We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh room, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Posh room, excellent location”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel last October, primary reason being it 's just opposite the train station and 2 minutes into old town. Lady at reception gave me a short welcome intro. on room and hotel facilities etc. Fresh and modern room decor. Decent size. Somehow, the lighting system was too complicated and not intuitive enough for me. This often happens with high-end hotels. I did not recommend the continental breakfast, which was just a standard fare. I did not use the spa, so can't comment. I wish there were a proper swimming pool with a hotel of this class. Expensive choice, but this is Switzerland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    75
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
104
313
48
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Schweitzerhof Bern two nights and were very happy with every aspect our stay. We arrived from Zurich by train (75 min.) and were picked up on the platform at the train station. The hotel is just across the street. A beautiful old building with modern inside. The room (a deluxe double plus) was spacious and tastefully designed. Huge bathroom with wide rain shower, bath, TV. Top class service from everybody involved including receptionists, hotel maid , concierge and waiters. We had breakfast and dinner once at Jack’s Brasserie. A beautiful restaurant with lots of ambiance, nice food and very good service, especially at breakfast. The only fault we found was at Jack’s Brasserie. We checked the menu (it's on the website) in advance, as we are bit limited with food but later found that the menu at the restaurant was different. I think that has been corrected by now. All together, a highly recommended hotel. This is the place to stay in Bern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nano2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although my trip was only one day, and short at that, it was perfect in every way. From the reservation process (extremely helpful and informative) to the arrival (quick, efficient, and with a smile), to the layout and functionality of the rooms (great WiFi, adapters, amenities, etc.) everything went smoothly and with a smile. I will miss Bern and the Schweizerhof, and will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolai_Bloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel is just beautiful. It radiates luxury, class, and quality. The rooms are top-notch, nicely renovated, spacious, with warm colors and a minibar that offers free soda and beer. The hotel's location can hardly be beat, right at the train station (just 75 minutes from Zuerich airport) and two minutes from the main street in old town Berne. The spa area is amazing, with sauna, haman, and a large "jacuzzi" pool, with various kinds of massaging jets. Also the Wifi internet connection worked reliably (first hour free, SFR 25 for the day).

The staff are very attentive; upon check-in, I was escorted to my room and was explained all of the room's features. For my taste, the fancy electronics are a bit overdone. The TV offers a great selection of programs, but is cumbersome to navigate, with the remote not reacting smoothly to commands. Also, while one internalizes the functioning of the many light switches after a while, some written instructions in the hotel directory of services could be helpful. In particular, I did not care too much for the two nightlight switches, which were continuosly shining in a bright blue (the switches, not the night lights themselves)--I needed to block them with pillows to get the room reasonably dark. Maybe this is why I did not sleep too well during my three-night stay--which is very unusual, since I am a frequent traveler and can sleep almost anywhere. And finally, I was really looking forward to the rainforest shower, but the water pressure was way too weak compared to similar showers I was able to enjoy in other luxury hotels in Asia and Africa; it did not give one this sensation of being surrounded by a wall of water.

So on balance, while this is a remarkable hotel which I would highly recommend, the sleepless nights pull down my rating by one notch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We retuned to the Schweitzerhof hotel in January 2013 as our first visit in 2012 was exquisite. This hotel is among the best in the world. It's attention to detail is second to none, even before you arrive. It is located directly across from the train station in the centre of town. The concierge will arrange to meet you at the station and help you with your bags, should you so desire. The rooms are spacious and superbly appointed, with full mini bar, (soft drinks and beer is free), coffee machine and fruit basket. There is an excellent smoking lounge and the food in Jack' s Brassarie is top quality. The English speaking staff are extremely helpful and happy yo point out the local attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the station, rather than the courtyard. All rooms though are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DifromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This review will not be really useful, because we don't have much more things to say which is not in the title already. We had a fantastic high floor room, the spa was fantastic and the service was great. What else?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in january 2013 for 2 nights . the rooms are gorgous , nicely decorated , very comfortable and clean. Location is very good , close to railway station , tram way and shopping area. the staff are very kind and helpful in every way , very beautiful and luxury hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing