We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (570)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveler rating
109
261
141
30
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
109
261
141
30
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town train station central location bern hotel would definitely stay here again nice hotel location is great no air conditioning yogurt switzerland centre toblerone rooftops kettle supermarket chf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 571 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2015

Good location, not too far from the train station. Room was modern, and everything worked. No air conditioning, but two fans were in the room, and air conditioning was not needed. 18 CHF for buffet breakfast seemed high, so we skipped it.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rlwtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBERN, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2015

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We hope to see you again.
Kind regards from the center of Berne, Claudia Mende

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

--this time my room was not cleaned properly after the first night
--breakfast buffet overprized !
-very bad light in the room ( bring your own lamp ! )
-small room / furniture do not fit the room
-noisy chineese/japanese tourists
knocking o wrongdoors at night/ banging doors

Fast Check in / check out
central location
free public transport

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2015

The hotel was very easy to access old town and placed next to the large supermarket. The room was clean and although there was no air condition in the room, it was not warm in the summer days. I was satisfied with the location of the hotel, where was easy to access the public transportations and shopping.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hjlee297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBERN, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for this great review. We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Bern.

Kind regards
Carla Tichelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2015

I've stayed in this hotel many many times over the last 15 years. The last time days at the end of June. I had a room overlooking the road on the 3rd floor, 329.
I know that the road can be full of revellers late at night at the weekend and this is known and accepted.
This time however they are doing a lot of road works outside and down the road and the workmen have their base set up outside the hotel.Theya re also working on the big hall opposite. At 6am on the dot every morning I was woken up by the sound of workmen doing what they do, revving up, tipping dirt, shouting and so on. I wasn't warned about this by the hotel which I think they should have done. Having the windows closed made no difference.
Absolutely spoiled my sleep to be woken up so early every day. There was absolutely no consideration of the guests.
This totally spoiled my visit to the Bern Hotel and I will seriously consider going back. There was no offer of compensation which is the least the hotel could have done. Awful.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBERN, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

Dear Guest

We thank you for your loyalty to the Hotel Bern during the last 15 years.
We are sorry for your disturbed night. At the moment we have public road works for power and water maintenance going ahead in front the hotel. We have a agreement with them, that they don’t start their work before 8a.m. We are sorry for the noise at 06. a.m.
We can not offer a copensation for nois that we can not influence.

Once again, we are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you anyway at our hotel again.
Kind regards
Carla Tichelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2015

Just one night to see the lovely town of Bern and we stayed here based on Tripadvisor reviews. This hotel was about 10 minutes from the train station and in one of the quieter spots in the charming old town. Next door to Coop and Migros, so easy to grab anything you need.

Nice decor, room was spacious, although the bathroom was tiny, bed was comfy and Wifi was fast. Switzerland is about twice as expensive as Austria, where we had come from, but once we adjusted to the prices it was fine.

Bonus: they gave us a welcome drink which we had on the terrace (which is really the street) along with many of the locals. Lovely.

Room tip: 5th foor had sloping walls - not good for tall people
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELBERN, Verkaufsleiter at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

Dear Guest
Thank you for this great Review. Nice to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in Bern and the HOTELBERN. We hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards
Carla Tichelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews