We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel at the station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotels opposite rail stations are not always the best, but this is Switzerland, and both the railway and this hotel are impeccable. We had a standard room with a massive king bed, good desk, plenty of hanging space, bathrobes and slippers, a perfect bathroom with tub and separate shower. The room overlooked the station square, but the soundproofing was 100% and the air-conditioning effective and silent. I really can't imagine what more would be provided in a higher room category. They even provide copious, free, mineral water and wi-fi. The only thing one might find bothersome is the room price and the additional SF30 per person for breakfast. But for this quality, it's hard to complain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and it is high motivation for every single member of staff to take best possible care of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and in the meantime we wish you all the best and thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Quality Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 873 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Nice friendly staff, excellent facilities and a great room. The roof terrace is a stunner. Good location in the center of the city. Easy to use the train to travel to. Spa also very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zman10002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and it is high motivation for every single member of staff to take best possible care of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and in the meantime we wish you all the best and thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Quality Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We took over two rooms over a three day weekend for my Aunt's 100 birthday - a major milestone. I booked this hotel hoping it would cater to my Dad as well as partner and young children. My conclusion: the staff were excellent, the rooms really comfortable, especially the beds and the bar had excellent Swiss wine. I would also highly commend the breakfast, a treat for all ages, excellent food and service. The best of Swiss hospitality - not cheap but worth every pound or franc!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Greg_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and it is a high motivation for every single member of our staff to take best possible care of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and in the meantime we wish you all the best and thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Quality Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Perfect in every way! Location - Service - Attention to details - Style - Comfort - Privacy - SPA! Beautiful property in the heart of Bern. Pure luxury and pleasure in a stylish historical palace. Great brasserie!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and as a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and in the meantime we wish you all the best and thank you once again for your feedback

Kind regards

Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Quality Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I have visited many hotels and some are better than others, but this hotel was just perfect. Nicely styled, perfect bathroom, friendly staff, absolutely nothing to complain about. Situated on the "Bahnhofplatz", it is also at a good location, nicely in the center of Bern.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Freekhelsper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback and thank you once again for having chosen the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern during your recent stay. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. Your positive feedback is high motivation for every single member of staff to take best possible care of our guests.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice hotel with renovated rooms, super central location and great SPA. Best option for SPA weekend. On the other hand if you want nice view, this is not the perfect option unless ur on the last floors. The service is good but I wouldn't really recommend you Jack's brasserie, the main restaurant there. Somehow food isn't that good since chef was changed. But the brunch place in the hotel itself and the roof restaurant are great! Nice place for business also!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_Smirnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback and thank you once again for having chosen the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern during your recent stay. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. Your positive feedback is high motivation for every single member of staff to take best possible care of our guests.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and wish you all the best.

Kind regards

Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed in the hotel one night and was very, very disappointed. The room was generally nicely appointed, although the lay-out somewhat small - it seemed more space was used to accommodate the bathroom than the sleeping area. However, it does offer some nice details like the rainshower.

That said, the location of the hotel (opposite the Bern bus and taxi station) combined with the apparent lack of willingness to invest in noise isolation makes for a quite noisy night. Even worse is the high temperature of the room, and the inability to adjust it. There is a thermostat in the room but it appears not to be connected to an airconditioning system. Especially considering the pricing of the hotel, and its 5-star rating, there are plenty of examples of hotels that show how this can be approached.

However, unfortunately all of this is outshadowed by the staff of the hotel - although not rude, they do not seem to consider your visit as good for the hotel (but rather the other way around), and specifically in the case of the issue that I had the reservations manager did not even pretend to care, or show any willingness to come to a solution. For any hotel this would be below standard, but especially in the league that the Schweizerhof considers itself to compete this is significantly below par and frankly embarrassing.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the bus and taxi station and as a consequence are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank n/a000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
1.3 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa

Address: Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $348 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 99 stylish rooms and suites, an 800m2 conference center with a stunning ballroom, the Jack’s Brasserie restaurant and the sophisticated Lobby-Lounge-Bar, Cigar Lounge, a 500m2wellness SPA and the elegant Sky Terrace with a 360° panorama view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing