We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Combination of Modern Jazz and Traditional Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Unique Hotel Innere Enge
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Hotel Innere Enge is located just outside Bern's city centre (about 15 minutes walk) near the top of a hill with incredible views of the mountains to the south. I found the hotel itself to be friendly and comfortable although the air conditioning would seem to require upgrading. The rooms themselves are very large and comfortable and, although the hotel is on a main bus route, traffic volumes and noise are pleasantly low. The breakfast buffet is lavish and dinners, although somewhat expensive, are very well prepared and served. An unusual addition is the hotel management's enthusiasm for jazz, shown both by frequent live performances by world class musicians and replacement of the normal muzak with piped in broadcasts from a local jazz radio station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 202 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is surprisingly charming and magical!
I don't like old hotels, or themed hotels normally, but I made an exception with this one! My husband pre booked this hotel due to its Jazz background, and good restaurant; I was very mad at him in the beginning because its outside of the city center, and it's old! Furthermore i had internet priblems in the first room we were offered and that is when i had my breaking point. thanks to the proffessional and friendly manager- my problem was solved and my stay there was simply excellent. staff are very friendly, especially girl with the long hair in reception. it's clean, lovely, classic, and a lovely walk into town. The rooms are beautiful, and even though I'm not a jazz fan, this hotel is full of inspiration. Restaurant is very nice, but there is room for improvement with the breakfast. Other than that, simply perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Jazz themed hotel with a jazz cellar and involvement in the Bern Jazz festival around April/May.
Large comfortable rooms all named after some Jazz great, with interesting art and sculptures similarly themed throughout the hotel. Hotel sits above the city within a pleasant garden environment an easy walk or drive to town centre. Easy parking available.
Restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Staff helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in a hotel that for me is ideally located. So quiet and with fantastic views all around. Open aspects around the hotel. Comfortable quirky rooms all with nice views, lovely bathroom. Didn't eat in hotel but noted that it has a Michelin rating.
Most importantly - very helpful staff. Nothing phased them - particular thanks to Doris - who consistently went the extra mile to provide information and advice.
Sampled some of the live Jazz concerts in the hotel / real bonus even though Jazz is not my thing.
Walk to city centre in 10 mins (downhill) maybe 12 or 13 mins back. Regularly, very efficient bus service with bus stop right outside the hotel.
Some superb walking right from the front door of the hotel.
Essentially a lovely hotel - if you're in Berne give them a go I don't think you'll be disappointment.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bitofatit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had managed to get a promotion price of 2 nights for 3 nights by booking through Bern's tourism website. It was really value for money considering the expesnive hotels in Switzerland.

Besides the spacious room space, we were treated to complimentary fruits and water, and there was even a coffee machine in our room for making our own coffee! The room was also nicely decorated with posters of jazz legends. there is also a nice bathroom with hairdryer provided.

We enjoyed the daily breakfast. It has a wide selection of cereals, bread, yogurt, ham, etc. There is also a simple machine for boiling eggs. Lastly, the staff were very friendly and advised us on which places to visit. The weather during our stay was not exactly very good, so it was important to have these first-hand tips.

Overall, the stay in Innere Enge was enjoyable :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liu_Zhiqiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Jazz themed small hotel has a lot to offer but some important misses as well. The downtown hotels seemed extremely expensive, plus we had a car so we were extremely pleased to find this hotel with free and easy parking, which was still over $400 Canadian a night and breakfast was extra, $25 per person. The hotel is right on the main road into town and is just a 5-10 minute bus ride from the center of the city. Buses run every few minutes and we found it extremely easy to get in and out. The hotel is surrouned by large park like grounds high on a hill with a lovely view back towards Bern. There is an outdoor cafe (1 complimentary drink), a sweet mini-golf course (1 complimentary game) and a charming old fashioned ice cream parlour. I had hoped to do dinner and a jazz concert one night at the hotel, but unfortunately the jazz club was scheduled to reopen after the summer closing the night after we left (Sept. 10). We had one dinner there anyway which we really enjoyed. Very lucky with the weather and we were able to sit outside which was very romantic. We stayed in the junior suite overlooking the back, so very quiet. The room was a bit tired, carpet could use replacing, but the room was spacious and bright, with a fridge and coffee maker (if I recall, espresso was an option). Good closet space with an old fashioned pants press, (not sure if it works as we always take a travel steamer). Lots of jazz memorabilia and jazz music available in the room. Lighting was pretty good. The bathroom had a skylight which made it nice and bright, but no exhaust fan and the towels were surprisingly thin - may want to ask for extra. Also no removable hangars or a hair dryer and not a full assortment of toiletries. Had a travel hair dryer so not sure if they could supply one. Air conditioning worked well. No wi-fi period! They said we could try in the lobby but were never able to connect. Had to spend some time at Starbucks in the historic center to catch up on important e-mails, etc. The breakfast room is a lovely semi-circular room and the cold buffet was very nice with the usual assortment of pastries, fruit, cheese, meat, yogurt and very good coffee. We were only here 2 nights and went to Eisblume restaurant about 20 minutes away (see my review). A bit of a trek, but a unique outstanding restaurant - a trip highlight. Also enjoyed a lovely brunch at the Rosengarten restaurant. It's a serious hike up a very steep hill, but quite manageable and the view is gorgeous and the outdoor terrace was lovely with a an excellent assortment of lunch items.

Room Tip: The junior suite was our top choice for space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Located on a hill overlooking Bern (just 5 minutes away by car), this 4 star hotel has a welcoming staff, offering cosy rooms, off road parking and we benefitted from an upgrade to room 6, a junior suite with view of the large garden. In Summer the garden must be idyllic under the trees with outside bars. The hotel organizes jazz festivals in its cellar as well as wine tasting around this time of the year. The restaurant has a 12/20 rating on the Gault Millaud guide.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 6, quiet, overlooking the garden, with a sitting area and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
1.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
549 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Innere Enge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Innere Enge

Address: Engestrasse 54, Bern 3012, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $210 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Hotel Innere Enge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unique Hotel Innere Enge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innere Enge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing