We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Continental Bern
Nearby Hotels
$593
$405
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City(Bern)(Great Value!)
$172
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$180
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$445
$387
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside(Bern)(Great Value!)
$135
$109
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
$92
ibis Budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$191
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveler rating
10
30
41
26
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
30
41
26
21
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 128 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Switzerland is a very expensive place as we all know, thus a hotel in the centre of Bern for 110 CHF is fair enough. It was scrupulously clean, of course, smallish single room, a small shower towel as well. Did not try the TV, but very few stations. The only complaint is that it is BYOB meaning bring your own BREAD . Never seen in this country before, honestly. How much of a saving can it be? A very foolish idea, leaves a bad taste in one's mouth. So if you go, stop off at a migros the day before

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The location of this hotel is wonderful! Right in the heart of the old town! In my experience, Continental is a fairly basic accommodation, no frills, clean rooms, comfortable beds, no breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff were happy to lend us an iron and ironing board as well as a swiss electrical adapter. There is Wi Fi available at a surcharge. Overall, a pleasant experience, no highs no lows -- satisfied customers here.

Room Tip: If you forgot a swiss electrical adapter, ask at the front desk.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent location, but not good value for your money. Make sure to arrive before 7pm at night, otherwise there will be no one to help you... We stayed in a coner room, which was twice the size of the room our friends stayed in just next to us... Very old hotel, but at least the rooms were clean. The WiFi was not free. We only stayed in this hotel, because it was the cheapest at the time, so I would only recommend this hotel if you are not going to spend alot of time at the hotel. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, and by the looks of the restaurant, we prefered to have breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are twice the size of the normal rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanParys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very good location; in the centre of Bern but didn't find it at all noisy.
The room itself was quite big, but the corridor going from the hotel door into the bedroom was so narrow it was difficult to walk through! The shower was powerful but the cubicle was quite small, as was the bathroom.
The best thing about the hotel was the amazing staff. They were all friendly and helpful and one member of staff bent over backwards to print off some train tickets for us.
All in all, we did purposely stay in a budget hotel to save money, so for the money we paid it was good value and a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed one night. Convenient location in the centre of old town. But we were travelling by car and there is no parking available in the centre so we had to pay for the underground car park, it was 40 Swiss Francs overnight and we also parked briefly during the day so another 10 francs, so I think an hotel with parking on the outskirts of Bern would have been better. The hotel is basic, clean, the bathrooms are a bit tired, our bath had a patched hole in it, and old pipework sticking out of the wall in the toilet area. Our room was at the back of the hotel, no street noise, but the nearby bells rang through the night, heard them at 2am and 3am. Reception closes at 10pm, you have to ring the bell after that - we did not go out very late, so got in before the curfew. But it is cheaper than other central hotels, but everything costs in Switzerland so although it is cheaper no change from £200 for two basic rooms plus car park for one night - scary

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tryavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews