the mountains. For drinks and dinner. The place is the place to b especially when it’s such a beautiful weather, so a lot of people have to be disappointed. In that context it’s very special that one day at least 1/3 of the rooftop terrace was reserved and used by hotel staff ( more than 20 persons some in hotel uniform) Speeches were held, snacks were served to them and guests could just look at it and hope they would be served when there would be any time for them as paying guess.
Unbelievable; perhaps some one of the head office came by or someone of the staff won a price, but there are other locations that a rooftop terrace on a sunny day. Perhaps the hotel makes enough money??

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dorrith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Dorrith Z,
thank you for your visit and for your feedback. Please find below our feedback to your review which we posted already 6 months ago on your review on Booking.com.
We are glad to hear that you were happy with our front office team and that you appreciated their services! However, we are sorry that you have experienced some things you weren't as satisfied with. We actually wanted to surprise you with the upgrade to a higher room category. As we didn't get the information from Booking.com that you wished to have a balcony, we couldn't consider that for the room move. However, the fact that your room hasn't been cleaned the second day is of course not acceptable and I will definitely discuss that with our Housekeeping Manager. Please accept our apologies for all the inconveniences caused! Concerning the breakfast, we are sorry to hear that you didn't like our a la carte concept. We actually do care a lot about our waste management as we are ISO 14001 certified and we are working on several food waste projects with our environmental team in the hotel. With the a la carte breakfast option we have indeed a lot less food waste compared to a huge buffet style breakfast as our guests are able to order the food they want to. Please feel free to ask for any wishes that are not on our menu next time you are visiting us. We are happy to fulfill anything for you! We also would like to inform you about the event on our Sky Terrace you are talking about. That day we were hosting a special event on our terrace to thank several hotel guests who are visiting us very frequently. Our management team was hosting that event and was of course also present that day. We are sorry that there was no possibility for you to have a drink on the terrace. Please don't hesitate to contact us in advance next time that we can reserve a nice table for you. If there is anything else I can do for you, please feel free to contact me at any time. Best regards, Seraina Zahner, qm@schweizerhof-bern.ch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at this excellent property during our travel through Switzerland. We had selected this property due to its existing reviews and photos. And we were not disappointed. The welcoming staff were great and extremely helpful. We were given great recommendations regarding where to go and what to eat. We definitely would return to this property if we were to return to Bern again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IAteEightEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Jason H for your great feedback and for sharing it with everybody on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back.
All the best,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in December 2018 with my wife. Fantastic customer service (even though we have very high expectations) and luxurious room (in particular the bathroom). Would definitely stay again and recommend to others

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Explore36875905349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSB_Quality, Quality & CSR Manager at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your great feedback.
We wish you all the best & a happy New Year,
Seraina Zahner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews