We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Rooms are modern but small/compact. Very clean and crisp hotel. The facilities on site are to be expected with a choice of 3 restaurants on site but a wealth of local options a 5 minutes walk away. The best thing about this hotel has got to be the location. A 5 - 10 minutes walk over the bridge brings you to the bustling shopping area. The team stops right outside the hotel if going further afield.
Convenient, well maintained hotel - will definitely use again when next in Bern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Kemi S

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback following your stay with us at the Hotel Allegro.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you like the location of our Hotel and are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    396
    134
    33
    23
See reviews for
123
371
42
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hotel is ultramodern with comfortable rooms, albeit a bit smallish, but very well appointed. Internet and meeting facilities and meeting support are excellent. The staff is very helpful both on the hotel side and the meeting side. The breakfast service and the meals and coffee breaks are diverse and well-managed. Only a five minute cab ride from the Central Station.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Michael R

Thank you very much for leaving your kind words on tripadvisor, following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the service you received. The combination of a Hotel, meeting facilities and Restaurant’s gives the guest the perfect package of a business trip to us. We are happy that all aspects met your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Allegro and Kursaal Bern.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've stayed in Bern a few times and always try to ensure I stay at the Allegro. Their rooms are modern and functional and fine for business users. I notice they do not have an iron but I think one's availabile on request.

Check-in/out staff friendly and efficient.

The WiFi is exellent in the river facing rooms. It is not so good in the 'daylight limited' rooms.

Breakfast isn't cheap but not much is in Switzerland!

Bathroom fittings do not rattle! I have a pet hate of loose, rattly fittings.

Room Tip: Try to get ones across the front facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Tim D

Thank you very much for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.

It is wonderful to read, that you always stay with us when you visit Bern.
We do have an iron in the Hotel, if you like you can tell us by your next
visit, then we can make sure that you will receive one every future stay with us.

To provide a free and fast internet for our guests is very important to us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back with us again, next time
you visit Bern.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

As i was coming out of hospital with a broken leg and unable to walk i booked a disable room. But when we got to the hotel we found out that the room was s normal room, imposible for me to take a shower. We stayed in that room for one night and then asked to be changed the next day, as soon as i call reception was really helpful and understanding and apologize for the mistake. The problem got solve so that was really good. A bit disappointed that not all the restaurants are open all week around but that was just annoying for us as i couldn't go out to get dinner, i just needed to have room service. Apart from that staff were really helpful and room was really comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Evelyn P

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us in the Hotel Allegro.

We hope that your leg is better and that you could still enjoy your trip.

We are sorry, that you couldn’t stay in the disabled room on the first night
of your stay with us. We always try our best to satisfy our guests and we
are happy to hear that the staff was friendly and helpful and that you could
change rooms on the next day.

We would look forward in welcoming you back with us when you next visit
Switzerland.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent location, easy to reach with a wonderful walk through the old part of Berne and across the river.from the main station: Very friendly and warm service personel at the reception desk as well as in the restaurant Gardin. Thx.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Martin364

Thank you for your great feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read, that you enjoyed your stay and that
you liked our staff.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again soon in Bern and
in the Hotel Allegro.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The room was excellent. The attention on the parts of the clerks was excellent, they were very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect since it is near the old town, accross the river. The views were excellent, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Maria Jesus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Maria Jesus P

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about the Hotel Allegro and your stay with us.

We are thrilled that your stay was excellent and that you liked everything about your stay.
We do like to take great care of our guests and each and every one of the team is dedicated to make each guest feel special.

With such wonderful reviews we have achieved our goal and feel rewarded.

We are looking forward in welcoming you again to the Hotel Allegro in the future.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hello there ! I went to this hotel last month and I say to you: it's brilliant ! It is very chic,comfy and the staff is very polite ! Also the location of the hotel is very good. You are about five-ten minutes away on foot by the old city centre which is very beautiful . I recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to see Bern and wants to stay at a great hotel ! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear raul13

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

We were delighted to hear that your stay was brilliant. It is a big motivation to get
such a great response.

Bern is a lovely town and to be so close as we are, is a privilege.

We are looking forward to welcome you back, next time that you visit Bern.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#11 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#5 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Property: Hotel Allegro Bern
Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing