We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, walking distance to center”
Review of Hotel Waldhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Waldhorn
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here on a Friday night and it was alright. The lobby and breakfast was decent, but the room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. Not a place to go with children. It was cheap and if you're looking for a place that is walking distance to the center and simple, this is the right place for you. Parking costs extra and difficult to maneuver the car in the tiny car elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 267 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

Great hotel - contemporary, clean, well-kept, friendly & helpful staff. However, we had our windows open at night and the pub on the corner gets L-O-U-D, making it difficult to sleep. Still, it was a great hotel, we were there for only 1 night, and outside of the pub revelers, our stay was great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsr1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Waldhorn is great hotel for for travelers on a budget but still want to be close enough.
It is not in the center of town but, being public transportation in Switzerland as it is, this is not a problem
Tram #9 to the rescue! On the dime. 3-4 stops and you are there
Staff are nice and very helpful
Rooms are good
Bathromm is a bit of a shock. Accordian door not the best for privacy...and a bit crampy
Internet is good
Breakfast is Europen standard. Nothing special but enough to start the day.
Parking is expensive but the front desk told us exactly when making reservation.
Situated in a quiet section makes the sleeping even better
So bottom line: Nothing really to complain about
Thanks you for the hospitality

Room Tip: 2nd floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny_il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The Waldhorn may not be smack in the middle of the attractions, but it's not that far away at all. If you don't want to walk the 15-20 mins into the centre (which is actually a delightful walk across one of the bridges looking over the valley and the city), then the reliable number 9 tram will pick you up a few hundred metres from the hotel and drop you off in front of the Zytglogge or the main station within 5 minutes. Up the road from the hotel is a handy Co-Op, and the area (residentual) is pleasant, clean, quiet and safe.
The hotel itself is very nice, just off the main road so I wasn't disturbed at night by any outside noise. The room was a little on the basic side, and it would have been nice to have had a minibar/fridge in the room, but other than that it can't be faulted. Clean, bright, pleasant and considering Swiss hotels are notoriously expensive this one was reasonably priced and I was happy with what I got for my money. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. Really nice stay in a delightful city.

Room Tip: Have a look at the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1975Londoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed at Waldhorn for two nights in occasion of the Zibelemaerit holiday. This hotel is pretty no-frills, but features many good aspects. The location is very good, because it’s just 5-10 minutes from downtown – just need to cross the northern bridge on the Aar river. It’s located in a residential area, very quiet, no noise from the streets and no hotel noise.
The room we stayed was small, and the bathrooms was very small; but everything was very clean and in order (great shower jet!). The bed was very comfortable and the room temperature was good. The room we stayed had a wide led tv on the wall, with 40 or more channels. Good choice for breakfast in the morning, with Swiss and international food. The staff was very kind and attentive, a big plus for the hotel. Although located in a very expensive city (and country) the price was quite reasonable.
In a nutshell, we recommend the Waldhorn, and if we will be back if we’ll be in the area again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stayed here for 1 night to watch football at the Stade Du Suisse the home of Young Boys Bern. The hotel was a 15minute stroll from the railway station. It was easy to find. Likewise you can take the tram which stops 2 minutes away. The hotel is halfway between the city and the football stadium. It was ideal for me. The staff were so friendly and made me feel so welcome. They were great. The room was excellent too, very modern and had everything I needed. The breakfast was superb. The choice was plentiful. I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it for a visit to the lovelty city of Bern.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I traveled for a week in Switzerland, staying at a variety of hotels. This one was my favorite. The price was good, the staff friendly and helpful, the location very quiet and within walking distance from the old town. Moreover, free use of the computer in the lobby was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HendrikJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.7 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhorn

Address: Waldhoeheweg 2, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $144 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Waldhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to all activities, yet still in a quiet location. Large enough with all the necessary amenities and with friendly service. Ideal hotel for both business and holiday travellers at a fair price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Waldhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing