We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service - With an eye on details” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service - With an eye on details”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I did spend three days at the hotel Schweizerhof during a business meeting earlier on this month. And my experience was just amazing. Most probably one of the best services I ever had in a (business) hotel. The service experience starts at the hotel director Mr Thomann and goes along the lines. Just no weak link in the experience. It is just a joy to see all the details they take care of. Generosity and friendliness lived on a level that made me feel special.
I will for sure take the next opportunity to go back to the Schweizerhof.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann_Allmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    71
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
98
287
48
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed in the Schweizerhof for 2 nights during a Business meeting.
Confortable location directly next to the railway station.
Hotel staff was reall great, always smiling. My room was one of the most beautiful roos I have ever stayed in: modern design, well appointed with a nice bar and nespresso coffee machine. The bedding was truly luxurious and very confortable. Also the bathroom had a wonderful rainshower shower.
The hotel also had a nice Spa and swimmingpool area.

I do definitly recommend staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Emily237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent rooms and location plus 5 star service free wifi and free mini bar plus loved the free breakfast sent to the room if you want ti have ur breakfast on bed rather than going down to the resturant

Room Tip: Standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yousufalkhaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Truly great experience - from the warm greeting to the speddy check-out everything was spot-on. Most of all, of course, the fantastic junior-suite. I'll make sure to stay at the Schweizerhof again, when travelling to my hometown which I left 20 years ago.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, hotel is nice but Over priced compared to American standards

Pros- clean!,very nice room, staff very nice and helpful, restaurant very good, location, spa was great

Cons-over priced, a/c in room didn't work and was told to just open windows(really), one 1hour of free WiFi for the $$$'s you spend...ridiculous!!...window out front broken after a riot in May and 4 months later still not fixed

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed there a few times and we loved it, the rooms are very zen although the hotel is situated in the middle of Berne.The Nespresso machine in the room is superb. Jack's Brasserie is definitely worth a visit, the Schnitzel is wonderful and so is the service. In summer when it's nice weather you can overview the whole city on their rooftop terrace, they serve food and drinks up there as well. Only thing missing is an own parkingspot or parking garage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Picky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Deluxe Plus Double King room on the 2nd floor.
It's everything you expected from a five star hotel. The location is right across the train station, and it can simply be reached by taking the underground pathway so you don't have to worry about the rain or the snow.

We didn't eat the breakfast at the hotel, so can't comment on that. There's Nespresso coffee machine in the room, so you can save a few bucks by buying salad/breads at the nearby supermarket(Coop/Migros/small bakeries) the night before and have your breakfast comfortably in the room.

If I must complain about something, it's the lightning in the room. Too dark in the bedroom and the light is too bright in the bathroom (makes it a bit hard to put on make up)

We had the business package, so the in-room movie and wireless connection was included.

The concierge got us a reservation to a popular local restaurant, it was great.

P.S. The Spa is clean and nice, but don't expect to swim in the pool, it's very small, just for soaking.

If you don't mind spend $$$$$ on lodging, this hotel will be a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing