We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTRAL LOCATION IN OLD PART OF BERN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotelbern
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Bern for four nights.
The Hotel was clean and rooms were quite modern.The outlook from the room we had was not very attractive, but being in the heart of town one cannot expet scenic views.
The rooms were NO Smoking however we were woken every night and morning with a strong smell of other guests smoking in ajoining rooms, the corridors also had a strong and offending smell of tobacco, when we complained to front desk we we told there was nothing they can do about it as they cannot stop people smoking, WHY HAVE NO SMOKING ROOMS if that is the case.

The food was ok but very expensive and certainly not worth the money as was the wine, the cheapest bottle being 35sf.
The hotel is used by corporate meetings etc.
for service etc one can not fault the hotel except for the lack of enforcing NO SMOKING rules.
The hotel is 5 to 10 minutes from the train station.
The hotel is situated in the old part and ideal for sightseeing, however i would not stay there again because of the smell of smoking in the rooms and the unattractive road which it is situated.Street looks a bit "run down".

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeightonJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotelbern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 483 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is clean, with a helpful staff, serves a nice included breakfast, and is in a great location in Oldtown near the train station. Beyond that, this hotel is average or below in almost every way. My room did not have airconditioning. The bed was hard with only 1 pillow. The room looked out on a dismal inner courtyard that was very small and full of gravel. There were several bright yellow lights in this courtyard that shone through my plastic, almost transparent curtains until around midnight. If I go back to Bern I will look for a different hotel – I can give up the 4 block walk to the train station for a better room.

Room Tip: Bring your earplugs and an eyeshield - you will need them to get any sleep
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is a great place to stay in the centre of Bern. The rooms are not too fancy, but are clean & comfortable. I especially liked the fact that my room had a mini-fridge which I could fill with whatever I liked. Indeed, the hotel is close to a supermarket, so one could get some stuff from there to put in that fridge! As well, the staff were courteous and helpful.

The one aspect of this spot I didn't like was the room where breakfast was served. It was served in a conference hall which was not that pretty. They should have served it in one of their restaurants, which looked much nicer!

Other than the breakfast set-up, I enjoyed my stay at this establishment, and I highly recommend it to others visiting this website!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arejaysee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed here for busines and found it lacking in many areas. NO FREE WI-FI!!!!!! They had free internet but via a big cable.....mine didn't work. I found the room very basic. No pre pay movies and the desk was bad to sit at. The view was the back of some old buildings....not very nice....to top it off my room was an adjoining room(luckily the door was locked) but i found i could here my neighbour snore....loudly. Great location if you are a tourist but for business give it a miss

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irish_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed here because a work friend had stayed there one night....i was there for 3.
check in was fine but the room was cheesy 70's decor.....
what was worse, the view from the window was the decaying back of buidlings...
NO FREE WI-FI....they had free internet via cable(mine didn't work)
the double bed was two beds pushed together and each had a separate duvet!
all plugs in the room where swiss type(usually there is one EU type)
I asked the front desk if they had a convertor.....yes...for 10 francs...and it was a loan....unreal...i could have bought one for that price...
the breakfast was OK but very basic...
sleeping was interesting...i could hear the guy next door snoring!!!!!!!
the TV had no movie channels and only one english speaking channel(CNN)
so as a business traveller i would not recommend it....as a tourist it is very well located

Room Tip: go somewhere else?
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irish_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel has some of what every business or leisure traveler needs: excellent location near main train station, parliament and the big banks, shops, restaurants, key cultural sites; comfy beds in clean rooms with a bit of sitting space; excellent buffet breakfast to get your day started right; business meeting space and a bar/restaurant for non-business; friendly, welcoming staff. Bonus points for a small empty refrigerator, hot water kettle and more in the guestroom closet. An altogether cool place, as long as you expect that rooms will be on the small side. (So much to do and see in Bern, who cares?!) The main negative: many rooms like mine have just one window that faces inward toward three or four other rooms' one windows, so there's not a lot of natural light and you may need to take care in closing your curtain and/or window for privacy (see my photos).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelinNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. Location is good, within walking distance of the train station and with a tram stop 2 minutes away. The rooms are comfortable and modern with furniture in bright colours, including some cool designer chairs. However, my room was very small, and, perhaps given the fact that the window faced a small closed courtyard, it felt almost a bit claustrophobic. Bed was comfortable. The hotel was very clean throughout. Breakfast was also good, and they were quick to take your coffee order. There is no gym. Overall I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotelbern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotelbern

Address: Zeughausgasse 9, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Bern Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $161 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotelbern 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotelbern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing