We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, good position friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel in early January 2013. We had 3 nights there, but used it as a base to see surrounding sites - so we didn't stay in the hotel much or use all of its amenities. However we had one very delicious and well served dinner and the breakfasts are really good too.

All the staff are very welcoming and helpful, which really makes a difference. As we left to catch our train we were given bottles of water - little things help.

The rooms are good - very nicely laid out and large. Small improvement would have been tea and coffee facilities in the room.

Had a few drinks and snacks in the bar, which was also good. Nice atmosphere - seemed mostly businessmen.

The hotel is an easy walk to the station and convenient for the old town and the main shops.

Room Tip: We did not take a river view and I imagine that would be really pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBWhiteRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 932 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel is unique. It offers the discretion and elegance of a class hotel, while you feel welcome like home. For my bsines stay, the infrastructure was perect. The staff met all my needs. I was perfectly able to recover from the day. The food was sensational and the extra calorie you can get rid of at the Topfloor Fitness (with Sana).
Everything is great clean and modern. I will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Look for a room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di Bianco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is one of the best hotels we have ever visited and we are always happy to return. It is not only the beautifull building with really spacious room, it is not the excellent view on the river. It would be without al theexcellent staff just empty building without any soul. Thank you.
Ladislav & Maja

Room Tip: Room with the view to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladislav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Not much needs to be told about this hotel, it is luxurious and the only reason I cant give it 5 stars is because if I look at it in a michelin star way the room was a bit warm ( and I think there isnt a spa....) Ha! You see, if that is the worst you can say from a hotel it is a stunner. Excellent location, great view and very friendly staff also to the kids who were given a gift. Prima!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acl2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Another terrific hotel. Gorgeous lobby...gorgeous huge hallways...gorgeous room with a balcony overlooking the Arne River....steps from the old city and the famous clock tower...huge bathroom with separate room for toilet and a third sink. And the MOST IMPRESSIVE STAFF! Zoe and Catherine...and the entire staff ...everyone not only knew our name...but that we were having a little stomach bug...so they constantly inquired as to our well being...and when you asked for tea, it was there in the room in literally one minute! The bar tender remembered how I liked my drink servers. e were only there 2 nights, so that all was amazing. Incredible attention to detail, and assistance on the smallest details. Help telling us what track our train to Lucerne would be leaving from...anticipating needs before we could think of them. Great service! Great Hotel. Worth every penny! Wow! also a terrific gym. EXCELLENT experience! Beautiful breakfast buffet...and they even provide a special little bench next to you for your purse, so it does not have to sit on the floor. Lovely people, gorgeous flowers in the hotel! Good food!

Room Tip: Room with a king bed and a balcony on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

One of the best hotels I 've ever visited in Europe.Very well located in the center of Bern overlooking the river ,clean,large rooms,politeness and real hospitality (we Greeks know the exact meaning of hospitality from ancient years) at luxurious environment.The room was fairly large,very well equipped,quiet and very clean while the bathroom was ideally equipped.Walking distance to all amenities in the city and nice paths to walk over the river.The price was almost double than in any equivelant hotels around the Alps,but don't forget you are in Switzerland!
I will definitely go there again soon!

Room Tip: If you enjoy having a nice view from your room it is worthy to have a riverside room .I was also inf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leostro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a lovely hotel on the River Aare in the heart of Bern. The staff were efficient, helpful and multi-lingual. We upgraded to a junior suite which was very spacious with stunning views of the Eiger and Jungfraujoch. However,this hotel is extremely expensive and I cannot justify the reason for this. My biggest negative is that the shower has a hand held shower. At 700SF a night I would think they could upgrade to a fixed shower head. There are no ice buckets - if we wanted ice it came in a bowl. There is no clock radio on the nightstand - it is on the TV but I don't want to look for a remote in the dark. Also thought the decor, again at these prices, was a little tired and could use some spiffing up. We stayed at other hotels on this trip that cost significantly less and the rooms were much nicer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MariaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BELLEVUE PALACE Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLEVUE PALACE Bern

Address: Kochergasse 3 - 5, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Bellevue Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bern
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#2 Family Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $346 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BELLEVUE PALACE Bern 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel of the Swiss government with a history extending back 150 years - The BELLEVUE PALACE is the only grand hotel in the heart of the capital. The magnificent salons, the grandiose vista of the Bernese Alps and the warm hospitality make this luxury hotel so unique. It has always been a meeting place for politicians and diplomats, it featured in John le Carre's spy novels, and it is also a casual meeting place for the whole of Berne. La BELLE VIE au BELLEVUE PALACE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BELLEVUE PALACE Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Palace Bern Hotel Bern
Bellevue Palace Hotel Bern
Bern Bellevue Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing