We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Allegro Bern
Nearby Hotels
$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpenblick(Bern)
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
$136
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City(Bern)(Great Value!)
$168
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$168
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$536
$427
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$394
$382
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside(Bern)(Great Value!)
$116
$103
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz(Bern)
$174
$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveler rating
429
429
143
38
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
429
143
38
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the bridgethe penthouseold townasian restaurantpanorama roommodern hotelthe riverbusiness hotelbusiness triptram stopthe air conditioningstandard roomexcellent hotelcity centrehotel guestsstayed here for nightsunderground parking
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed at the Allegro over the weekend so we were able to get a room at approximately 30% off the weekday rate. In addition, no construction happens on the weekend, so it was quite peaceful. Our room had a large bed with small balcony looking toward the old town. It had a tub/shower. All very new and clean. The bed was a typical extra firm latex model. Our floor was non-smoking, but we didn't smell smoke anywhere in the building during our stay. FYI - no free wifi, but you can use the business center computers for free.

Breakfast was great. Excellent pastries, cheeses, meats, smoked salmon, muesli, yogurt, eggs, two sausages, bacon, juice, coffee and tea, including espresso drinks. All included in the room rate.

There is a nice clean Wellness Center with two dry saunas at two different temps, also a hottub and a sitting area with lounge chairs. Workout room looked like it had nice equipment as well as free weights. The staff offered to open and heat the wellness center facilities for me at times outside their normal operating times.

Speaking of staff, we had pleasant interactions with everyone we encountered at the Hotel Allegro. They seemed to go out of their way to look for ways to be helpful. That even extended to the breakfast staff who made me a very nice mocha, although they had never heard of such a thing (I described it as a latte macchiato with chocolate added and it came out quite well.)

The location was perfect for me. Just a 3-5 minute walk across the bridge to the old town. It's a beautiful stroll and it adds to the quiet of the hotel. There is a tram stop in front of the building, if you prefer, and it allows you to go to the train station in about a 5 minute ride.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiderssf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We loved the Allego. It's a hip ultra modern hotel with large rooms and breathtaking views of Old Bern. I highly recommend it for families. There is a wonderful wine garden and koi pond and its' a quick walk down to the georgeous Bern river. Although I'd skip the fancy Chinese resturant on the top of the hotel. What were we thinking, Chinese food in Switzerland?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The Allegro is located just across the bridge that connects the town centre with the Northern part of the City. And that bridge and the canyon below are impressive, and obviously you got great views from the 'other side', which is also a bit higher. The hotel has some wierd combination with the Bern Casino, but you don't really realise (at least during the week). The entrance is very open, full of light and with a small garden in front. Well done for a inner-city location.

Rooms are either towards the outside with great views, or inside with no view at all (facing the open space inside the hotel). Outside rooms are strongly recommended. These have balconies (nice!), large windows, bureau, nice bathrooms, usually some welcome fruit or sweet. Really nice und worth the relatively high price (but then, you are in Switzerland).

Service is very correct, the restaurants are OK although I would recommend going to the centre where you find a great variety of nice places. Business centre is free for guests.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The Allegro lived up to its reputation as the best hotel in Bern. The building is quite modern and the dull exterior, with a noisy garden, does not prepare one for the delightful atrium lobby. We booked a junior suite (the Einstein Suite) and it consisted of a sitting room with a TV, stereo, Nespresso machine, and balcony overlooking the river and the old town and a nice bedroom with another balcony. The walls were hung with Einstein memorabilia. The bathroom was very large and very well equipped. Service in the hotel was good but this is a business hotel and the greetings and help are pretty minimal. The Giardino Italian restaurant in the hotel is not very good and is certainly not very authentic. Nevertheless, Bern is a wonderful place to spend a few days and the hotel, while slightly out of the city center, is wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Podsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Allegro in lovely Berne for one night as part of an organised tour. Berne was a real suprise package and the hotel is located an easy 5 minute walk over the river to the old and new part of the city. Our room was located on a lower floor and was very spacious with windows opening to garden views. Only issue was safety leaving the windows open. Airconditioning was very good so decided to leave the windows closed. Iron and ironing board available and free internet in the business centre. A good selection of hot and cold breakfast foods. Spirits very expensive at the hotel so perhaps get a quote before getting a nasty suprise when receiving the account. Small Casino located above the hotel, free entry for hotel guests, passport required. Great shopping in the old part of the city, some lovely shops selling clothes, handbags, gifts and special treats - could have shopped all day.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twopees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

As part of a detailed review of historical guest visits and comments, we have read your (though dated) feedback, and thank you for this.
Any still relevant comments will definitely be reviewed positively.

Kind regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews