We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kreuz Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Mt Isa, Queensland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location and clean with good breakfast but that is the positives!
Our room was small and the beds are like a hostel! We had a double bed but it wasn't a double. Rather two single mattresses in two wooden boxes side by side! No rolling over! The pillows were very uncomfortable too! To access our room we had to use two lifts, walk through the breakfast room and then upstairs.
No air-cond-so we opened the windows but it was noisy.

For the price we paid I felt it was too expensive for what we got- not a 3 star hotel- rather an up market backpacker hostel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qlder_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    133
    125
    42
    10
See reviews for
48
108
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
721 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is a bit hard to get to by car due to is very central location. Parking is not far and can be included with the hotel. The rooms are a bit small, but eclectic; lots of angles. the breakfast was good. The staff quite friendly. there are a lot of bells in Bern so ear plugs are advised.

Room Tip: higher floors seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Other than no air conditioning, the hotel was great. Location was perfect, breakfast was tasty and had a great variety of things to choose from. But the best part of the hotel had to be our discovery of the roof top terrace. We were travelling with 2 other couples and ended up going to Migros and getting hot takeaway, wine and beer for supper 2 of the 3 nights we were there which was especially great because everything in Switzerland is so expensive! And the views from the rooftop were fabulous...we could see the alps one of the evenings when it was clear. Would totally recommend staying here when in Bern.

Helpful?
Thank PattR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Small, old fashioned but clean rooms. But accessible only via canteen... ! Lcd tv with international channels. No restaurant for late dinner. 5 euro fee for internet for a week. Small bathroom with soap,hairdryer,tissues.Excellent location in the city center,2 min walk from train station.Noisy at nihgt when staying in the room facing the street.Bit expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is close to the centre of the city and is therefore convenient for walking to and from the train and tram stations. It is also quite noisy on weekend nights. But we found the windows did a great job of cutting out the noise when closed. Clean and well located with a reasonable breakfast and a nice rooftop sitting area. Would recommend if you are not too noise sensitive.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shaz03_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed there on Sat and in 5th floor. It only have one window. When we stayed there, the temperature was around 20-25 degree at night. So we had to open the window while sleeping.

However, as there was Bar in the street, people talked very loudly in the street, we could not sleep well. Very poor expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bern hotels

Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of the old town and only 5 minutes walk from the main train station. All the tourist things to see and do are within easy walking distance. The breakfast buffet was delicious and well stocked. Staff were helpful when I needed directions. The rooms were small but comfortable and had satellite TV.

The only complaint I have was the noise coming from outside. I was up for work at 6am anyway but it was very noisy from 5am onwards making a lie in impossible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SundayGirl_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#11 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#30 of 30 in Bern
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.4 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#25 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz Bern

Property: Hotel Kreuz Bern
Address: Zeughausgasse 41, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kreuz Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Swiss q Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing