We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, value, service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location, value, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was by far the best value we got among 8 hotels we visited during our Swiss vacations.
The location in Bern, 5 minutes from the train station was optimal, Free welcome drinks, breakfast, spacious rooms with AC, excellent internet: there was nothing more we could ask for. More practical than beautiful, this was a welcome change compared to many other hotels that claim character at the expense of comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Patrick H,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay.
It is nice to hear that you really much enjoyed our hotel and that for you we offered the best value during your time in Switzerland.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and remain with our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    119
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
85
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We are 2 adults + 1 toodler and a baby and we stayed in a double bedroom for a weekend. The room was small for us considering we had to put 2 kids bed but for a 2 persons this room is more than ok.

We liked the free bottle of water in the room and the welcome drink in the bar, as well as the free chocolates and apples.

The location is great, in the heart of downtown, everything is near the hotel so you can come back for a little rest if needed and then continue your touristic visit.

Breakfast is quite basic but enough to start the day. If you prefer there are plenty of small cafeterias around, even an organic restaurant that opens all day.

I really appreciated the quality of their staff. My 3 years old toddle got stuck himself in the bathroom and the concierge sent immediately someone that was able to unlock the door. Then I forgot my wallet in tbe safe box with Euros, Swiss francs and credit cards, just realized about when I was at home! When I phoned them and mentioned my name and room number they told me thay found my wallet and sent it to my home address via post. It arrived perfectly with every cent! And they didn't even charge me for the delivery saying that they should noticed it before I left - honestly it was my fault not theirs.

In summary, we found it a nice hotel to stay for visiting the city and feeling safe in a very clean place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_tell_you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corina G, Manager at Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear I_tell_you,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us and other clients regarding your stay.
It is nice to hear that you really much appreciated the emplacement in the heart of Berne and the offered extras as the welcome drink and the free apples.
For your next stay we would recommend a superior twin room, in a higher category, to have more space for the whole family.
The compliments about the quality and honesty of our staff are going to be transferred with pleasure!
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again soon and remain with our best regards
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bären 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The only 4-stars that you get from this hotel is the location. The room is small and noisy. I could heard my neighbours. My collegue who stayed on the room that faces the street told me that he do not need the wake up call service as the early bus would do the trick. The breakfast was boring and lacking of choice. The hotel is more like a quick 1 night stay city hotel. I appreciate the mini fridge in hotel and this hotel do not have one. I am a tech-buff and I find it not easy to gain access to their WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

This was the 3rd hotel on our Switzerland trip, and the first one to have AC, finally!!! We were so fed up of hotels not having AC in that country, we were delighted instantly on seeing a room AC... no centralized one though. Room was little cramped, though decent sized compared to other hotels we had stayed on this trip. Hotel location was awesome, walking distance from train station and in the middle of main market in Bern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anshul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

...is the location. Everything else is either just okay or simply bad. The room is really really small, hardly enough space to walk around if you have two luggages with you. Bathroom is clean (but please replace the cow patterned wc cover), but that's just about it. We specifically ordered coffee for our breakfast box to go and we got choco drink. We didn't have the time to wait for them to replace it as we have a train to catch. Not worth the 300+ chf you pay for a night's stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen0705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

So the upside is the location within Bern, but that's about it. It's clean enough, but the rooms are the size and comfort of a monks cell. The quaint bell tower ringing on the hour outside my window was enjoyable until I tried to get a good nights sleep. Good luck with that if you happen to be a light sleeper. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our stay in September in Bern was wonderful. We found the location to be perfect for exploring Bern and arriving and leaving with no car. The train station is within easy walking distance. We had a/c as our room faced the main street and everything was great! The room was adequate for the two of us and seem large compared to the rooms in Paris where we had come from! The staff was great & so helpful! We had some difficult circumstances (nothing to do with the hotel) and they were very understanding and went out of the way to help us. There was definitely a personal, caring touch! Breakfast was great. There is a wonderful restaurant/ice cream cafe down the street that had the best ice cream ever!!! Can't wait to return to Switzerland!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissroots2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz

Property: Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Address: Schauplatzgasse 4, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Baeren)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#9 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Bären am Bundesplatz is situated in the heart of Berne -an Unesco World Culture Heritage city. It is ideally situated next to the main railway station and close to The House of Parliament. The main shopping area and other attractions, such as the Bernese Munster, the Zytglogge and the Bear Park are all within walking distance. The hotel has 67 non-smoking rooms. All rooms provide comfortable accommodation whether on a business or leisure trip. All are equipped with a work place, free Wi Fi and TV (multilingual),Coffee machine, bath or shower, hairdryer, water heater and a safe. The rooms facing the street are air conditioned. A Bernese buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. And other free facilities are the residents' lounge, fitness room and the use of bicycles-some of which are electric. The welcoming Baren Bar is popular with both residents and locals. Here you can enjoy a coffee or a wide selection of alcoholic drinks and it provides an excellent venue for a Apero meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baeren
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing