We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I was on a business trip in Bern and stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The location is great (walking distance from the central station). My room was big enough for a single person, the bed was comfortable and the shower had great water pressure.

The staff was really helpful and friendly and they all spoke English.

I would rate the hotel higher if it wouldn't be for a minus point - the breakfast. Definitely not worth the 18 CHF they ask for it. It is supposed to be a breakfast buffet but the selection was really poor. The cheese cart looked just too sad (in the land of cheese and chocolate!) same thing with the hams and salamis available. The bread was not the best either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy Traveller G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your comment andfor the tip of the breakfast buffet.

Best regards

Reto Zuberbühler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotelbern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 481 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and were charmed by the city and the hotel. It's centrally located in the old city centre, comfortable, nice rooms and the staff is friendly and adequate. When visiting Bern, one can't go wrong with this hotel. To be recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wilhelmus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Dear guest, we are very pleased to hear your good comment! Thank you very much and
we we are looking forward to see you next time @ BEST WESTERN HOTELBERN.

Best regards

Reto Zuberbühler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Location was very good, close to everything in the old town. Building itself is interesting. Serviceminded staff. Everything worked - in-room WiFi, bed, TV, bath room, cleanliness - and the hotel was pretty quiet. However the room and bath room was extremely warm, impacting sleep quality and making baths a sauna-like experience. Also, shower space was small. Did not try the breakfast as it was expensive (went to Einstein Café instead), but found the offerings of the bar to be uninteresting. I would not book again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohlnielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks for your stay and you comment @ BEST WESTERN HOTELBERN.

Best regards

Reto Zuberbühler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed twice in this hotel, one for business and other time for leisure.
The rooms are very small and, when by the street, the isolation is very bad and you can hear people talking in the street.
Another complain is that the breakfast is not aligned with the claimed status of the hotel.
Orange jiuce is chemical and the ham is industrial.
Would only recommend it based upon the location and the restaurant located in the ground floor which is very nice and has good cooking.

Room Tip: Please ask for a room NOT over looking the street
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hehiheho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment and your feedback about the breakfast buffet, we are looking of a good quality of food! Our front desk team is informed about your comment and we are sorry for the disappointment you had and we are looking forward to give better recommendations for our guests, thank you!

best reagrds
Reto Z.
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very central yet quiet location. Perfect for accessing downtown Berne. A good breakfast and friendly bar atmosphere. Rooms a good size and very well cleaned. Bottled water is complimentary and comes in a small fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Timmy_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment good to hear that you were happy with us!

Management
Reto Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and had a good experience. The hotel is in a very good location-- you can easily walk to the train station and to the old city attractions. Our room was quite small but they have made good use of the space and we had enough room for two people to spread out our suitcases. The bed was comfortable-- I enjoyed that they provided two duvets (one for each of us). The shower was small, but hot and had good water pressure. WiFi was free and worked well. We were also very happy that our room was ready, despite our arriving before check-in!

Unfortunately, front desk staff was really unhelpful in terms of providing advice regarding restaurants in the area. We were very disappointed. Also, though in general we were not bothered by noise-- the housekeeping staff was REALLY loud one morning-- we were sleeping at 8:30 am and they were talking very loudly and slamming doors and vacuuming.

Some tips: There is a Coop next store and a Migros down the street. If you drink bottled water, buy it here! This is also a good way to save a few dollars on breakfasts/snacks in this very expensive country. For dinner, try the Italian restaurant, Luce, down the street. Excellent food!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you are a light sleeper!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your comment - we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

management
HOTELBERN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Recently renovated but needs more work. Lots more work. The air conditioning was not working and it was a humid time of year. The bathroom peas poorly ventilated and hence smelt stale. The light bulbs needed changing. The bed was very hard and there was only a heavy doona for covering. Staff were as helpful as possible. Not a good stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Drdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

dear guest, thank you for your comment and the compliments for our staff.
We hope to see you again at the hotelbern, we are looking forward - the renovation of the restaurant was the begining, thank you.

management
HOTELBERN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotelbern

Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $162 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing