We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny but efficient rooms”
Review of Sorell Hotel Ador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Ador
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tiny but efficient rooms”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms here were wicked tiny, but efficient and clean. The breakfast was pretty good and had espresso machines in the breakfast room. The people who worked there were nice enough, but didn't seem overly interested. Was convenient for walking to the old town and University of Bern.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolate4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Ador, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest !

Thank you very much for your kindness in filling out a guest comment. We are happy that our
businesshotels meets your needs an you felt welcome. We try to improve always our services, and your comment helps us increasing our standards frequently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    156
    78
    23
    13
See reviews for
38
107
40
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights for a business trip. Nice hotel clean rooms, very close to the train station - 4 minutes walk. 8 minutes for the main bus terminal and I'd city. Breakfast was good with a fish, sausage and cheese.
The shower is a little old fashioned but still very clean. Free Internet service in all areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Ador, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment. Yes indeed, we are modernising our bathrooms !
2 Floors are done already by end of february this year, and 2 floors will be be done end of this year.
Please ask for your next stay for the new bathrooms/rooms on floor 5 oder 6.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very good hotel for the price you are paying for. 5 minute walk from the Bern railway station its an ideal place if you are planning to visit nearby towns in addition to Bern. Sleep quality is great and although the wifi is only available in the lobby, its free and has a very good quality. You could sit in the cosy lobby bar, sip a swiss beer and surf away. They do have socket plug adapters for your, laptop, mac, iPhone , mobile as the plugging system can be a bit different. you can return it when you check out. Breakfast option is small, but its clean and well organised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdorBern, Manager at Sorell Hotel Ador, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest !

Thank you very much for your kindness in filling out a guest comment. We are happy that our
businesshotels meets your needs an you felt welcome. We try to improve allways our services, and your comment said us that we are on the right way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the hardest hotels to write about as there was nothing that stood out, good or bad. It's on a main road leading from the main railway station to the big city hospital, so is handy for both. The old centre is only a few minutes' walk away. The building is a discrete square block and the rooms pretty standard, with the bathroom being slightly on the small-ish side. The rooms were clean and neat if a bit lacking in style. The front desk staff were efficient. WiFi is free in the lobby, but costs if you want it in the room. I didn't try the breakfast buffet. Nothing much else to say - it's an OK hotel, if a bit forgettable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dg2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We searched some time to find a convenient hotel for Bern - we wanted to arrive by train and did not want to pay a fortune for a hotel. We chose the Sorell Ador for it proximity to the station. It really was only 5 minutes away. We were pleasantly surprised by the sizes of the rooms which we had read were small - we had enough space in there. The coffee making machine and the bottles of water and biscuit were a plus. We slept comfortably in the beds, the shower is good, hairdryer is weak as most of them are in hotels. The interiour could do with a lick of paint and the lifts do take "forever" to go to the sixt floor. The hotel staff were very helpful and smiling. My friend lost her wallet in the hall downstairs, they kept it for her and gave it back. Breakfast was simple and very tasty. Scrambled eggs, charcuterie, cheeses and very good bread. You also have the option to take a glass of champagne, which of course we did... All in all I am very content with our choice of hotel in Bern and would definitely stay there again if the occasion should arise.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor, it was facing the street - but we did not hear too much even with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel had everything I needed but nothing extra. I really missed my own bed, I guess I can't sleep as well without a box spring. Everything in the hotel was tiny, including the breakfast, but loved the city so I am not complaining.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location couldn't be better for those needing or arriving by train.

The rooms were very small for the price, but it seems as though all hotel rooms in Berne are expensive!

Everything is well kept, though the walls could do with a new paint job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.8 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Ador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Ador

Property: Sorell Hotel Ador
Address: Laupenstrasse 15, Bern 3008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bern
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Ador 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business as unusual: a congress centre, spacious banqueting hall and a café bar-lounge to help you unwind. The Sorell Hotel Ador is one of the most popular business hotels in the city of Bern. The Sorell Hotel Ador is in the centre of Bern, only a few steps away from the main station and the charming Bern Old Town with its variety of shops. For your first overnight stay, you will receive a guide book with a map for your entire visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sorell Hotel Ador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing