We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, clean, modern, well located with loads of facilities”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great hotel, clean, modern, well located with loads of facilities”
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We arrived in Bern after a long drive from Nice for a 1 night stay, en-route to Germany. Bad traffic through St Gotthard tunnel in 36 degree heat made us very tired. Our GPS tried to take us through roadworks, so we had to divert around the suburb of Wankdorf, but once back on track, the hotel was fairly easy to find.
Impressive foyer and fairly freaindly staff. Clean and modern views overlooked old town and the garden restaurant/bar below. Rooms were a bit small, but that was liveable. Carpark a bit confusing as to how to get to the hotel fowyer, but we eventually worked it out.
Great facilities-the Gym, although not very large, had the most modern techno-gym equipment I've come across with bult-in TV monitors on treadmill, bike, X-trainer, and I've visisted quite a few Gyms around the world for comparison.
They provided use of bikes free of charge and as a bike rider, i expected aan old rusty heap, so was surprised with the hybrid that they provided, complete with front suspension and suspension seat post, which was needed in the old cobblestioned town, just over the bridge. Location was fantastic-walking distance from old town centre, just across the bridge.
The hotel was relatively expensive, but to be expetcted in Switzerland. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the kids had jamburgers, so for 2 burgers, 2 plates of pasta, 3 soft drinks and a glass of wine we paid about AUS$170 (About EUR80). We looked at restaurants in the old town and they were probably around the same price, so once again, as expected in Switzerland.
The Casino was attached to the hotel, but quite a long carridor walk away and not obtrusive.
I'd recommend staying here if you're visiting Bern, but it's not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    405
    136
    37
    25
See reviews for
125
385
42
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We travelled to Bern last week and spent one night at the Allegro. We upgraded to the panorama rooms. The room and amenities were very nice. Internet available but expensive. Parking expensive. The staff was very nice and helpful. Casino is small. Location was great - walk out the door and cross the bridge and you right in the heart of old town.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The hotel is very modern, beautiful, the rooms are big enough, clean, beds very comfortable and a good shower. No internet available in the room. Everything is extra, but the service is excellent. Everyone in reception is always smiling and helpful.
Breakfast is expensive, if you consider the options. It was very close to everything and Bern is such a beautiful city!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorboletaPoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I booked this hotel via a travel web site at an attractive rate and the location was perfect ,close to the old town yet far enough away to avoid the city noise.OK view from the room.
On Checkin I was give breakfast vouchers which said continental breakfast.On day 1 duly tucked into the impressive spread and presented vouchers to the greeter.No issue.
On day 2 did similar.You would have thought I had committed some cardinal sin almost had my plate of muesli and yogurt snatched away.Agitated waiter says I must pay extra.Apparently the voucher only entitled me to a pre prepared plate of meat cheese and bread.How I am expected to know this is a mystery.A senior greeter was called and my cool was slowly ebbing away.I finished my yogurt and waited for the offer that they have
costed oh so carefully for their guests who book a discounted room.
Similarly on day 1 turn down service,mineral water, clean towels, day 2 and 3.Nothing.
OK I had a good rate but Allegro if you cant provide the same level of service to all your guests for the duration of their stay, then do not sell your rooms to wholesale discounters.
The majority of the staff were friendly and well trained.The restaurants good and varied, but it will be the crazy breakfast that will be my memory of Hotel Allegro.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We stayed there for 1 night in August. Checked in and saw our room... initially we were thrilled to be on the Panoramic floor however, we were given a room with no view whatsoever, the window was basically looking out into a very very narrow courtyard. We asked to change the room but were told that we had to top up to move. It was disappointing cause the room was pretty big and clean. We figured that its only for a night so we'd just stick to it.
The bed and comforters were nice. Overall the hotel is pretty nicely decorated but the service at the front desk was frosty at times.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBumFromSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We both, husband and wife, stayed at the Allegro Kursaal for three nights on the second week in August. Purpose of the trip was vacation. Our experience was very good in all aspects with a minor exception that one day we found a couple of insects dead inside the room (spider and bug). We reported and no more problems after that.
The room, location (short 5-10 minutes walk to old town), breakfast, free internet access, service, and all modern and conveniente features of the hotel (A/C, casino, restaurants, tram stop in front, etc) were very close or equal to USA standards. The personnel was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTONIO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The hotel is right across the bridge from the Old Towne. It is an easy walk or a quick bus ride. The hotel is modern, excellent restaurant and wonderful service. The breakfast was Ok, nothing extraordinary.
One word of caution - we rented a car from Zurich and were leaving it in Bern - The city is built on two levels, so although the rental car location (Avis) was less than 1 mile from the hotel because it was on a different level it was very confusing and a long walk back after dropping the car off. Other than that it was a mavelous stay

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FVILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Property: Hotel Allegro Bern
Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing