We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worked for what I wanted” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel City am Bahnhof

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Bern
1 review
“Worked for what I wanted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not what you would consider luxury, although it had all the amenities and services that I required for my stay. The location was perfect, being very close to the main station. Should I visit Bern again, I would happily stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    91
    111
    41
    11
See reviews for
35
85
23
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location to explore the city from and right across from the main station, so logistically it's good news and why it gets 3 stars. Put it another 500m from the centre and it's be 2 stars at best. Breakfast is fine but the rooms are shabby, TV remote wasn't working, the bathroom had clear signs of distress so not that good for CHF285, albeit a late booking.

Similarly, being kept waiting at the reception while the Front Desk clerk finished his fag while chatting to his mate by the front door is a bit naff to say the least. Also, the front reception areas, on this day at least, smelt of sewerage.

For back-packers (with money) it'll do. For business people.... keep looking....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank climb8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nothing good to say except may be location nearby train station and decent breakfast. Very inconvenient to access if you come by own car, the traffic is organized in the centre do that you have to do few U-turns in order to get there and and still you only get to park in the front of the hotel for 10 minutes. Rooms are worn out, literally and for example the other madras in my room should have been trashed years ago, luckily I was alone so I could choose the other one. Service is poor. I asked for a iron and it took me 4 contacts and lengthy arguments with the receptionist before I was give a worn out ironing board (with my own responsibility, that´s what he said). This is a hostel level place if your only need is to stay overnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bern hotels

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

As a seasoned rail traveller I seek out hotels close to railway stations and this is a good one in Bern the Swiss capital. Just one road to cross (pedestrian lights) and visible across the square to the right on leaving the station. A quaint 'shop front' entrance to the modern and efficient reception. My room was on the fifth floor at the back so it was nice and quiet: a minibar (a bit pricey), but a good bathroom (with bath and plenty of hot water), a work desk and free wifi. No restaurant but lots nearby - breakfast available but too expensive for me at 20Chf! Well placed for the main tram hub, shops, eateries and the Christmas market.

Room Tip: Try and get one at the back high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doversole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I spent just one night at this hotel in September2012. Directly opposite the cities train station, the hotel sits in a fantastic location in good proximity to trains, trams, shops bars and restaurants.

The room (a triple as there were 3 of us sharing) was a good size with an open wardrobe, small glass desk shelf and a bathroom with seperate vanity room that held the sink. The beds were clean and relatively comfortable.

The bathroom was spacious with a shower in bath set up and we all found the shower to be very good.

The decor was tired with paint flaking off the ceilings and walls in need of cleaning and re painting.

All in all a comfortable night in a great location in an average room and hotel. For a price of CHF205 (£136.00).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philleasphogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

OK, so on the plus side it's a quick walk from the station (if that's how you're arriving). It's clean and functional. The bathroom had a nice concept; washbasin separate from the toilet and shower but kept apart from the main room. The entrance was nice (or pretentious?), walking over a mini bridge over a small pond to the reception but the reception area itself was small and could get busy. As is so often the case in Europe the staff trumped our "service industry" staff in terms of friendliness and, yes, being able to communicate in several languages.

Downside: oh so noisy. The people above us decided to take a bath at 11:30pm. Not late I guess by holiday standards except when you have to catch an 8:30am train the next morning.

We paid around £120 for a room of Premier Inn standard - breakfast not included. Not terrible but not brilliant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Catweevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Being on a whistle-stop rail tour, we chose this hotel on the basis of its proximity to Bern’s Hauptbahnhof and reviews on Tripadvisor.

The good bits:

Very central, and very modern. The rooms were huge (especially after the Eder in Munich) and cleanly and simply decorated; though some might call it minimalistic.

Bathroom was good with separate area for hand basin etc.

I had anticipated a lot of street noise, because the hotel is opposite the tram terminus. We got a room at the back of the hotel, and there was no street noise at all. I would recommend asking for a rear-facing room.

The downside:

No street noise, but the hotel had inadequate internal soundproofing. I sleep with earplugs but could still hear toilets flushing and conversations from adjoining rooms, among other things.

No air conditioning. It was around 30 degrees when we stayed, and really the hotel needs air-con.
As is so often the case, we could not connect to the advertised free wi-fi.

Breakfast was not included in the tariff, and we thought that at around £30 for a buffet breakfast for two, it was expensive, and skipped it for a good breakfast at the railway station for less than half of that.

Would I recommend it? Yes. Modern, centrally located and clean. By Swiss standards, I thought it was reasonably priced. They could do better, though.

Room Tip: ask to be placed at the rear of the hotel; not opposite the tram station at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayattheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#8 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#25 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#21 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City am Bahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City am Bahnhof

Property: Hotel City am Bahnhof
Address: Bubenbergplatz 7 | 3011 Berne, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City am Bahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel City am Bahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Am Bahnhof Bern
City Am Bahnhof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing