We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for visiting all the sites of Bern.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had 2 single rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors facing the street. Modest but very clean, modern and functional. Ideal for 1-2 nights. The location in the Old town was perfect for Bern sightseeing. Everything seemed to be well within a comfortable 10 minute walk. Breakfast was typical Swiss with bread, preserve, cheese etc. As it was hot we slept with the windows open and there was noise at a bar opposite until around midnight and very early noise from street cleaning and nearby building works. This didnt trouble us and with the window closed would be eliminated.
I would stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 310 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We requested, and were given, a room facing the courtyard so it would be quieter. We were on the top floor, in the corner. The room was quite big but a weird layout – lots of open space in front of the doorway & bathroom but the bed was in the corner where the ceiling slanted and got really low! At 5’4” I was basically crawling to get to my side of the bed! As others have mentioned, the bathroom was in the middle of room, with a sliding glass door (solid coloured) that didn’t really bother us but could still freak some people out. The staff was nice, check in was easy and they held our bags the whole next day for us (after we checked out) while we went to the museum. Breakfast was mediocre but free so we filled up on bread & jam. There is a vending machine which is convenient but very expensive. This hotel is in a good location, right near the main streets with all the shopping, about a 15 minute walk from the haupbahnhof (there’s a Coop store on the way, if you want to get cheaper snacks or need any amenities). We found no cheap restaurants nearby – even the McDonalds was $25 for 2 meals. But that’s indicative of the whole area – this was the most expensive hotel we stayed in during our 11 night trip (5 different hotels).

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms will be quieter than those facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1SunLovingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

In the Berne's Old Town, this is the oldest hotel on the picturesque Rathausgasse. Colorful painted pictures on the outside walls
add a certain ambiance to this old hotel. Our room was located on the peaceful courtyard side and that made all the difference in the quality of
our sleep. It was of average size room with basic furnishings and a queen size bed, a bit too hard for me. The bathroom was very small just barely adequate. A very good breakfast was included. Excellent staff. Paid public parking nearby.

Room Tip: Get the room on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved Bern and Hotel Goldener Schlussel made our stay there even better. We had a small room but it was very comfortable and clean. My husband was completely fascinated with the bath portion of the room....the entire room looked like something from an Ikea store where they try to show how you can put limited living space together and the bath was a one piece cubicle. It certainly worked for the size of the room, but it was a little off-putting for me. Otherwise we loved our stay there. Everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was perfect, and we also ate dinner in the restaurant that was outstanding. The staff was always helpful, no issues at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trempy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

hotel goldener schlussel has an unbeatable location! it's located right in the middle of the old town.....its within walking distance of everything! we loved how we could walk everywhere, and when we got tired, we were able to just skip back to the hotel for a quick recharge before heading out again.

the hotel restaurant was really good. we told the staff that we had to catch a train in an hour's time, and they were super accommodating with our rushed order. we really enjoyed the veal rosti as well as the osso bucco, which was a special of the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryforrice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Friendly staff helped to make this a pleasant stay. The rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiet and spacious. However, the en suite toilet, basin and shower 'cublicle' had limited space.
The position of the hotel in the heart of the historic centre makes it ideal for sightseeing in the old town, yet it is also close to the more modern area with its street markets, shops and restaurants as well as being within walking distance of the main station and the museum quarter.
The buffet breakfast had a good selection of rolls, bread, jams, cold meats, cheese and a big variety of teas.
We also had a very good dinner on our first evening sampling the local specialities.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I was sent to Bern for a number of months from my work in London and tried in total 6 different hotels. Some in town others out a bit. This hotel offers a warm friendly atmosphere with the staff all being very warm and helpful. The location is perfect for those wanting to see Bern located in the old part of the town.
The rooms are competitively priced and as long as you request an inner court yard or rear facing room there will not be any noise from the town.
I have spent weeks there in late summer and all through autumn and christmas, It is the perfect place to vist the Bern Christmas Market and the Restaurant is busy and the food great. I have since taken my wife there twice as well and we will go back in the future. The facilities are just enough for a business traveller or for couples. Dont be put off by the hotel star rating the other hotels I stayed in with higher stars in Bern did not deliver the experience and friendliness of the Golden Schlussel.
If you dont stay there visit their Restaurant the meat dishes are great and big portions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#21 of 30 in Bern
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Schlussel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Schlussel

Address: Rathausgasse 72, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $165 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Schlussel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 34 modern, charming and comfortable rooms are tastefully decorated. The hotel is located in the pedestrian quarter and has very quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard. All rooms have shower, WC, radio, direct dialling telephone, TV with flat screen, public wireless LAN, safe and hairdryer. There is an internet corner for your convenience at the reception. Open 364 days a year, our restaurant is an inviting and typical old town building with excellent Swiss Cuisine. Try one of our classic specialities such as Maiskroketten, Salade folle, Wiener Schnitzel, Suure Mocke or Lammmignons. With pride we serve the best Swiss sausages for instance Glarner Kalberwurst, Tessiner Luganighetta, Berner Zungenwurst or Boutefas from Payerne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Goldener Schlussel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Schlussel Hotel
Goldener Schlussel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing