We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a wonderful hotel with gorgeous public rooms and wonderful guestrooms. It was a beautiful room (no view), wonderful bathroom. Two things I have to agree with a previous writer on is the lack of free wifi -- a per minute charge in these days -- and the teeny-tiny tv. They even had an elaborate system with tv channels from all over the world. However, it was really tedious and grueling to use, and the old tube-tv was hard to see. It is unfortunate and frustrating since there were so many channels available. We spent three weeks in Europe, and this was the only hotel without a flat screen tv, although it was the most expensive.
The room had wonderful closets and a great, modern bathroom. The desk staff was awesome....friendly yet professional.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helene123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 927 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

Overall, a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. We had rooms on the 4th floor overlooking the Aare and the river. Very spacious, very nice bathrooms, all possible amenities, couldn't ask for more. Great breakfast buffet, included in our rate. Very little negative things to say about this place. Very good. Two small points though. We had a room with a very old-fashioned tube TV which was also very small. Almost impossible to watch from your bed, considering the nice size of the room. A hotel in this range should have nice, flat screen TV, no excuses. Other thing is that I also believe 5* hotels should have free wifi somewhere in the building (doesn't have to be every single room though it would be nice and even make sense as well), whether it's the lobby, or some other central point but with certain prices you cannot charge per minute internet anymore. It's that simple. Other than that, can't fault this place and definitely the best place in Bern.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

First location to be - beautiful view! But this is all you truly will be satisfied with. Room charge is very expensive (breakfast not included), you even have to pay per minute for a wifi conection. Room service and food quAlity however was good.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DemandingNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I can't say enough about the warm, professional assistance that was offered by the entire staff of the Bellevue during our recent stay. The hotel offers the perfect location from which to explore Bern. We invited my in-laws for Sunday brunch on the Terrasse and with a view of the Aare, we lingered for 2 hours over the wonderful food, coffee and gorgeous vista of the river and hills beyond. We've stayed here several times - once with a river view and once in a room facing the street. Obviously the river view was quieter, but both were equally well appointed. The bathrooms are perfect and the bedding is crisp and dreamy. But the strength of the Bellevue is its people who strike the difficult balance between making this 5-start feel at once exclusive and utterly welcoming.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. and we chose a weekend in Bern at the Bellevue Palace to do so. We booked one of the deluxe rooms with the river views. The room was just lovely. We were lucky to get one of the rooms with a little balcony featuring the view directly on the river and the mountain Gurten. As well we could see the alps, since the weather was very nice. A real nice touch was the binoculars in the room - which made us smile! The staff was great and did make us feel welcome and special at all times - they knew about the anniversary (which we indicated to the reservations agent when we booked) and they sent up some fruits, chocolate and champagne to the room, with a card from the whole team. We will definately go back for more soon!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosewhite69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I chose the hotel for its location and because it is a LHW hotel. I booked a room on the hotel’s site for CHF 510/night. This room turned out to be a highly unpleasant dark affair under the eaves and basically without windows (not what I call windows in any case). As I was not on business, but ,exceptionally. with my wife, I was very disappointed with this gloomy room. The thing that really got me going however was the reaction of the reception staff. Basically: “We do not care!” and that was it. When I filled in the customer satisfaction form that was sent automatically after my stay, I got a very arrogant mail from the Director demonstrating also a total absence of concern. For this price, the room and the service were dismal and not at all up to the standards that one expects from a LHW hotel. During the same period I stayed in the Richmond Hotel & the Hotel de la Paix in Geneva as well as the Principe di Savoia in Milan. These were all delightful stays, but unfortunately I was alone. The Bellevue Palace in Berne managed to frustrate the only little trip that I could take with my wife recently. They will not see me there again.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mjelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Entering the great old lobby you are warmly welcome by Concierge and Front Desk, rooms are classic but up to date, must be renovated. Flatscreens. Great views overlooking Bern and the river along with the Swiss alps at the horizon. Location could not be any better and sufficient. Restaurants not used besides breakfast, nice setting and good value buffet with everything you need for a good start into the day. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_weber1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
850 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BELLEVUE PALACE Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLEVUE PALACE Bern

Address: Kochergasse 3 - 5, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Bellevue Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bern
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#2 Family Hotel in Bern
Price Range: $344 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — BELLEVUE PALACE Bern 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel of the Swiss government with a history extending back 150 years - The BELLEVUE PALACE is the only grand hotel in the heart of the capital. The magnificent salons, the grandiose vista of the Bernese Alps and the warm hospitality make this luxury hotel so unique. It has always been a meeting place for politicians and diplomats, it featured in John le Carre's spy novels, and it is also a casual meeting place for the whole of Berne. La BELLE VIE au BELLEVUE PALACE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BELLEVUE PALACE Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Palace Bern Hotel Bern
Bellevue Palace Hotel Bern
Bern Bellevue Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing