We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at the Schweizerhof in Bern for one night (Sa/Su), booked a Deluxe double room. Making the reservation over the phone was already a pleasant experience, with the receptionist being very friendly and asking if I'd have any special wishes for them to prepare our room upon arrival.

We were warmly welcomed, the room was great, with pretty much everything exceeding our expectations. The staff was very attentive during our entire stay, including service at the connected brasserie. We'll definitely be going back there ...

Room Tip: The hotel has a few rooms for event on the first floor. If there's a wedding or something, try t...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
There are newer reviews for Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 833 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Terrific location opposite the main train station and yet very quiet in the room. The hotel has very elegant decor and the service is truly impeccable and very friendly yet unobtrussive. We had a lovely room with very comfortable bed. The bathroom was quite spacious with a large rainshower and seperate hand-shower. Do ask for the business package - comes with free (really) hispeed internet, free national phone calls and free paytv movies (good selection). Mind you the TV is a bit complicated to operate.

Included in the price were also softdrinks and beer from the minibar and nespresso coffee(!) Really appreciated the safe in the room - big enough for a laptop and comes with an internal power socket. And the food....! We had roomservice and I must say, I've rarely been served so well in other 5-star hotels. The food was absolutely superb! A great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the business package - good value!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauritianfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Verkaufsleiter at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear Mauritianfan

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in Bern.

Also we would like to thank you for the recommendation of the Business Package. This is one of our new services which we have launched not too long ago, to make your stay even more comfortable.

We are aware that our technical equipment is not easy to handle for everyone. But as it is sometimes difficult combine handiness and modernity, this is one point where we had to set priority to offer you great values.

Dear Mauritianfan, we would be very happy to be welcoming you again at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern! In case you need more information or have any wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales@schweizerhof-bern.ch.

With our best regards,

Your Schweizerhof Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

we stayed for 1 night and it was amazing. the location is excellent near the train station and near the shopping streets.very attentive staff. the room finishing and furniture is superior. however there are no nice views from the windows.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamoodi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Verkaufsleiter at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear hamoodi81

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We are very pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at our house.

We deeply regret that you have had other expectations regarding the view.
As you can see on our pictures online and as well as on Trip advisor, one the one site of the hotel building you can see the main train station, on the other site of the hotel you see our backyard. If this was not told to you on the time where the reservation was taken, I am very sorry.
As we are a city hotel in Bern, local in the city center, we have too many buildings in front of us to see the Bernese Alps.

Dear hamoodi81, we would be very happy to be welcoming you again at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern! In case you need more information or have any wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales@schweizerhof-bern.ch.

With our best regards,

Your Schweizerhof Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Best Hotel in town. Very friendly Staff. Nixe Floms. Top Central Location all in Walking Eisgangs.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Verkaufsleiter at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear widi

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern.

We would be very happy to be welcoming you again at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern! In case you need more information or have any wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales@schweizerhof-bern.ch.

With our best regards,

Your Schweizerhof Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Hotel has been refurbished in a very good way. Bathrooms are very pleasant.

TV navigation is way too complicated, especially the remote control. It takes you at least 10 minutes to find out how it works and then still it feels unnatural (arrows on the remote control).
When I tried to use the Wifi, I could not easily book it with my room details. I had to insert difficult codes which I received over SMS messages. So not easy to use. Swisscom's hotel service to access internet is much more convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IST_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Verkaufsleiter at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear IST_123456

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. We are pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern.

Regarding the technical equipment, we are aware that we have the newest technology and that is not easy for everyone to handle with. As our employees should give you a good introduction and show you all the tools, we are very sorry that this did not seem to happen during your stay.
In the meanwhile we have had an exchange of our TV program, which makes it much easier to our guests to choose TV channels and use all other additional benefits.

Also we would like to apologize about the difficulties with our WIFI-System.
The login via short message and pin is necessary, so we may guarantee you the highest security and also to obviate abuse.

We would be very happy to be welcoming you again at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern! In case you need more information or have any wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales@schweizerhof-bern.ch.

With our best regards,

Your Schweizerhof Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hotel is really beautiful. It's newly refurbished and everything is new. The lobby is small but that adds to it's charm. The rooms are lovely. Wooden floors, plasma television, deep baths and free wifi. The hotel is just across the road from the railway station, so it's perfect for walking transfers from trains. Only shame are all of the drunks across the road outside the station.

Also be warned - Switzerland is soooo expensive!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARCHIE0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Verkaufsleiter at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2012

Dear ARCHIE 0410

Many thanks for your comment about our hotel. We are delighted to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern.

We know, that the location of the hotel is a big plus, but, every once in a while, we also have to deal with unlikely situations. We deeply regret that you had to experience such a situation during your stay. Unfortunately, we are not able avoid such situations to 100%, but we are trying to do our best.

We would be very happy to be welcoming you again at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern! In case you need more information or have any wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales@schweizerhof-bern.ch.

With our best regards,

Your Schweizerhof Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed in a junior suite. we did not want for anything the staff was friendly and all spoke English very well. The hotel was just updated and everything is clean new and electronically up to date. We will come back. This hotel is conveniently located across the street from the main train station. Convenient to everything. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Verkaufsleiter at Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Dear MLUSA,

many thanks for your comment about our hotel. As a matter of fact, the hotel opened on April 16 and celebrated its reopening on June 24 with a big party.

We would be very happy to be welcoming you again at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern! In case you need more information or have any wishes, please do not hesitate to contact us at sales@schweizerhof-bern.ch.

With our best regards,

Your Schweizerhof Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa

Address: Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $375 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing