We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a backpackers hotel or hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Experience at this hotel is as expected given the price paid for the hotel. Customer service upon check in, could have been better. Had to wait until the guy acknowledged customers after he was off of the phone. Rooms did not have insulation. You could hear your inconsiderate neighbors when you're trying to sleep. Window has a balcony/staircase providing access to my room from outside. Breakfast was an extra charge. Right near the train station. Very noisy from outside noise. Bathroom was very tiny and didn't have very good water pressure or decent shower head. Hair dryer had wiring issues, which was not safe to use. As the walls were not even in the bathroom, the shower curtain/rod wasn't straight but diagonal. Check out, noticed after the fact that I was charged for food that I NEVER ate. Check out other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizTravlerJunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Hotel City am Bahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 296 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent two nights in City Hotel Bern. We had a very pleasant stay here and recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a convenient place to stay location wise in Bern. The hotel literally faces the station so there are no hassles in taking any extra transport once you arrive. The rooms are quiet with comfortable bedding and the usual hotel amenities (minibar, hairdryer and shower accessories). Rooms in Switzerland are definitely expensive so if you are looking for somewhere better than 'basic', City Hotel is a great option for the price. Breakfast was not included in our rate however the price is small if you wish to enjoy it. The hotel is close to some great city restaurants for dinner options. Spa facilities are available at the nearby Ambassador hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie-travellerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is very basic, good bed warm covers, very close to Bern train station. Check in was easy, and we were in our rooms in no time. There were amenities in the room and tea coffee facilities. We got in really late and checked out fairly early, so this room worked for us as we only needed to sleep for the night. I am not sure I would book with them again though if I had to stay longer than one night. But for a quick stopover it was more than sufficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is unbelievable! Literally 2 seconds from the train station and trams! People were really nice and helpful! Great wifi and use of printer! The room was very basic but fantastic by Switzerland standards! We really liked the place! Very clean and functional! Breakfast was also fantastic! Not heaps of hot stuff but for I loved it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nikkibug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is strategically located very close to the rail station and this makes arrival and departure from Bern easy. the service is good, check-in though delayed was smooth. there was free Wifi on arrival and the rooms were clean.
However the rate was abit high for the facilities available. Breakfast was an additional cost and drinks in the mini bar was expensive..

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator and facing the courtyard are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgold47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

as the name "bahnhof" suggests, the hotel is literally right next to the train station. service was great. we arrived at 9am, and one of our two rooms was ready, they just let us into the room. the room was clean and comfortable. toiletries provided - lemongrass, decent but not luxurious. coffee, tea and kettle were provided. the staff was always helpful. overall, it was value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We did not like our experience in this hotel. Rooms were noisy. We did not feel secure at this property. Our window had a staircase that could provide an additional entrance for someone from outside. We could hear noises from other rooms. Location is ok, in front of the bahnhof (Main train station). I would recommend looking for a different hotel on your next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atl010684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#20 of 30 in Bern
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#12 of 30 in Bern
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City am Bahnhof

Address: Bubenbergplatz 7 | 3011 Berne, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $147 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Berne, Switzerland’s capital city. Our *** hotel is only a few steps away from the main railway station, Berne’s historic arcades and the Federal Houses of Parliament. City Hotel is the ideal choice for both business and holiday travellers, with cultural sites and shopping possibilities all within easy walking distance of our centrally located position. This charming hotel provides 58 generous rooms with a comfortable atmosphere. All rooms are equipped with bath or shower, radio, TV, telephone, hair-drier and a mini-bar. Quiet rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel City am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Am Bahnhof Bern
City Am Bahnhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing