We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
225
96
17
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
225
96
17
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pedestrian zone train station old town large bags english speaking guests minutes walking distance from the hotel food quality was excellent great hotel excellent location blackout shades front desk staff was very helpful water pressure in the shower nice modern rooms small refrigerator wished we could have stayed longer walk in shower central hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 347 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here three nights. Our room was ready upon arrival, it was clean, the staff were professional and knowledgeable, the breakfast was good, and it was really close to everything. Checkout the handy tourist info office right at the station only 300 meters from the hotel. There was some early morning street noise. If this is a problem ask for a quiet room in the back.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jamesfP5815SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear jamesfP5815SU
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for staying with us.
It is nice to hear that your especially liked the location in the city center, the friendly and helpful staff and our breakfast buffet.
We would be happy to welcome you soon again and remain with best regards from Bern.
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019

I've often stayed at a rival hotel in Bern, but decided to pick a more central one this time - it's close to the station and all the other amenities of town - very easy to locate. Check-in was a breeze, and all handled with a smile. The lift is a little confusing, but well explained. The room was excellent - a very good size, and with a well appointed bathroom. I loved the ability to properly blackout the room with electric shutters - made for a great night's sleep. Good value and great service.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Stenvoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Stenvoid
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for choosing our Hotel Savoy Bern.
We are happy that you had a good stay and that you appreciated the comfortable rooms as well as our great location in the old town of Bern.
The compliments about our staff are transferred to them with pleasure.
We would be happy to welcome you again and remain with best regards from Bern.
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

My wife and I tayed at the Savoy for just one night and were very pleased. The hotel is a little tricky to get to in a car, however when parked we were almost directly under the Hotel so leaving was very easy. A short walk from the train station, it is literally in the city centre but at the same time, we found it to be quiet. The room was very modern, spacious and comfortable, with a good bed and a pillow selection. The bathroom was big with good water pressure in the shower and rain water shower head. Complimentary Wi-fi worked well. Breakfast was a good selection, and the food quality was excellent. All the staff we met were very kind and helpful; the hotel is very clean and pleasant. If I had one con, it was being able to open a window for fresh air, but there were what appeared perhaps carpark exhaust vents directly outside the window. I would recommend.

Room tip: Our room was at the back of the Hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craigp0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Inhaber at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Dear Craigp0017,
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for staying with us.

It is great to hear that you fully enjoyed the time with us and that not only the good and quiet location as well as the room and the cleanliness did suit you.
The compliments about our Kind and helpful staff are transferred with pleasure.

We would be happy to welcome you soon again.

Best regards from Bern
Corina Gilgen and Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately, I was really disappointed with our stay at The Savoy.

Pros:
- wonderful service. All of the staff members we encountered were friendly, polite and welcoming.
- location. A 2 minute walk from the station, and within easy walking distance of all of Bern’s major attractions, the position of this hotel couldn’t be more convenient.
- cleanliness. Our room was spotless throughout.

Cons:
- Noise. I didn’t get a good nights sleep the whole time I was there. Our visit fell in line with a particularly hot spell. The aircon in the room was poor and felt as though it was simply blowing hot air. We slept with the widow open instead, which proved to be a total nightmare. Drunks caused chaos outside the entire night, singing, chanting and shouting. And I don’t mean that this was a temporary thing, either. It sounded as though the drunks had congregated outside of the Hotel, as the shouting went on for hours. This happened EVERY night. To add to this, from about 5am onwards, all that could be heard was the slamming of car doors from the street, and an assortment of other loud bangs. We heard another couple complain about the noise upon check out, and they were informed by reception that people had been celebrating a hockey match?! What, for 5 nights running?
- Breaskfast. Total rip off! 18 S/F EACH to sample an abysmal assortment of cold buffet options! Save yourself some money and head into the street, or down to the station - plenty of nicer, cheaper options for both a leisurely eat-in affair, or a grab and go. Seriously unimpressed with this. Very little choice, for a ridiculous price!
- very basic. Although clean (which is the main thing!), I found the hotel to be very basic, and more like a 3 star than a 4.

To conclude, I wouldn’t stay here again, as I value my sleep!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank xxxC29xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Dear xxxC29xxx
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.
We do have a really good location in the city center next to the train station and therefore city life is going on around us as well. While renovating the hotel we did anticipate this and do have triple glass in our new windows and do also provide air-conditioning to avoid open windows in the night. Normally this is sufficient.
We are also sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our buffet breakfast. We do offer a large selection of high quality products, fresh fruits and vegetables, some of these items in bio quality and also a large assortment of diet products like lactose free milk and others. But if you let us know what you were missing we are happy to take this into consideration as we are always working on our standards and services.
Nevertheless we would be happy to welcoming you again, hoping we can convince you completely.
Best regards from Bern
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2019 via mobile

Very good location only 100m from the main train station. Also located at the start of the old district. Within walking distance of so many attractions and restaurants. The hotel itself is really nice. Looks new and very clean. We upgraded to the extra 5sqm and was such a great size room. Great breaky! Prosecco and smoked salmon! Isn’t cheap but so worth it. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 234trudir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Dear 234trudir
Thank you very much for your good feedback and for choosing our Hotel Savoy Bern.
It is nice to hear, that you especially liked the location in the heart of Bern as well as our great breakfast buffet.
We would be happy to welcome you soon again and remain with best regards from Bern.
Corina Gilgen & Team Savoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews