We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend jaunt in Bern”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Modern hotel in great location for walking to city centre with tram stop right outside. Choice of restaurants and breakfast was well organised, plenty of food and choice, efficient service. Rooms on the small size, but modern and clean leaning towards appearance rather than functionality but perfectly acceptable. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Wifi did not work on my iPad, but that may have been me rather than the hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on fourth floor have good views, but ours was opposite a hospital clinic and we could see pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Ann H

Thanks for rating our Hotel on Tripadvisor
.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words about the good service and the staff.
I will gladly share the compliment with all of the team.
We are looking forward to welcome you again to the Hotel Allegro in the future.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Rooms are modern but small/compact. Very clean and crisp hotel. The facilities on site are to be expected with a choice of 3 restaurants on site but a wealth of local options a 5 minutes walk away. The best thing about this hotel has got to be the location. A 5 - 10 minutes walk over the bridge brings you to the bustling shopping area. The team stops right outside the hotel if going further afield.
Convenient, well maintained hotel - will definitely use again when next in Bern.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Kemi S

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback following your stay with us at the Hotel Allegro.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you like the location of our Hotel and are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is ultramodern with comfortable rooms, albeit a bit smallish, but very well appointed. Internet and meeting facilities and meeting support are excellent. The staff is very helpful both on the hotel side and the meeting side. The breakfast service and the meals and coffee breaks are diverse and well-managed. Only a five minute cab ride from the Central Station.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Michael R

Thank you very much for leaving your kind words on tripadvisor, following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the service you received. The combination of a Hotel, meeting facilities and Restaurant’s gives the guest the perfect package of a business trip to us. We are happy that all aspects met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Allegro and Kursaal Bern.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've stayed in Bern a few times and always try to ensure I stay at the Allegro. Their rooms are modern and functional and fine for business users. I notice they do not have an iron but I think one's availabile on request.

Check-in/out staff friendly and efficient.

The WiFi is exellent in the river facing rooms. It is not so good in the 'daylight limited' rooms.

Breakfast isn't cheap but not much is in Switzerland!

Bathroom fittings do not rattle! I have a pet hate of loose, rattly fittings.

Room Tip: Try to get ones across the front facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Tim D

Thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read, that you always stay with us when you visit Bern.
We do have an iron in the Hotel, if you like you can tell us by your next
visit, then we can make sure that you will receive one every future stay with us.

To provide a free and fast internet for our guests is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back with us again, next time
you visit Bern.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As i was coming out of hospital with a broken leg and unable to walk i booked a disable room. But when we got to the hotel we found out that the room was s normal room, imposible for me to take a shower. We stayed in that room for one night and then asked to be changed the next day, as soon as i call reception was really helpful and understanding and apologize for the mistake. The problem got solve so that was really good. A bit disappointed that not all the restaurants are open all week around but that was just annoying for us as i couldn't go out to get dinner, i just needed to have room service. Apart from that staff were really helpful and room was really comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Evelyn P

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us in the Hotel Allegro.

We hope that your leg is better and that you could still enjoy your trip.

We are sorry, that you couldn’t stay in the disabled room on the first night
of your stay with us. We always try our best to satisfy our guests and we
are happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful and that you could
change rooms on the next day.

We would look forward in welcoming you back with us when you next visit
Switzerland.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent location, easy to reach with a wonderful walk through the old part of Berne and across the river.from the main station: Very friendly and warm service personel at the reception desk as well as in the restaurant Gardin. Thx.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Martin364

Thank you for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read, that you enjoyed your stay and that
you liked our staff.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again soon in Bern and
in the Hotel Allegro.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The room was excellent. The attention on the parts of the clerks was excellent, they were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect since it is near the old town, accross the river. The views were excellent, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Maria Jesus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Maria Jesus P

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about the Hotel Allegro and your stay with us.

We are thrilled that your stay was excellent and that you liked everything about your stay.
We do like to take great care of our guests and each and every one of the team is dedicated to make each guest feel special.

With such wonderful reviews we have achieved our goal and feel rewarded.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again to the Hotel Allegro in the future.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#7 of 30 in Bern
853 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: $156 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing