We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Bern”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 1, 2014

During a recent business trip I spent one night at the Hotel Allegro in Bern.
Several things work very well in the hotel:
1. Excellent staff - the front desk personnel were very helpful without exception
2. Impeccable location - close to the old city, but also close to the Government offices
3. Very good breakfast
4. Free Internet
5. Nice rooms with good views

The only thing holding the hotel back from perfect is the strangely slow TV - it takes forever to turn on and to change channels.

I would certainly rate the hotel high and return if back in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoram_Shimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Yoram_Shimoni,

Thank you kindly for your review here in Tripadvisor, it is great to see that such a well-travelled person, with so many
Tripadvisor feedbacks and obviously a seasoned Hotel user as you, has thoroughly enjoyed the stay at our hotel!
We will not hesitate to use your positive remarks to encourage the team to continue the great work they do on a daily
basis, thank you for providing us with this opportunity through your feedback.
We do hope to welcome you back to our property at your next convenience.

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Allegro Bern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

So we got a great deal for a weekend break in Bern in this hotel. Bern itself is both a beautiful and exciting city, and a great location from which to explore the rest of Switzerland. At 10-15 mins from the city centre and the train station, this hotel applied well to both scenarios.

So, location perfect. And decor and cleanliness also perfect. However, we were in an "economy" room without any external windows or ventilation. I do not know if the premium rooms would be any better, but these internal rooms felt incredibly stuffy and the air was terribly dry. Air conditioner helped a lot but was noisy. Nevertheless the room was large, as was the bathroom, and the latter was extremely well appointed (if a little open!).

If we ignore those issues, however, it was hard to fault this hotel and I would highly recommend it for business or leisure travelers to Bern. The breakfast in the lobby was a particularly positive touch, with a wide range of local and international produce to suit every taste.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear unspecified

Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent experiences at Hotel Allegro and the city Bern.
It is lovely to hear that you are happy with our services during your recent stay with us.
Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay in another room category!

Yours sincerely,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

For my first time stay in Hotel Allegro, I think it's great in overall in term of the room, environment and their services. However, I think it is quite pricy for the parking anyway cause it is CHF 26 per night as it should be free of charge for hotel guest or maybe only CHF 10 per night and it would be much reasonable to every guests who will be staying with the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Shuen C

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor about the room, environment and service satisfaction from our team members.
Your feedback regarding the parking price is vital for us to continually improve our services.

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very good hotel. Confortable rooms, very good breakfast. Close to the city center. Perfect meeting rooms for a business travel. I will probably come back this hotel in my next stay in Bern, for business or turism.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear gibert a,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Tripadvisor portal. We were delighted to read about your
plans to visit us again as soon as you will return to Bern.
We wish you all the best!

Regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is new. Room is modern , spacious and comfortable, with a large and clean toilet. The staffs of the hotel and casino are so friendly and helpful. My husband and I were so enjoyed staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winglap13131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear winglap13131,

Thank you kindly for using Tripadvisor to provide feedback pertaining your visit to Bern.
We are delighted to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that the long trip was worth it.
Hope to welcome you again soon!

Greetings and Happy Chinese New Year!
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is really nice, very close to the city center, with a nice view on the mountains. Restaurants, bars, casino, fitness center, ... are available directly inside the structure. The staff was great, they provided really helpful info.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor-user

We are delighted to note your satisfaction with your stay, from product as well as service point of view.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for hopefully another satisfying stay.

Kindest regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Allegro Hotel Bern, and we had a wonderful stay. Very friendly staff and the location of the hotel is very good, 5 min walk to the old city. We ate st the restaurant one night and the food was very good. We will stay gere again the next time we are in Bern.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awmohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear awmohr

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay.
it was very encouraging to read your positive feedback, rest assured your comments will be shared with the team!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for hopefully another satisfying stay.

Kind regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.5 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $162 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing