We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service and friendliness.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed February 10, 2013

For the second time I find myself staying at the Goldener Schüssel. It is located right in the center of the old town, has a staf friendly and efficient, the room is comfortable and the breakfast generous. The price is right.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MariaMalaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Goldener Schlussel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 300 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

in the very heart of the historical Bern - within the pedestrian area, just fantastic - I spent 1 night at this hotel, very clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful - Parking nearby, 5 mins walking distance - covered and private.

I strongly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: I suggest rooms facing the inside, as room facing the pittoresque street might be noisy at night bec...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripLuca78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed a night at the hotel and couldn't have been a more relaxing stay. The staff were amazingly helpful - I accidentally left my ID card at one of the museums and had no time to collect it as I had to catch a flight. The hotel staff were so helpful to call up, obtained my ID and posted my ID back to Australia. They really went out of their way to help me. Other than that, the room was modern, clean and comfortable. Superb location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Conveniently located in Bern's old town, Goldener Schlüssel offers clean, modern rooms. You can book a quiet room which does not face the street which cam be noisy on weekends. They also have a decent restaurant. Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GloballySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay at the Goldener Schlussel after reading numerous reviews on different websites and in a few travel books. In general, the reveiws were quite positive, but after staying at this hotel, I will attest that they were all more than a little incomplete.

On the good side, this hotel is well kept, well located, and the staff are friendly and helpful. One could do much worse than to spend a few nights at the Goldener Schlussel

One of the joys in staying at older boutique hotels in Europe is finding charm in the individual quirkiness of the establishments. Unfortunately, some of the quirks at this hotel can lose their charm very quickly.

We splurged and took the junior suite on the top floor with a little balcony overlooking rooftops in the old town. In nice weather, this might have made the extra room charge worthwhile. Unfortunately, we arrived in the midst of an unseasonal cold snap, and the wet, chilly weather kept us from using the balcony much. So we paid an extra charge for a suite that was decidedly unsuite like. As the room is situated in what might have been the attic when the building went up 5 centuries ago, the ceiling follows the roof line. Half of the suite (room 459) has a ceiling height that would be dangerous for anyone over 5'8'' in height. The beds are serviceable, but rather hard and a bit small for anyone of greater than average bulk.

The bathroom shared a few odd features with other Swiss hotels we have stayed at. The most peculiar thing is that the bathrooms seemed to have been based on designs by Ikea. This would be fine if the Ikea designs in question were bathrooms, instead of childrens' playrooms. Simply: I do not much care for bathrooms where translucent walls and doors mean the person using the bathroom is shown in silhouette to anyone else in the room.

Most European hotels I have stayed in include free internet and breakfast, and the Goldener Schussel included these as well. When I was 23, and staying in hostels, breakfasts of toast and coffee were welcome and more than sufficient. I am now well into middle age, and when I pay above average room prices, I expect above average amenities. The breakfast buffet at the Goldener Schlussel is not bad, but it suffers in comparison to what is provided by other Swiss hotels in the same price range. Bread, cheese, cold cuts, boiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt and cold cereal were all included. This is good, but lacking in comparison to hotels in a similar range.

The hotel is well located for walking about Bern. It is about 600 meters from the main train station and the walk is mostly flat.

On the whole, this is a good place to stay, but it is overpriced for what is provided. Given the small rooms, this is definitely NOT an hotel for a family vacation.

Room Tip: If you are over 5'8'' in height, avoid the top floors.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had one night to spend in Bern, and wanted to be close to everything. The location could not be beat. It was a very hot week, and I was worried about not having AC. However, at night, with the window open, it was very comfortable. I did have to fiddle with curtains and shutters for privacy, but it was fine. Tiny room, but very efficient use of space. Overall, a great place to stay to be right in the center of historic Bern. This is one of my favorite cities in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel is in a great position close to all the inner city shops.and attractions. Rooms are typically Swiss - compact but everything works, my only critiicism is that the bathrooms are a little too small, other than that, this would be a good chioice if you want a cental hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecanveyislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Schlussel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Schlussel

Address: Rathausgasse 72, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $183 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Schlussel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 34 modern, charming and comfortable rooms are tastefully decorated. The hotel is located in the pedestrian quarter and has very quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard. All rooms have shower, WC, radio, direct dialling telephone, TV with flat screen, public wireless LAN, safe and hairdryer. There is an internet corner for your convenience at the reception. Open 364 days a year, our restaurant is an inviting and typical old town building with excellent Swiss Cuisine. Try one of our classic specialities such as Maiskroketten, Salade folle, Wiener Schnitzel, Suure Mocke or Lammmignons. With pride we serve the best Swiss sausages for instance Glarner Kalberwurst, Tessiner Luganighetta, Berner Zungenwurst or Boutefas from Payerne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Goldener Schlussel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Schlussel Hotel
Goldener Schlussel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing