We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Very central yet quiet location. Perfect for accessing downtown Berne. A good breakfast and friendly bar atmosphere. Rooms a good size and very well cleaned. Bottled water is complimentary and comes in a small fridge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Timmy_Hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment good to hear that you were happy with us!

Management
Reto Z.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotelbern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 483 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights and had a good experience. The hotel is in a very good location-- you can easily walk to the train station and to the old city attractions. Our room was quite small but they have made good use of the space and we had enough room for two people to spread out our suitcases. The bed was comfortable-- I enjoyed that they provided two duvets (one for each of us). The shower was small, but hot and had good water pressure. WiFi was free and worked well. We were also very happy that our room was ready, despite our arriving before check-in!

Unfortunately, front desk staff was really unhelpful in terms of providing advice regarding restaurants in the area. We were very disappointed. Also, though in general we were not bothered by noise-- the housekeeping staff was REALLY loud one morning-- we were sleeping at 8:30 am and they were talking very loudly and slamming doors and vacuuming.

Some tips: There is a Coop next store and a Migros down the street. If you drink bottled water, buy it here! This is also a good way to save a few dollars on breakfasts/snacks in this very expensive country. For dinner, try the Italian restaurant, Luce, down the street. Excellent food!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room if you are a light sleeper!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CM410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you for your comment - we are looking forward to seeing you soon.

management
HOTELBERN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Recently renovated but needs more work. Lots more work. The air conditioning was not working and it was a humid time of year. The bathroom peas poorly ventilated and hence smelt stale. The light bulbs needed changing. The bed was very hard and there was only a heavy doona for covering. Staff were as helpful as possible. Not a good stay.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Drdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

dear guest, thank you for your comment and the compliments for our staff.
We hope to see you again at the hotelbern, we are looking forward - the renovation of the restaurant was the begining, thank you.

management
HOTELBERN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Can seem a bit hard to find at first. Reasonably close to railway station and other attractions in Bern. Better on the the inside than what the facade shows. Was able to check in an hour earlier. Friendly staff on reception. Room was outstanding. Really bright and colourful with well designed furniture and a reasonable amount of room. Very funky! Appeared light and airy with windows that opened and double curtains. Great bathroom with magnifying mirror and a decent fan in the toilet. 2 chairs and a desk and a good size TV . Refridgerator and decent wardrobe. Safe in room but there was no key. Spare pillows, sewing kit etc. Smoke detector. No aircon and street side was noisy even though we were 4 floors up. Would stay again but a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

thank you for your comment an we hope to see you soon again.

management
HOTELBERN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

A centrally-located hotel, seems old-fahion outside but impressively innovated inside: Modern desing chairs and bathroom equipment and nice amendments (such as the umbrella). At the same time, reasonable rates (compared to most of hotels in Switzerland)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for pleasful comment.

the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Great location, close to main station, close to old town, within walking distance to all the attractions.
Quiet, nice service, all nice and smooth. Helpful reception emloyees.
Close to good food and drinking spots.

Marta

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

we are happy that you like the place...

management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Nice building and friendly staff but I was in a room facing the front and had the worst nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel. It was a hot night an the room had no AC but I couldn't open the window as it was too noisy outside with people laughing and talking until 230 am and then with delivery lorries making early morning deliveries (very loudly) to local shops from 5am onwards. Nice, friendly hotel with clean rooms but its all academic to me if I can't sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel if you want to sleep!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tavy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reto Z, Manager at Best Western Hotelbern, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

thank you for your feedback, we're not happy with the situation you had with the noise, but you can't do anything against - if you are in a center of the city. Hope to see you again @ the HOTELBERN.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotelbern

Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $162 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing