We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very cosy boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Unique Hotel Innere Enge
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We were visiting Bern to see relatives who were the ones who selected the hotel for us, such a welcome change to staying in the large, major hotels.


The hotel is located on the outskirts of Bern in a tranquil setting with panoramic views across to the city rooftops, magnificent at the time because they were all snow-capped.

The hotel itself exudes cosiness and charm without overdoing it. At every point of contact the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful right through check-in to check-out. Being a small hotel it is very easy to navigate your way around and free parking out the front is plentiful. It is a hotel where you can truly relax, just feeling your shoulders drop a little as you de-stress. Other guests in the hotel appear to be sharing the ambience the same way, be they chatting over a coffee in the lounge, enjoying a drink at the bar or dining.

The public areas of the hotel have that ”home-away-from-home” or “club” feeling. The spacious, large glass windowed dining area offers a tireless view across to the city making it a very pleasant venue to enjoy the buffet breakfast – continental breakfast included but cooked additions are an extra charge.

Our room was Junior Suite #22, dedicated to Louis Armstrong, tastefully appointed and spacious enough for us with a pleasant view to the garden. The bathroom was fresh and bright, with a shower over the bath. Towels were plush and fluffy and the amenities were fine.
The bed was very comfortable and the high ceilings give that extra dimension of space.

The in-room coffee machine was a nice touch.

The hotel is a noted venue for Jazz performances in the basement club and the hotel rooms are decorated with memorabilia for artists who have stayed and played there.

Good boutique hotels such as this are around if you know where to look for them. We are fortunate to have found this one, have no hesitation in recommending it to like-minded travellers and we look forward to staying there again when we are next in Bern.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_Downunder700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Unique Hotel Innere Enge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 198 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Not having stayed in the hotel i cannot comment. But when we visit my daughter ,who lives near by, we like to eat in the restaurant and, if in season, listen to some jazz in the venue downstairs.
The food is great and service good with some fantastic views from the Bistro (depends on the time of year of course).We would certainly recommend the restaurant and, as other reviewers have said, this is a really nice quiet area of Bern a nice walking distance to the city centre or a quick bus ride if you prefer, Being of a " certain age " it would take me about 15 - 20 minutes to walk to town

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank brunnermutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Innere Enge for four nights. We had one junior suite and a double bedroom. The hotel was very quiet, comfortable and convenient. We particularly liked the peacefulness of the parkland location with a view down to the River Aare. The rooms were high ceilinged and reasonably spacious. The bathroom was clean and spacious. They were a bit mean with the supply of toiletries (especially the tiny soap tablets) and the shampoo/conditioner and so on were difficult to open.

We had not travelled in Switzerland before and were taken aback by the expense of everything. That said, the hotel seems reasonable value for money in Bern and Basel.

The things we liked were the helpfulness and charm of the reception and dining room staff. The chambermaids dealt with any problems immediately and were most helpful. We were offered free wifi for our stay - a big plus for us. The bus stop immediately outside the hotel was another plus.

We had one lunch in the hotel but didn't eat there again as we considered the lunch very poor. Two of us had lake perch - leaf sized fillets of thin grey fish in gluey batter with a crisp outside. Not recommended. Breakfasts were unremarkable and okay.

The jazz theme was irrelevant for us but could be a plus for fans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite overlooking the garden and the river Aare called John Lewis and we very...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is a super boutique hotel with a very special Jazz Entertainment Bar.
The hotel rooms are in many cases dedicated to the greats in Jatt, and full of memorabilia. A very different, and very special decor. The staff are very efficient and friendly.
Enjoy the closeness to the city centre, (there is a bus), and the fact that you can park the car.
Breakfast in the restaurant with a view of the city is a feast too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

I stayed here for two nights on business...Up to now I had stayed in the centre.
This place was a surpise....very large room...with work table, sitting area and a big bed.
The bathroom was also very large with a separate bath and shower.
The room was adorned with pictures of jamal ahmad(who after a wiki search I discovered is big in the jazz world)...
As I've found previously in Bern the bed was very soft and the pillow softer...didn't ruin my sleep though
I found the food in the restaurant to be very good, friendly staff too but if you are a veggie your options are very much limited. There is a very nice terrace out back which overlooks part of the city(and a train line unfortunately)
The place itself is in a very quiet location and about 10 mins walk from the main train station...
The only problems I had were a) no free wi-fi(which seems to be very common in Bern) and b) no iron in the room....I needed a shirt ironed so they got the chambermaid to iron it for me.....she did a good job but I would have preferred to do it myself.
Would recommend it for both business and tourist types

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I stayed with my husband at the Innere Enge because we wanted to have a quiet weekend and still experience some city life. Although the hotel is in a nice and peaceful area of Bern, about 15 minutes walk from the picturesque old town, we were rather disappointed. I don't think I'd rate it as a 4star since reception staff, the rooms and the whole ambiente of the house is really not very sophisticated. However, the price for our weekend package was far too high for what we got. The view from the garden restaurant is beautiful, the garden itself is not kept beautifully. Everything looks as if it needed some serious work to be done.The Bistro where breakfast was served is nice and the breakfast was good. We won't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rothenthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

What a great find. Thanks Trip Advisor. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. This Hotel has it all, nice ambience, beautiful large quiet room, is well located, regular public transport outside the front door and only approx 10 minutes from the city centre.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the receptionist on arrival was able to give us a good seat in that evenings jazz performance.

We had a good large size room with a very comfortable bed, nice interior decor and a modern bathroom with a good shower.

The room was very quiet and the jazz performances didn't disturb us at all.

Breakfast was good with plenty of food. The dining area had a good view overlooking the city.

The only gripe I have with the hotel is that the soap, shampoo, tea and coffee bags etc were never replaced when the room was cleaned but had to be requested when we returned to the hotel in the evenings. However reception always had the items replaced promply when requested.

But other than this, it is a great hotel and I would definitely stay again and recommend others to stay at the hotel.

Thank you Innere Enge for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
1.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
833 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unique Hotel Innere Enge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Innere Enge

Address: Engestrasse 54, Bern 3012, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $214 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Unique Hotel Innere Enge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unique Hotel Innere Enge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innere Enge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing