We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good Location and Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed in room 305 which had a small balcony overlooking the rooftops of adjacent Bern residences. I kind of liked the view except that when we checked in to the room there were 3 dead birds on a flat roof under the balcony. I noticed the hotel staff removed them before we had a chance to mention it to the reception desk. The room itself was small but had modern designed furniture with good lighting and a comfortable chair for reading. If it had been warm we might have had problems with staying cool, but the weather cooperated with us and the lack of air conditioning was not a problem. We slept with the windows open and didn't have any problems with noise from the city. The bathroom was fine and had a tub.
The hotel's location is perfect for visiting all the sights in Bern and convenient to the train station. It was about a 10 min. walk even pulling our luggage. We could have taken the tram to the clock tower and then it would have been only a 2 min walk along the Kornhausplatz ( a large popular square). Bern is a wonderful walking town, but we did take the tram back from the Bear Pits to the clock tower and our hotel.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choices and included in our room rate. There was a 10 % off coupon for dinner in their adjacent restaurant that was given us when we checked in. We ate there one night and the food was very good. Internet was free and available in the lobby. We ate at a nearby restaurant on our second night - the Ristorante Luce. It was excellent and we had free entertainment on the Barenplatz square during dinner.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloriaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    218
    111
    18
    9
See reviews for
69
120
36
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

Older building but with very modern furnishings. Unusual hotel in that it had TWO elevators and each would hold more than 2 people. If you've stayed in European hotels, you know that the one elevator usually holds 2 people and 2 bags (if the bags are stacked one on top of the other).

The room was good, the furnishings modern. The location was excellent...one block from the old city, covered shopping areas, lots of restaurants (NOTE most stores and many restaurants are closed on Sunday).

Wired internet in the room for a fee

  • Liked — Proximity to old city
  • Disliked — Internet access poor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MBAX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon France
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2008

Really nice hotel in the old town of bern, our room was on the last floor with a view in the street. With the window open the temperature was nice. beautiful room with all you need.

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — Car parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tsavouya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

I stayed here on business in February 2007. My room was on the top floor (5th I think) and had a nice view onto the street below.

The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower in the bathroom was fantastic - wonderful stream of constant hot water. I had a TV and tea making facilities. Yes the rooms were brightly coloured - but I quite liked it. It was a bit more stylish than IKEA!

Breakfast was good - yes basic, but with a buffet of breads, croissants, hams, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts and juices - what more do you want? I was more that satisfied. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We also had lunch and dinner at the hotel (privately catered for, not the restaurant) and the food was beautiful! Conference facilities were very good.

I would definitely recommend it, although I understand it is on the pricey side.

  • Liked — Clean, cosy, functional rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Tabitha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights in June, 2006. Would not recommend this hotel unless you want to reexperience dorm life. Very noisy, and no way to get any air movement in your room (no ceiling fan or portable fan available). Our room window opened onto a tiny courtyard, and we could hear every TV and conversation occurring in all the courtyard facing rooms. it was clean, however, but very basic, and again, quite loud, particularly at 1 am in the morning. Will not stay there again.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samia1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

This is a fantastic hotel located extremely closely to the Aldstadt and Zytglogge of Bern. You can get to this hotel via tram or after about a ten minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof.

The decor is quite interesting - very colourful and quirky! We arrived at around 10 in the morning, and were immediately allocated a room (very freshly cleaned).

The room was a good size, the bathroom was also of average size. The location of the hotel is brilliant, as it is very close to all the sights of Bern. There are several restaurants and coffee shops within a short walk.

Fruit baskets are provided by the lift on every floor - a great idea.

The breakfast was quite good - a good range of food and replenished frequently.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Tips/Secrets — If you buy the Bern card, make sure you use it on the Gatenbahn train
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travellingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotelbern

Property: Best Western Hotelbern
Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing