We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little cafe”

Einstein Kaffee & Rauchsalon
Ranked #1 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice little cozy cafe. It's attached to Einstein's Berlin Home which is currently closed due to water damage. The food at the restaurant was excellent and so was the service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    62
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice for a quick coffee and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped in here for a quick coffee and cake while we were exploring the streets. The coffee was cone perfectly and there Berry slice and apple tart were of the best quality. It is just a shame that the Einstein Huas was not open.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WackyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“perfect surounding to chat with friends or study”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

accordingly to the slogan "relatively the best", the staff is very caring and the athmosphere modern and sophisticated, but still very warm and cozy!a good place to chat with friends,enjoy a great lunch when getting hungry..or instead enjoy a tasty 'amaretto sour' with fresh orange juice! today i studied on the kramgasse side of the coffee,where the tables are situated in a row. because of the relaxing atmosphere i had a great concentration even while the daily business was going on and people sat down for lunch.loved it.

    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piajoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawai, Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An extraordinary insider tip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

My girlfriend and i visited the Einstein early this year in February when we went to our winter romantic Switzerland trip coming from the heat of Thailand. By accident we then bumped into the Einstein... Comparable to the charm of the rest of Bern, this beautiful little coffee impressed us with its warm and chilling atmosphere! Back that time i was still smoking so it came in very handy that they have a separate smoking attic. On the way up there we then spotted the house dwarf who friendly welcomed us with the finger which shall not be named here. Very cute little asset i have to say!
Having that feeling like sitting in front of a fireplace, in a romantic Swiss chalet on the top of a mountain when it snows outside of the window, we sat there and enjoyed the house coffee (ok, to be honest, only my gf had a coffee, i had a cold beer, but the house coffee sounds more suitable to this time of the year;-) Anyhow, it was just a fantastic atmosphere in this attic that we didn't want to leave. Very memorable!

Tip: Try the snacks they offer! Very delicious!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaKrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Coffee, Good Service, and Interesting Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I were going to go to the museum of Einstein's home, but when we arrived, we found that it was being renovated after a flood. We noticed the cafe, and decided to stop for coffee. The drinks were very good, the service was good, and it wasn't very expensive compared to other coffee shops in Switzerland. The atmosphere was very cozy and chic. It was also cute that the saucers and such were printed with the slogan "relatively the best." Very funny!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Einstein Kaffee & Rauchsalon also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Einstein Kaffee & Rauchsalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing