We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a museum - Do not stay there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropole Easy City Hotel
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have reserved 4 days at the Hotel Metropole in Berna from June 09 to June 13.

When I arrived ( Sunday ) there was nobody in the reception desk and in front of the door, the message to contact the Hotel Kreuz, the other side of the Hotel Metropole.

The recepcionist of the Hotel Kreuz, attended with extrem attention and mentioned that there is no recepcionist in the weekends but Hotel Kreuz and Metropole are the same group.

She gave the key of the room XXX of the Hotel Metropole.

I entered in the Hotel Metropole, I felt that I was in 1900. When I entered in the room, I thought that I was in a museum. In front of the door of my room, there was an odor of sewerage.

My suggestion : You can stay in a much better hotel with the same price.



At the same time , I talked with the help desk of the travel agency and they requested a letter from you, informing that you will not charge any fine for the cancellation of the rest of my stay.



Because of the situation and the impossibility to stay in the Hotel Metropole, the recepcionist offered me to stay in the Hotel Kreuz, paying 20 ch per day, but she mentioned that she had only room available from June 09 to June 12.



Then my decision was to stay in the Hotel Kreuz until June 12 and move to another hotel. I am in the room 506.



Now i need a letter/email from you, informing that there is no fine for the cancellation of the last night in accordance with my reservation.



Please, return as soon as possible.



Best Regards

Room Tip: Stay in the IBIS or Novotel. There is a tram station to everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MouraBarros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 272 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I statyed at the hotel for two night for a business trip. The staff is friendly and the hotel is placed in the center of Bern. My room was basic but fine for the occasions. However, there was quite a lot of noise on the streets in the night. people shouting, cars, garbage truck. It is not the fault of the hotel, but it woke me up a couple of times.
The breakfast was fine for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rasmus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Metropole is centrally located VERY simple hotel in Bern. Rooms and all of the facilities are very modest, simple and old. Breakfast is there but not offer much, though it's good to have something in the morning. The hotel has a bigger sibling across the road and some services (like wifi) is offered across the street. Not having a proper internet connection was a problem to me, since I didn't feel comfortable to go across the street to access the internet.

Despite of all previous, I have to mention that the service was extremely pleasant at the front desk. For this purposes I might go there again, since nowadays it is quite rare to come across good customer service. :)

If travelling around December, there is an advantage of having the Christmas market just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Metropole is splendidly located in the center of town. Its accommodations are basic, but more than adequate for a short stay. Compared to alteratives such as the Best Western et al, this is a much better deal. Rooms are clean, simple, and comfortable. Many of them are small, but none are as tiny as the shoe-box offerings at the Best Western. Don't expect style, or many services, but do expect friendly and helpfull staff, a decent breakfast and and reasonable price (by Swiss rip off standards) for your room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms facing the street. When the hotel is not busy, they will be happy to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had we not re-read the trip advisor review the day before our stay in Metropole Swiss Quality Bern Hotel, we might have been a little surprised. Curious thing include:
* Checking-in across the road in the Sister hotel
* Guest Laundry in the Sister Hotel. Only one washer and one condenser style dryer available.
* Wi-Fi Access in the lobby of the Sister Hotel (free).
* being told the restaurant across the road in the sister hotel as open, but was closed when we walked across the road. (Well the kitchen was!)
* The information available in the room was out of date (re: restaurant and other things)

Now the normal stuff. Room was clean and comfortable. The location could not have been beaten! Handy to train station by foot (my main criteria), restaurants and the Old Town(second criteria). Breakfast was good.

During the 7 weeks of our travels, this was the only place that caught us off-guard.
Could possible go back again, but for warned is for armed. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WackyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a perfecly located hotel, just about five minutes on foot from the train station and a walkable distance to any destination in the beautiful historic city center. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating (though as others have noted, the desk seems to be unstaffed during the night), the room was small (nothing extraordinary about that for a three-star European hotel) but clean, modern and quiet. We had requested one at the back of the building. There is no air-conditioning, but in our September stay, unnecessary. A nice breakfast was available in a pleasant breakfast room. We could have used more clothes hangers, but in our experience this seems to be a common deficiency wherever we travel. There are many good restaurants close at hand, and a really nice one just down the block, The Schmiedstube, in Schmiedenplaz. All in all, a comfortable, well situated, three-star hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WT40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

One of the cheapest places in the center and it shows - outdated rooms, dark corridors, nonexistant lobby and mediocre breakfast at best. At least it's clean.

Good if you need a place to stay, but not much more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristianZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.4 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kreuz Bern Modern City Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#20 of 30 in Bern
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Easy City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Easy City Hotel

Address: Zeughausgasse 26, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $123 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole Easy City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City-Hotel Metropole. Our centrally situated city-hotel offers 103 beds in 59 functional furnished single-, double- and triple rooms. Breakfast is not available. Benefit from the ideal location. A wide cultural offer and attractive shopping facilities under the arcades of Berne are within walking distance. Only a few steps from the main station and right next to the capacious public parking garage you can reach us either by public transport or by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Metropole Easy City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss q Metropole Hotel Bern
Bern Swiss q Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing