We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thumbs up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The complimentary drink in the bar and the bottle of water in the room makes you feel welcome! The hotel is centrally located, has a fitness room and offer "standard" european hotel breakfast. Very pleased with the room and the bed & bedlinen was very comfortable, however please not that the nearby clocktower chimes all night long, so it is not possible to sleep with the windows open.

Room Tip: On my next visit to Bern I am likely to stay here again, but will ask for a room away from the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ullert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    119
    42
    11
    3
See reviews for
36
85
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip for 3 nights. The hotel has a perfect, central location, the street where it is located is not extremely busy. I stayed in a room facing the backyard, which was very quiet, the only noise was the clock from the nearby clock-tower. I received a welcome drink coupon upon arrival, there is free wifi in the rooms, also a tv, but no mini-bar. Breakfast is quite moderate, the choice and quality might be improved, however there is everything available you might needbefore a city walk (including a selection of cheese and some fruits). The rooms are normal size, the interoir is not very stílish, rather functional. Altogether had a nice and convenient stay here. Bern/Belp airoport is just a 20 minutes taxi ride (costs around 60 CHF). If you need a train connection, the central station (Hauptbahnhof) is walking distance: you can get there in 3 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is advertised as a 4 star hotel and we felt it was very far from that. It's not that there was something very wrong about it, however standards were not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. The hotel has a great location. It's right in the center of the old town and minutes walk from the train station. The receptionists (all of them) were pleasant and helpful. The porter was amazing. Room was basic (and that was a superior room). Bathroom reasonable and clean. Very tiny elevator. No air conditioning in the room. The so called superior rooms , at the back of the hotel (quiet part) do not have air conditioning. We booked a room with breakfast. Breakfast was served at the Bristol hotel, a next door hotel that can be accessed from the first floor of the hotel. Breakfast room looked like a hostel rather than a "4 star" hotel. Very basic breakfast Here it also didn't feel so clean anymore, a big green fly was resting on the jam without anybody noticing. If you look for a basic (expensive) accommodation with good location, that's the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nano2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

In August 2012 I stayed again in Hotel Bären. My last stay was approx. in May 2012. It was like coming home.

Fast checkin, voucher for the WLAN (which works in every room) and a voucher for a free drink and the up to my room. When I entered the room I saw a dish wish fresh fruits together with a hand written card which welcomed me back.

I had room 301 and I was happy with the room. Especially because of the air condition (not all rooms are equiped with AC). That day it was very hot and humid in Bern.

While entering the breakfast room in the morning the waiter asked immediately - one espresso as usual? That's what I call customer relationship management.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The bear is a long-time symbol of the Swiss capital Bern. Reputedly it was chosen in 1191 by Duke Berthold after the first animal he hunted in the area. The hotel Bären makes the most of this link with some original paintings in the bar of bears in various guises. It is one of the little touches that makes this Best Western chain hotel a little different and more interesting than others in Bern. Although arriving from a late flight on Skywork Airlines direct from London City to the tiny little Bern-Belp airport, reception staff were fully welcoming and helpful. We were too late for the free welcome drink but urged to keep our voucher for the next day – which we did. The next day, the barman helped us to taste three Swiss white wines to see which one we preferred. It was a Pinot Grigio. My wife used reception staff for advice on places to visit and she was very grateful for their tips and local information. So we were very happy with the engagement of the staff and their helpfulness.
The room we had was on the top fourth floor. By Swiss standards it was reasonably sized. It was clean and comfortable. There was no fridge in the room, but one brief call brought a minibar fridge early the next morning. As it was exceptionally hot in Bern (30+ degs C), the fridge was useful for drinks. We had free WiFi which worked very well. There was a wall mounted air conditioner which struggled to keep the room to a reasonable temperature. Breakfast was in the ground floor bar area, which with bears on the wall is a bit dark and gloomy. There was a selection of cold meats, cheeses, yoghurt, hard-boiled eggs, juices and breads. If you come late for breakfast, say after 08.30, some of the items had run out, especially the more popular breads. However, we learnt on the second day that we could go to the next door Hotel Bristol for breakfast via a Floor One passage – and the room there was much more roomy, airy and pleasant, though the fare was much the same but better provisioned. The coffee, however, is belter in the Bären than in the Bristol.
We enjoyed our stay. Location is great, being only five minutes’ walk from the main train station. Yes, there is street noise of you keep the window open - but we did not find this too disruptive. In summer, you can swim in the glacial meltwater of the River Aare which encircles Bern, and is again only a few minutes’ walk from the hotel. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sox299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Our third stop over through Europe. Greeted by friendly staff. In our room in 5 minutes. Nice, tidy, airconditioned, and comfortable room. Queen bed and lovely bathroom. The hotel was very accessible to everything. Cafes shops and the train station.
Breakfast was lovely. Pastry,s, fruit, cereals, yoghurts etc.. Also you could order fried and scrambled eggs with bacon. Checkout was at 11am. Lovely. Would highly recommend. City was very impressive

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was a fairly nice hotel - it was a very short walk from the train station and the front desk staff was friendly. The rooms are reasonable but basic. I think the only real disappointment was the included breakfast - it was a bit disappointing with the options and quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.1 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz

Property: Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Address: Schauplatzgasse 4, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Baeren)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#9 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Bären am Bundesplatz is situated in the heart of Berne -an Unesco World Culture Heritage city. It is ideally situated next to the main railway station and close to The House of Parliament. The main shopping area and other attractions, such as the Bernese Munster, the Zytglogge and the Bear Park are all within walking distance. The hotel has 67 non-smoking rooms. All rooms provide comfortable accommodation whether on a business or leisure trip. All are equipped with a work place, free Wi Fi and TV (multilingual),Coffee machine, bath or shower, hairdryer, water heater and a safe. The rooms facing the street are air conditioned. A Bernese buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. And other free facilities are the residents' lounge, fitness room and the use of bicycles-some of which are electric. The welcoming Baren Bar is popular with both residents and locals. Here you can enjoy a coffee or a wide selection of alcoholic drinks and it provides an excellent venue for a Apero meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baeren
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing