We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view, close to absolutely everything.”
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Allegro Bern
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view, close to absolutely everything.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location - just one walk across a bridge to the main old downtown section filled with gorgeous buildings from the 1400's and on. We spent four days there and were able to easily access everything with a short 5 minute walk across a bridge. We attended a Depeche Mode concert (Stade De Suisse) too while there and it turned out to be only a 5 minute tram ride from the hotel - with the tram stopping right outside the hotel. It's also an easy 8 minute walk from the Hauptbahnhof.

The view from our hotel room was FANTASTIC. We knew much of our money was being sunk into the view and I have never had a view like it from any hotel room. The wifi there was also free and super fast, so no complaints there.

There is a gorgeous Botanical Garden and walking path within minutes of the hotel as well. We sat by the Aare river and just took in the sun and view. Across the bridge right outside the hotel you can find restaurants that stay open later than those in the rest of Bern. I also had one of the most fantastic pasta dinners I have ever had at Restaurant Frohsinn.

The room was nice and clean although rather cramped for three adults. The extra bed needs two mattresses on it to be comfortable so if you are in need of a third bed, do take note of that. (they initially provide you with one) The bathroom was clean and had nice countertop space although I have seen more modern designs in other hotel rooms.

The front desk was extremely helpful and cheery and easy to deal with. I was even able to pay in Canadian funds so that I wasn't taken for a ride on credit card exchange rates which was nice. Don't pay less to not have the amazing mountain view if you go with this hotel - it is worth it for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DingerzDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear DingerzDM

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review on the site following your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us.
The hotel is at a great location, with the Comfort and Panorama rooms which have a wonderful view. We always try to stay up to date with the design of the rooms.

Our front office team are highly dedicated they will assist you with all aspects of your stay and they do care about all your needs and I am pleased that you felt the service was helpful and friendly. I have passed you kind words on to everyone.

We do certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming all of you back to The Hotel Allegro on a future visit to Bern.

Kind Regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    409
    138
    37
    26
See reviews for
127
388
42
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel well situated, there is a 10 minute walk to the historic center, with parking and casino. Reception helpful, but the same can not be said of the restaurant attendants. The problem is that the hotel hosts conventions, and this disturbs guests in some areas of movement, especially access to parking. The entrance and exit of the parking lot is poorly localized.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear AntonioFG_13

Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us.

I’m happy to hear, that you liked the Hotel and the helpful staff of the reception.
Unfortunately you weren’t satisfied with the service you received in the restaurant.
I will forward this issue, so we could try to separate the conventions groups and our
hotel guests better in the restaurant.
It certainly helps us to improve our customer services. We pride ourselves on our service standards and sincerely regret if you experienced any shortcomings.

We would look forward in welcoming you again to the Hotel Allegro.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend and I chanced upon Hotel Allegro while searching for an overnight stopover in Bern on a rainy night. We had begun our Alpine motorcycle trip from Frankfurt (500+ kms) earlier that evening, lost each other in the Autobahn en route to Switzerland and somehow reunited in Bern that night, thanks to our GPS. The place we'd planned to stay was shut by the time we got there, so we cursed ourselves for that. All smaller hotels were shut by then, so our only option was the big ones. We tried almost half a dozen of those big, star-rated hotels including Novotel, but much to our dismay they were completely booked. Just when we were about to lose hope of finding a place to sleep, our GPS indicated that Hotel Allegro was nearby, so, we decided to give it one last shot. As if realizing our predicament, the receptionist was kind enough to allocate us a small room, that too with twin beds, on the second floor overlooking their impressive restaurant. The hotel itself is top-notch as you'd come to expect from any 4 or 5-star, but our room looked like a small B&B, although it was clean and had all the basic amenities. It was past midnight by the time we checked-in, so we couldn't get anything to eat, and boy, were we famished!

We had to get back to the entrance and park our respective motorbikes (Honda TransAlp and BMW K1600GT) in the basement, which could only be accessed from the adjacent street, but the gate was locked despite us honking several times to get their attention. As luck would have it, there wasn't a soul to help us. It started to rain again after a brief pause. We both had to struggle to push the behemoth of bike (BMW K1600GT, weighs 350 Kgs) back up the slippery gradient, on to the street and negotiate with the hotel security people to allow us to park near the entrance for just a few hours. They finally budged after we almost pleaded with them and off we rushed towards town hoping to find something to eat that night.

These series of unfortunate incidents made the overall experience quite unpleasant for both of us, since it was our first day of the trip, not to mention our very first time in Switzerland. We were so disappointed that we couldn't help thinking that such treatment could've been meted out to us because we're from India. The only saving grace for us was their extraordinarily sumptuous buffet breakfast the following morning. I wish they'd paid more attention to service as much as they do for the brilliant upkeep of their hotel, a little courtesy doesn't hurt either.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-motographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear the-motographer

Thank you for taking time and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read, that you didn’t have a good start on your road trip, we do hope it improved by now.

We offer our guest the garage to put their vehicles inside, as it is the safest place to park them.
We are sorry, that you had problems accessing the parking and that nobody heard your honking.

For our quality assurance your suggestions and criticism are important, so we thank you for the information, we will do our best to improve our service.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and that you continued your journey with lots of new energy.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domzale, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Been in this hotel last year and it was nice. This year more expensive, tv was not working, after complain...nothing happened. So very basic for a high price. When asked to put milles on my frequent treveller card, they said that this was the lowest rate and they can not put milles on my account. Well almost 1000 € for 3 nights and no breakfast, if that is so low....?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mateja2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Matja S

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor from your last stay at the Hotel Allegro.What a pity that you weren’t as satisfied with your last visit with us.

If something isn’t working in the room, we do make sure, that our technicians do resolve the problem as quick as possible, I am sorry to hear that it wasn’t like that in your case.
Usually, we do not grant any air miles on special rates as we include the air miles in our listed rates. However, we understand that you are disappointed by this standard and will look into this issue during our next price setting.

We would look forward to welcome you back again to the Hotel Allegro.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year we are coming to this hotel and I wanted to upgrade our room, so I choose with a balcony and as it was 50.00 more than last year I thought It will be better. Well not the case, the room was smaller!!! They call balcony a place you can't even put a chair!!! I had to ask at the manager what is going on. She gave us some excuses but she offer us a drink and brought in our room the robes. Otherwise we are having a good time but a bit disappointed anyway

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Eve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Eve Z

Thank you for writing a review on your stay with us at the Hotel Allegro.

I am sorry to hear, that you didn’t get the same room which you have stayed in the last time.
We have made a note, that you preferred the panorama rooms to the comfort rooms.
With your next booking with us we can assist you, so you will get the correct room.

I am happy to read, that you had a good time with your Mother here in Bern.

We would be happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Allegro again, next time you visit Bern.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Location and value for money was good but disappointed by detail which would have made a difference for us... returning form a concert ( a typical thing for this location ?) no food available anymore, not even the tiniest bit in the bar or room service - instead maccas was recommended to us... Kettle in the room but only one cup ... not a good wake up call. Room was OK for category although a bit run down with lots of dents and scratches and even some burnmarks on the desk.
Would we return ? maybe ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear krisis

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments about your stay with us.

I was disappointed that you were not totally satisfied during your previous visit with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our services, I will forward your idea to have a longer food service at the bar, when there are big concerts in town.

There should always be as many cups, as there are persons staying in the room, I will look in to this with our housekeeping team, to make sure this won’t happen again in the future.

We would be delighted if you return to Bern and stay with us in the Hotel Allegro again.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just checked in for one night and wish it could be a week. Room 410-panorama club-is very large much like a suite. The bathroom with whirlpool tub is huge and well designed. There is just about every amenity in the room and all are very clean. The workout room is pleasant but small-only drawback to hotel. We ate in the Chinese restaurant. It was very good especially the hot and sour soup and the eggplant and pork dish. The dim sum is not worth it re value and quality. Grounds are beautiful and hotel is a 10 minute walk to center city or a very short #10 bus ride. Pay the extra and love the large rooms

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear pennez1

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on the site, following
your stay with us at The Hotel Allegro in Bern.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Panorama Suite.

Unfortunately you didn’t like the dim sum, we are sorry to hear this,
I will let our kitchen team know about this.
Thank you for the lovely compliments of the Restaurant Yù, it is
a great motivation for our staff to receive such good feedback.

If your journey brings you back to Bern, we would be more then happy to
welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schweizerhof Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.5 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 mi away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Property: Hotel Allegro Bern
Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star superior Hotel Allegro is renowned for its high standards of service, excellent accommodation and choice of great gastronomy. Not to mention the breathtaking views of Bern's historic old town quarter, since 1983 a UNESCO World Heritage site and one of the first in Switzerland. The hotel comprises 171 rooms and suites in various categories. These include Economy rooms, Comfort rooms (with beautiful balcony) and Panorama rooms (which offer not only fine views but also special design and décor). For privileged guests and in a comfort and quality class of their own are the hotel's exclusive suites – Junior, Panorama and Penthouse – enhanced by distinctive yet discreet design and every comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing