We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Very Noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kreuz Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Very Very Noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed there on Sat and in 5th floor. It only have one window. When we stayed there, the temperature was around 20-25 degree at night. So we had to open the window while sleeping.

However, as there was Bar in the street, people talked very loudly in the street, we could not sleep well. Very poor expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    133
    125
    42
    10
See reviews for
48
108
32
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of the old town and only 5 minutes walk from the main train station. All the tourist things to see and do are within easy walking distance. The breakfast buffet was delicious and well stocked. Staff were helpful when I needed directions. The rooms were small but comfortable and had satellite TV.

The only complaint I have was the noise coming from outside. I was up for work at 6am anyway but it was very noisy from 5am onwards making a lie in impossible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SundayGirl_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Kreuz Berne is a very short walk away from Berne's two railway stations and very close to the bus station. The reception staff speak good English and were both welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent - cereals, bread, yoghurts, fruit, juice, cheese, ham, scrambled egg and bacon - and lots of coffee or tea! Good service and an open large area on the first floor. The restaurant is not open in the evening but the hotel has a coffee shop next door.
On the second floor is table football, on the 4th floor is free tea and coffee and on the seventh is a small free gym. Great views of the city on the 8th!
Our room (417) was non smoking and quite large with two single beds and an outlook over the side of the hotel. It was very quiet. The bathroom had a bath, shower and hairdryer and was very clean. Internet access in the lobby costs 3.5 Swiss francs for 48 hours which is reasonable - although I'd prefer it to be free. The hotel also has large suitcase lockers (money returned when you collect luggage) to store your cases in after you check out.
The hotel is about one minute away from the clock tower and you can walk to anything you want to see from where it is located.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend it. My cost was £125 for a Sunday evening....but this is Switzerland and everything is expensive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Walking distance to Train station. Very clean. Nice Breakfast. They have a gym...which I did not use. But nice that is was there. Staff is very friendly and helpful. 1st 24hrs Wi-Fi is free.
Close to all you would like to see.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudBG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This reasonably priced hotel was comfortable and clean and walking distance from everything we wanted to see. We used an agent from Magicswitzerland.com to help us make arrangements. This was especially helpful since we had never been to Switzerland. He helped us pick good hotels that were conveniently located and within our price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend who has stayed there a couple of years ago. It is within convenient walking distance from the train station. And if you look it up on Google Map, you will find that it is very centrally located. That makes exploring the old city of Bern even more convenient.

I booked eight rooms in one transaction but for some reasons they were scattered across the floors. Mine was on the same floor as the breakfast room. It was small but very clean with a good sized bathroom, very, very clean. My bedroom opened out to other side of the hotel, overlooking Starbucks, the subway station and the plaza. I have no complaints here.

Breakfast was typical of European hotels. They did, however, offer reasonably good variety of food items here. I wish the breakfast staffs were as pleasant and friendly as the reception desk downstairs but at least there were as effective at their job.

Wi-Fi Internet was provided free of charge at the lobby. In order to use it in-room, I had to pay a small amount of CHF 3 or so for a login that was good for 48 hours if my memory serves me well. All travelers in my group agreed that the connection speed was very fast. It was absolutely faster than the one I use at home back here in Bangkok, Thailand.

Surely I will have to visit Switzerland and Bern again in the distant future. And when that time comes, I will check with Kreuz Bern first as I consider it one of my safe and sure choices. There is no need for me to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruckdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for four nights in April 2013. The Kreuz is ideally situted for the old town of Bern and is an easy 10 minutes walk from the station. There are plenty of places to eat in the immediate area but nowhere is cheap; this is an expensive town. The hotel is very cean and well ordered and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the usual buffet, well stocked and with plenty of variety-abolutely no complaints there. The room was on the small side but with a decent and clean bathroom and a comfortable, very large, bed. The furnishings were utilitarian [plywood], but served the purpose. We had 'standard' bedroom, so no fridge, minibar or tea- makind facilities in the room. though two floors up you could make yourseves free tea or coffee and elsewhere there was a cold drinks machine [not free]. There are memorable views from the rooftop terrace. This is a good hotel and we would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably worth asking the price of a 'superior' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penpolCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#30 of 30 in Bern
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.4 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kreuz Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz Bern

Property: Hotel Kreuz Bern
Address: Zeughausgasse 41, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kreuz Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Swiss q Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing